We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms, food and great service”
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #36 of 103 Aberdeen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I booked a room on a tuesday night, very reasonable price, rooms very clean with all basics given. I had an evening meal which was delicious and at a very good price. Breakfast was excellent and the service even better. Talking to others in my company, all had the treatment and recommend better that some of the 4 star hotels we are put in. Well done and thank you for a great experience, we will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Wellington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed there on New Years eve, on the celebration package which worked out at £ 120 per couple for dinner bed and breakfast. There were 8 adults and 2 children in our party, in 4 rooms.

I have written to Greene King, the owners customer service dept and have been totally ignored. This does not surprise me, as customer care does not come high on their agenda. Firstly the rooms--- Our room was dusty, no light bulb in bedside light, we had to decant extra quilts and pillows which were stuffed into the wardrobe before we could hang up clothes and the bathroom and shower were overrun with mould. In speaking to other family members, our room was not an isolated incident.

The meal---- What was on the menu and what was "presented" to us was completely different. I had salmon which was meant to be served with prawns- no prawns, veg and potatoes undercooked. Not al dente, undercooked. Other complaints ranged from watery soup to a warm prawn cocktail !!
After waiting 30 mins with main course plates lying on the table, I went to the bar to enquire about our sweets. The barman told me to take our order at the table, and he would TRY to get someone to clear the table and bring the sweets. We then noticed our waitress who had been serving us since we arrived, had been changed and was now sitting at another table of fellow workers getting tore into the drink !!

We eventually got our sweets thrown at us, and we had to clear the table ourselves after. At breakfast time we were told to help ourselves to cereal, toast etc, and the girl apologised for the delay as the chef had not yet arrived. After 30-45 mins our breakfast orders were finally taken. They should not have bothered. Burnt offerings were the order of the day, totally inedible.

This hotel was booked as a family get together to celebrate New Year, one of the most important
dates on the Scottish calendar. All in all, it was a damn disgrace. The only person to come out of this with any credit was the night porter, (Jim ?) who was very helpful at all times.

Avoid at all cost !!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fatbhoytim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

1 Night stay.
Working in Aberdeen, sometimes Rooms in Aberdeen can be difficult to get, Its a busy place and the petrolium industry tends to take an awful lot of rooms over the year and if your a last min booking you can often be taking a risk that you'll end up somewhere undesirable.
However this hotel was a pleasent surprise we didn't wave the breakfast option because we needed to be away very early. We did have our evening meal at the hotel and on a value for money front they do a meal deal that make very good value. I had a Lamb shank and enjoyed it very much. My room was comfortable but I did notice a light dust covering on my desk and a strange looking mark on the bathroom mirror. My shower was powerful and the bathroom well equipped but the shower cubical was designed really for disabled customers.
TV and drinks facilty were good and the bed was comfortable the noise levels from the corridor were acceptable and in a good way I did get a good sleep however I did wake up middle of the night but that was more me and my issues than the hotels. It was good to note that theres 24Hr staff available. The Parking was very good and theres a 24Hr garage over the road if you want any snacks etc.

Overall a great place to stay for the likes of me on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

It took so long to be seated,handed menu and drinks to be ordered that actually just walked out. Staff just didn't seem to be bothered and in the half an hour we did stay we saw 3 other tables send their food back for it being wrong or cold. We won't be back

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank 88Kez88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Cannot find fault with this Hotel. The rooms are clean and warm and surprisingly quiet despite it being close to a busy road. The food served is good and there is plenty choice. I will definitely stay here again when on business in Aberdeen.
Must mention the nice staff too.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golfwidow53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Ideal hotel for a business trip. Fairly new and very modern, each room is neatly presented with all usual facilities. Very clean and modern although rooms are not very big - not a problem for me.
The restaurant serves high quality food, and the breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil0276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Went for a bar supper and we were the only two people in the resturant at the start,ordered our drinks it took 10 minutes for them to arrive! bar is just yards from the tables.The n the place started to fill up our order then took 25 minutes to appear 2 mixed grills the liver was tough the eggs were black underneath maybe the chef should hot stone his grill every now and again was not impressed won't be back

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Beegs61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.5 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
2.1 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#15 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,009 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crayfords Guest House
Crayfords Guest House
#32 of 103 in Aberdeen
38 reviews
1.9 mi away
Great Western Hotel Aberdeen
Great Western Hotel Aberdeen
#24 of 103 in Aberdeen
169 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lindhome Guest House
Lindhome Guest House
#37 of 103 in Aberdeen
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Address: Wellington Road, Aberdeen AB12 3GH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdeen
Price Range: £36 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wellington Hotel is located just off the Wellington Road and offers a convenient destination for both families and business alike. The restaurant benefits from a large window wall at one end allowing light to flood through making for a pleasant and inviting environment. A small tots play area provides a safe area in which guests of 4yrs and under can relax and let off a bit off steam.Never miss a minute of your favourite television show, as our booths have got flat screen televisions installed. These are strategically placed inside each booth for your viewing pleasure.The Hotel has 20 well appointed bedrooms (some with baths, all with showers) which make for a comfortable and restful oasis for those away from home.Restaurant opening hours11.30am until 11pm Sunday to Thursday11.30am until 11pm Friday and SaturdayFood service timesMonday to Thursday 11.30am - 9.30pmFri & Sat 11.30am - 10pmSunday 11am - 9.30pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing