We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - Even when booking late!”
Review of Atholl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atholl Hotel
Ranked #12 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic - Even when booking late!”
Reviewed 6 October 2010

I had to stay over in Aberdeen on short notice for business recently and had to book a hotel at short notice.

I thought when I booked this it wouldn't live up to its pictures on the website - but the hotel is wonderful fantastic welcoming staff who are only happy to help and ensure that you have all that you need.

The food was lovely and the room all be it slightly on the small side was perfect and fitted the bill perfectly.

They also have free broadband - however you do need a network cable which you can get from reception.

Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    121
    24
    4
    4
See reviews for
65
110
32
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Atholl for a week. found it the most pleasant hotels we had stayed at since leaving N Z .some 4 weeks ago.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doric14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Everything was great but the restuarant isn't as good as they say//think it is. It's too small for the hotel size and the food is mediocre and too expensive for what it is. My King prawn salad had frozen tiny prawns covered in a slimey gloop -I couldn't fimish it. The main course was adequate but not great. Also there's nowhere to have a cigarette except perching on a stone wall in the street - they could do with the a small smoker's area to make us feel less like lepers.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCharles1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

We had a family room, we were all in the same room.

The children's bed was a sofa bed, which did not work with two children.

There was a spare bed outside our room which I now wished I had just set-up.

The room was a good size.

The sofa bed was near the TV, so if we wanted it on it was loudest and brightest next to the bed where the kids were trying to sleep.

Food was OK. Children's menu available - but food not great.

No lift and our room was on the 2nd floor.

Curtains not thick enough - too light too early.

I know it was Aberdeen but in light of other hotels I thought it was expensive for what we got.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElfNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2009

I am posting this review because I want to record that I have stayed at the Atholl several times over the last few months and found that the standards remain consistently high. This is not an insignificant accomplishment. Same excellent staff. Rooms very nice. I travel a lot. This is an unpretentious small-ish hotel. Not a boutique establishment and not a place for Hester Bloementhal creations. Traditional Scottish at its best with good honest peple looking after you. Loads of parking and a quick taxi ride to the city.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DieHoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2009

My husband and I found the Atholl Hotel to be quite lovely. The desk staff was very helpful. We asked for assistance in mapping out our driving tour for the next couple of days and they were more than willing to help. The room was clean and roomy, the bathroom was large, clean, and even had a towel warmer! For an older traveler, they even have emergency pulls in the bathroom and by the bed--quite thoughtful. We ate both dinner and breakfast there and the food was excellent. They have a couple of computers set up with Internet access which we used; speed was a bit slow, but that was our only complaint about this quite lovely hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasTraveler034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

I have to stay in Aberdeen often on business and like other reviewers have found it very difficult to find a decent, clean, quiet hotel. Being a lone woman just adds to the problem. The Atholl is reliable, always clean and the staff are great and know their stuff. A bonus to be able to eat dinner and breakfast in my room, and its always good quality, not nouvelle cuisine but good food. Decor is fine, not cutting edge but comfortable, functional and well designed. Only problem I have is that I don't like to have a ground floor room but when I mentioned this to the desk they documented it and assured me that I wouldn't be on the ground floor in the future. In a town with so few decent hotels at a reasonable price, the Atholl stands out like a beacon.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank archie503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,074 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 65 in Aberdeen
740 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.4 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#19 of 65 in Aberdeen
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Hotel

Property: Atholl Hotel
Address: 54 King's Gate, Aberdeen AB15 4YN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#4 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#13 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at The Atholl Hotel in Aberdeen. For guests and culinary devotees, private functions and business parties, there is a long standing tradition of providing the very best. Our surroundings are unique and new decor sumptuous, our atmosphere is tranquil, warm and friendly. Why not experience it for yourself? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atholl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing