We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chester Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Park Inn by Radisson Aberdeen(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$120
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Jurys Inn(Aberdeen)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Aberdeen Centre(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (460)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveller rating
256
111
55
26
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
256
111
55
26
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapple tvgrand roomnespresso coffee machineafternoon teaqueens roadboutique hotelmain restaurantwedding venuehot buffetfillet steakbar and restaurantbeautiful hotelfunction roomwaiting staffwedding receptionan overnight staycouple of nights
Filter
Updating list...
447 - 452 of 460 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I can only comment on our restaurant and bar experience this evening. While we had high hopes and expectations we were let down. We entered the bar at approximately 6:30 pm to a buzzy atmosphere but it quickly became evident the bar staff was a bit overwhelmed and confused. I asked if it would be OK to take recently vacated table. The waiter it was no problem and he would be back to clean the table as it was wet and sticky. The server took the drink glasses but never returned to clean the table.

We had a 7:00 pm reservation in the restaurant and when we arrived our reservation could not be found. The hostess managed this very well and we were quickly seated. The staff attempted to be very conscientious but things did not jell. While everyone looks busy, the attention to detail is lacking. Once our order was placed, the bread server presented our bread options it was several minutes later that it was realised we had not been served butter. The bread options are limited and the olive focaccia lacked flavor.

The white wine we ordered required further chilling before drinking. Once chilled it was very good.

Our starters of oysters and scallops were prepared very well and the flavour was exceptional. On to our mains of halibut and cod. The halibut was prepared and presented beautifully. The taste and spicing were very nice. The cod while prepared very well lacked seasoning. The accompanying ox cheek was wonderfully prepared and seasoned. The fritter of monk fish check was not prepared well and was ‘rubbery’.

The presentation on silver platter and white gloves is over the top. The seating area near the wine cellar is stark and not welcoming or warm in its design and layout.

The bright lights in both the bar and the restaurant does not make it welcoming or comfortable for a quiet evening out.

I know this is the first week the restaurant has been opened, I would have expected an experienced hotelier such as the Chester would have been able to present itself in a much better presentation.

While I wish the Chester success, the opinions on TripAdvisor will have to be outstanding before I would make a return visit. As a local, I had hoped for more and look forward to improved performance in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Travelintoozies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChesterHotel, General Manager at The Chester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback!

I remembered you well and you did express your concerns on the evening just before you left. I did promise to investigate why we did not have your reservations and unfortunately the Receptionist who spoke to you did put it in the new system but human error did not seemed to have saved it.

You came during the first week of opening of a brand new product, with new computerised systems put in place and even though this is absolutely no excuse, we have not had a repetition of these issues.

Trip Advisor is a great way for feedback and I thank you for the positive review on the quality of our food. Your honesty of your evening was reflected and we will continue to take on board these comments so that we can only get stronger as we identify our challenges and work to prevent them occurring.

Once again, thank you for being one of the first guests to visit us during our opening week!

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future and hopefully restore your faith in our product.

Kindest Regards

Chris Quinn-Waugh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We held our wedding reception at the Chester on February 22nd prior to the hotels official opening. We won't lie and say we were not just a little bit worried as the date approached and the hotel seemed far from completion but we need not have worried as the staff pulled out all the stops to ensure that not only was the venue ready for us but that it looked stunning . The hotel rooms have been refurbished to a very high standard and all our guests enjoyed their stay. Breakfast was first class too.
But to get back to the reception itself , the restaurant was decorated beautifully with lots of attention to detail. The quality and presentation of the food was fantastic right down to the delicious canapés served at the drinks reception. The bar staff too were very knowledgable and served an amazing array of drinks. The staff we have to give the highest praise to. They did a great job and could not do enough for us and all our guests. All in all the Chester did a first class job and we have no doubt it will be an amazing success in Aberdeen. Their secret we think is in having a very capable management team and this means that even the small details are taken care of and that is what is important to their clientele. We will definitely be back!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank HelenJB111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChesterHotel, General Manager at The Chester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

It was both heartwarming and motivating for the team to read your review!!

Thank you both so for the faith and confidence you had in us to deliver on your special day! It was such a joyous occasion and on behalf of all of us we wish you both a lifetime of happiness.

We are looking forward to continue welcoming you again and again to The Chester Hotel.

Kindest Regards

Chris Quinn-Waugh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My new wife and I have just experienced a truly amazing time at the Chester hotel. We got married 28th February in this wonderful new hotel with truly awesome staff. The rooms are outstanding and the overall atmosphere in the hotel is tranquil and calm. The staff are extremely attentive and can't do enough to assist. The food is first class and the sheer quality of the hotel has to be experienced. All of this staff culture and class comes straight from the owners themselves who are very hands-on and the General Manager, Chris Quinn-Waugh simply is the best host we have ever experienced. Thanks for making our dream day become a reality.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefano1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChesterHotel, General Manager at The Chester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear Bride & Groom,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to be of service to you on your special day!

Your generous comments have given each of us overwhelming energy where we all continue to work tirelessly to deliver this beautiful product in Aberdeen.

Your personal comments has not gone amiss and I thank you for this. We look forward to welcoming you back where you can unwind and relax and of course enjoy great food and drink!!

Kindest Regards

Chris Quinn-Waugh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My wife and I were privileged to attend a wedding reception at this lovely hotel on the 22nd February. Even though the hotel is not finished being refurbished I have to say how impressed we were by the look of the hotel, the attention to detail, and the excellent level of service.

We arrived at the hotel in the evening and it is beautifully and distinctively lit, with it's own car park, although there is also on street car parking in the area. The atmosphere was warm, sumptuous and welcoming.

What marked the hotel worthy of it's high rating was the pro-active attitude of the staff. When I mentioned to one of the staff team that I wasn't drinking as I was driving they ensured that I was given non-alcoholic drinks but presented me small samples of the various wines served that evening which was a treat, and allows me to say they were excellent.

No request was neglected and the staff were keen to make sure that we had everything we needed and wished for. We were served by eight waiting staff at a time ensuring that groups were served together which is something I haven't experienced outside a luxury cruise but greatly applaud.

We wish the staff team and management every success with the Chester Hotel and look forward to returning when visiting Aberdeen.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnterpriseDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChesterHotel, General Manager at The Chester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Our valued Guest,

Your generous compliments have been overwhelming!!

These comments have given each of us great joy and has energised us to continue to work tirelessly to continue to improve our product in all areas!

Once again, a massive thank you and we look forward to having you visit us again!!

Kindest Regards

Chris Quinn-Waugh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: unbedingt Zimmer nach hinten wählen und vom Hotel bestätigen lassen
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews