We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HMMM”
Review of The Chester Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Chester Hotel
Ranked #17 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My first visit to this recently opened hotel in an upmarket west end location. Friends who had been there had mixed reactions and I am afraid I found they were right. I was there for a brunch before the football. The staff had not carried out the host's detailed instructions fully which was not a good start . Brunch was only average and when does a hotel run out of eggs ? Staff at the brunch were excellent however and indeed when we returned after the match for cocktails and nibbles. I just don't like the decor which especially in the bar area is minimalistic and vaguely bland. And why put a series of booths to one side of the entrance corridor rather than incorporate then in the main area? Weird. And why put the toilets up a rather steep flight of stairs? Double weird . Bring back Simpsons -- all is forgiven. Hopefully things will improve as much money has reportedly been spent but I was rather disappointed with the whole experience .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

first visit to the Chester and was not disappointed . We booked a table in the bar Service was very good. Good choice on the menu. the only negative for me would be the booths as you come into the bar almost felt you were sitting of a corridor :(.

Room Tip: if booking a table in the bar make sure it is away form the entrance .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marymac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I have been to the Chester twice now for two private parties and I was a bit disappointed by the food and service. Although both evenings were enjoyable, for the price you are paying you expect exceptional food and service. Unfortunately on both occasions neither were up to scratch....well certainly not the price we paid. I would say the cost of the food/drink is on par with say Martin Wishart in Edinburgh but unfortunately still a few tweeks required to hit the same high standard I'm afraid. On both occasions steaks were not cooked correctly and my dessert on most recent visit was raw and had to be returned. Both groups needed to ask for more drink as not topped up often enough and those on the soft drinks were not even offered a drink. They had to make do with the limited water supplied to the table. Of course, we as customers can always ask but I think that defeats the purpose of the experience I would expect to receive here. Having said all that the waiting staff were lovely, maybe just not enough of them. I really wish the hotel well though and hope they are not too disheartened by my review. I'm sure these issues can easily be resolved to improve the overall experience. Aberdeen is definitely lacking in the number of Luxury hotels so I hope The Chester can make a success of their business.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Klw22446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have recently just organised a work event at The Chester hotel for 200 people. From start to finish the service I have received has been excellent. Leigh-Anne on the run up to the event was brilliant, always on hand to answer all of my questions. On the day Leigh-Anne was there to ensure everything went to plan. At the event Chris and her team ran the evening with precision. As an organiser I have never had customer service like this and for a change I was able to enjoy the evening as everything was handled so well. The food was delicious, the service was professional. The rooms have been decorated to a fabulous standard and Apple TV was a lovely addition. To all at The Chester I cannot thank you all enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shona1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

On a plus side this place looks great and the renovation clearly cost a lot of money but parking is terrible, the service is very poor and the food is no better than man other places in aberdeen which is a shame. So if you feel like paying a bit extra to get better service then I would look elsewhere

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daveinglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were very lucky to have just attended a work's function at The Chester. The ballroom was a great size for our numbers and a perfect layout for socialising and dancing. But the absolute highlight was the attentive staff and the food. So good we're both that when joked that the pudding was so tasty we would eat it again we were duly presented with another portion! Thank you!

The hotel room was also lovely, the residents bar perfect and the breakfast the perfect hangover cure!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had the most fantastic Afternoon Tea experience yesterday at the Chester in Aberdeen, The service, quality of food and drinks were exceptional and the staff were extremly attentive. We shall be going back and looking forward to the opening of the spa.

Miss La La

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,309 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
2.8 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
922 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Aberdeen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Hotel

Address: 59-63 Queens Road, Aberdeen AB15 4YP, Scotland (Formerly Simpson's Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £96 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chester Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Chester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpsons Aberdeen
The Chester Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing