We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dump”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Aberdeen Central
Ranked #30 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a dump”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel has to have the least welcoming entrance of any in the UK. You could think you'd arrived at a third-world hostel if you get there on foot. My room, when I eventually got into it, was clean but by then I had had to climb up and down the stairs, with my suitcase, twice as at first my keycard wouldn't work, nor did the lifts. The snack I ordered for supper was pretty much inedible and as for breakfast! Nothing freshly prepared, nowhere to warm the chewy croissants, vile coffee - would have been better and cheaper to go to a local cafe. Horrible place, never again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OAPtraveller911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    124
    68
    25
    25
See reviews for
101
88
41
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The room was excellent, clean and, by the look of it, recently renovated. The entrance and public areas were spotless. Quick and easy check-in and check-out. Friendly staff.

Very minor downside; when I see a sign at the entrance to a restaurant saying 'Wait here to be seated', I foolishly wait there to be seated. I did this at breakfast and, after 10 minutes, a fellow guest told me (I guess from experience) just to sit down and help myself to breakfast.

I foolishly ignored his advice until after another 10 minutes of deliberately standing in front of a CCTV waving my arms like a dervish, I sat down and helped myself to breakfast. And jolly nice it was too!

Excellent hotel right in the centre of Aberdeen which would rival most 4* hotels at a fraction of the cost.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Advisor_1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downderry Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

parking is below the hotel get in early as limited spaces,automatic door,reception is on the 1st floor,hard to find at first,lifts need a card so stairs is the best option(one lift did dent work properly)but the is two lifts,weekend prices very good but mid week is extortionate.
Breakfast is help your self a bit plastic,no real taste.
Realty central to Aberdeen,quiet and peaceful,will stay again but only if the rates are ok.
Staff helpfull when you can find them.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank porche190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

room was spotless, just been refurbished, beds very comfortable, staff friendly informative and proffesional. very quiet location stone throw from shops, pubs, restruants theatre, bus station and railway ideal location

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank AnitaFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

It's a Travelodge in the middle of Aberdeen. You already know a lot of what you are going to get.

From the outside it doesn't look very nice, but once you figure out how to find the reception, you meant some staff who were very friendly, get shown to a room of crisp, clean linen and a TV with some digital channels.

And lets not forget about the comfy bed and the 12pm check out the next day

If I'm heading back for a night out in Aberdeen again, I will be staying at the Travelodge

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank JohnBS_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel for few nights last week, the hotel was completely taken hostage by a gang of drunk yobs during the week end night time. No matter the yellings of drunk teens but they were banging on other doors and even trying to break in some rooms lol. I could not dare to get out of the room as I knew I wld have been murdered lol! and no way to alert the reception because Travelodge doesn't have a phone line you can ring. When I tried to report the incident to the reception on the following day, they said they were aware of it and even tried to justify what happened! I was in shock to hear them to say that because there had been some sort of darts competition in town on the day before, they guys were only a bit still euphoric about it LOL The truth is Travelodge makes a good business with these barbaric people who need a central hotel for their week end drinking business. Funnily this hotel has been my preferred one amongst all Aberdeen central hotels because the family room is huge, you can hardly find a bath tub that fills in less than 10 seconds and the new beds are really comfortable. But last week has been really too much even for me that I enjoy adventures in life. Never again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zuma009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The hotel is centrally located for all the shops and museums. It can be a bit noisy but that's to be expected. We had a family room which was really big, it was fairly clean (hall could have done with a hoover)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Aberdeen Central Justice Mill Lane
0.3 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
984 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,989 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
#29 of 65 in Aberdeen
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Aberdeen Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Aberdeen Central

Property: Travelodge Aberdeen Central
Address: 9 Bridge Street, Aberdeen AB11 6JL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Aberdeen Central 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Aberdeen Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Aberdeen Central Hotel Aberdeen
Travel Lodge Aberdeen
Aberdeen Travel Lodge
Aberdeen Travelodge
Travelodge Aberdeen Central Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing