We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable experience but not at standard expected!”
Review of The Chester Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chester Hotel
Ranked #22 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience but not at standard expected!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I have been to the Chester twice now for two private parties and I was a bit disappointed by the food and service. Although both evenings were enjoyable, for the price you are paying you expect exceptional food and service. Unfortunately on both occasions neither were up to scratch....well certainly not the price we paid. I would say the cost of the food/drink is on par with say Martin Wishart in Edinburgh but unfortunately still a few tweeks required to hit the same high standard I'm afraid. On both occasions steaks were not cooked correctly and my dessert on most recent visit was raw and had to be returned. Both groups needed to ask for more drink as not topped up often enough and those on the soft drinks were not even offered a drink. They had to make do with the limited water supplied to the table. Of course, we as customers can always ask but I think that defeats the purpose of the experience I would expect to receive here. Having said all that the waiting staff were lovely, maybe just not enough of them. I really wish the hotel well though and hope they are not too disheartened by my review. I'm sure these issues can easily be resolved to improve the overall experience. Aberdeen is definitely lacking in the number of Luxury hotels so I hope The Chester can make a success of their business.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klw22446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    87
    40
    18
    9
See reviews for
46
133
13
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have recently just organised a work event at The Chester hotel for 200 people. From start to finish the service I have received has been excellent. Leigh-Anne on the run up to the event was brilliant, always on hand to answer all of my questions. On the day Leigh-Anne was there to ensure everything went to plan. At the event Chris and her team ran the evening with precision. As an organiser I have never had customer service like this and for a change I was able to enjoy the evening as everything was handled so well. The food was delicious, the service was professional. The rooms have been decorated to a fabulous standard and Apple TV was a lovely addition. To all at The Chester I cannot thank you all enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shona1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

On a plus side this place looks great and the renovation clearly cost a lot of money but parking is terrible, the service is very poor and the food is no better than man other places in aberdeen which is a shame. So if you feel like paying a bit extra to get better service then I would look elsewhere

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daveinglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were very lucky to have just attended a work's function at The Chester. The ballroom was a great size for our numbers and a perfect layout for socialising and dancing. But the absolute highlight was the attentive staff and the food. So good we're both that when joked that the pudding was so tasty we would eat it again we were duly presented with another portion! Thank you!

The hotel room was also lovely, the residents bar perfect and the breakfast the perfect hangover cure!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had the most fantastic Afternoon Tea experience yesterday at the Chester in Aberdeen, The service, quality of food and drinks were exceptional and the staff were extremly attentive. We shall be going back and looking forward to the opening of the spa.

Miss La La

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Booked into Chester Hotel for weekend visit to Aberdeen and from check in to check out my wife and I could not fault friendly and welcoming staff .we stayed in a top floor suite with views over city a great room with plenty of space you did not feel cramped in unlike some hotel rooms I have stayed in .we had pre booked a table in the resteraunt and was very impressed by both the service and standard of food .it may be early days for this hotel and resteraunt but on a first visit
We will definitely be returning

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed in Simpson's as it used to be called many times and always found it a pleasant experience. It has since been completely renovated, so much so that it is unrecognisable. The hotel has been improved in every respect, and the attention to detail very impressive. I haven't checked out yet but feel compelled to write this review as I am so impressed with what I have seen and experienced so far. For those who haven't previously visited, The Chester Hotel is located on Queen's Road two buildings along from Malmaison, within walking distance of the city if the weather is good and you don't mind a decent walk.

When I checked in, the booking agent I use had not confirmed my reservation. This was no problem; indeed, this is where I quickly realised this place has stepped up a level. Without any fuss, I was allocated a room and duly taken to it by the extremely polite and efficient lady who checked me in.

The room was nicely appointed - classy but not pretentious, and very comfortable. An Apple TV system means that the in-room entertainment is of the latest technology but quite easy to use. Unlike in many hotels I've stayed in lately, the bathroom was high quality and in keeping with the rest of the hotel. And the bed? Well, it was very comfortable indeed.

So onto the bar and restaurant areas. These are where the buildings have changed most radically and I must say much to my liking. The bar has 2 sections; on one side of the bar are open booths complete with TVs, and on the other is a stylish combination of a more conventional table/seating arrangement with a couple of very nice 'cubby hole' areas for 2. The bar menu is similar to the old Simpson's and remains very high quality - I had tomato, pepper and chilli soup followed by a chicken Caesar salad. Both were fantastic! For pint drinkers, a good choice is available including Cornish Orchard cider, something is hadn't come across before north of Plymouth.

Service throughout was exceptional, and was attentive without being intrusive. I haven't sampled the main restaurant yet, nor the spa/gym, but I will, if not on this visit, then on the next in a couple of weeks time.

I have no link to this hotel in any way other than being a business customer so have no reason to be selective concerning the nature of my review. By Aberdeen standards, this is top quality and whilst the price has increased a fair bit compared to when it was last open as Simpson's a year or so ago, if represents very good value for money. Whether you are a regular or occasional traveller to Aberdeen, give this place a try. I've spent much of my life in hotels, and this impressed me very much indeed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celtic_traveller165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.0 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,090 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#15 of 65 in Aberdeen
824 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Hotel

Property: The Chester Hotel
Address: 59-63 Queens Road, Aberdeen AB15 4YP, Scotland (Formerly Simpson's Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chester Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpsons Aberdeen
The Chester Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing