We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of Atholl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atholl Hotel
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed at the Atholl Hotel for one night en route to our honeymoon destination. We had aimed to get there at about 9pm but due to flight delays and awful weather we didn't arrive until nearly midnight, but this was no trouble at all as the hotel has a night porter and 24 hour reception. The staff throughout our stay were very welcoming, friendly and helpful and answered all our questions about buses, shops in Aberdeen and so on, providing us with timetables and somewhere to store our bags while we explored the city.

The room was large and comfortable with a lovely big bathroom, all clean and recently refurbished. Breakfast was delicious, a good choice, freshly cooked and hot. All in all an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    121
    24
    4
    4
See reviews for
65
109
32
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

For just one night we stayed in this lovely hotel on a hill above Aberdeen. The room was lovely, beautifully furnished with good clean bathroom and all the necessary little extras such as shampoo etc. One could walk down to the city centre or drive. Reception staff told us about the unique area called Footdee and explained how to find it. Breakfast was delicious. I believe the restaurant must be good too as it was full at lunch time! The good wi-fi was much appreciated. A lovely experience.

Room Tip: Room at front was delightful. No noise from road because it is not in the city centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Atholl hotel has a superb traditional vibe. I am reviewing the restaurant and have not stayed in the hotel. I have been for a meal here several times and the food quality and service have never been anything short of excellent. A good selection of food and drinks with a focus on traditional meals such as the roast beef. I really like this aspect of the restaurant, I am not always wanting to eat exotic combinations and some times it's nice just to have a traditional well cooked meal out.

Don't over look this place if your in Aberdeen, there is no excessive flair and the food speaks for itself. :)

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AJ-Johnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed at the Altholl Hotel for a family event. The room was spacious & clean but a bit dark due to the very small window with no outlook. The food at the event was exceptional & the breakfast good quality. Average price for a city hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottisharies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Having stayed there from the Friday to the Sunday I can verify that all the staff are excellent, bar none. They take a pride in their work and go the extra mile to be of help. The food was very good. Thank you, Chef. Our room was large with views across the city and very comfortable. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. If you are visiting Aberdeen you must stay and eat at the Atholl Hotel. Thank you one and all!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed at this place which was booked for me by work. The reservation had been lost (apparently it turned up later) but work contacted them and sorted it all out in minutes, the reception staff were very pleasant and efficient in getting me a room.
My room number 46 was very dark and I needed the light on all the time to read etc and this was early August. Although I was not paying it was more than one would pay in most large capital cities.

The bar is OK but like most Scottish hotel bars.
If you have breakfast don't have the kippers, I am a kipper fan, I love them, but the insipid spay painted thing they gave me had lost its life in vain. The full breakfast looked a better bet.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midge2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Spent one night here and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. Friendly, helpful staff from the word go. I had booked a single room and was a little disappointed to find it was quite dark inside as the window faced on to another external wall about 10 feet away. However, that was my only grumble.

The "single" bed was more like a small double and the room was huge. Nice selection of coffee/tea and satellite TV in the room. The bathroom, too, was huge with nice, large bath for soaking in and powerful shower. Nice selection of shampoos, etc and gorgeous fluffy white towels.

For breakfast I chose full Scottish, served by a delightfully cheery waitress, and was pleased to get a nice selection of bacon, sausage and eggs.

The hotel is well maintained, clean and modern, but still maintaining a traditional style. Staff were all friendly, helpful and courteous. An added bonus was free unlimited internet connection thanks to a PC placed in a corner of one of the corridors.

Amazingly, as this was a midweek booking in Aberdeen, the hotel was far cheaper than any of the large multi-nationals, but gave a personal service they could only dream of.

I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dingus83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#12 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#19 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Hotel

Property: Atholl Hotel
Address: 54 King's Gate, Aberdeen AB15 4YN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#13 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at The Atholl Hotel in Aberdeen. For guests and culinary devotees, private functions and business parties, there is a long standing tradition of providing the very best. Our surroundings are unique and new decor sumptuous, our atmosphere is tranquil, warm and friendly. Why not experience it for yourself? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Atholl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing