We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shocking & disappointing for a 5 star!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chester Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chester Hotel
Ranked #14 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
ABERDEEN
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Shocking & disappointing for a 5 star!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We treated ourselves to bed and breakfast at the new 5 star Chester Hotel (£180-£225) in the city. We were looking forward to this so much. The room was lovely, bathroom nice but very, very small. White company toiletries which was a nice touch, slippers but disappointingly no robes.

We started to unpack, opened a drawer to find the previous guests dirty underwear, socks, jogging pants and sweaty t-shirt! Not a good start!

We went to the bar for a pre-dinner cocktail ( 'Chesterjester' ) which was very nice, before continuing to the restaurant. The bar area is different but we didn't care for the small square tables and hard cafe chairs, seemed cold and uninviting.

Into the restaurant now and starters, mains and a bottle of wine were ordered. All very expensive, but we don't mind if the quality and service reflects this. Unfortunately, the starters were nothing special, steaks were average, especially for £39 a pop and came with what looked like McDonald chips, luke warm also. Puddings were tasteless and dry.

Breakfast was served til 10:30 this particular morning and we were down at 9:00, shown to our seats and orders taken for hot drinks and toast. There was only 3 other couples eating in the restaurant. I ordered off the small menu french toast with caramelised bananas which was lovely and my partner decided to choose something from the hot buffet as he was looking forward to a 5 star full English.

Now, any other hotel, even less than 5 star, usually provides sausage, bacon, black pudding, hash browns, tomato, mushrooms, eggs and beans, but unfortunately this was not the case. We don't know if they were finished and not replaced or they simply didn't provide. My partner returned with only 2 sausages. He explained that the first hot tray had had something in it but was now empty, the second tray had sausages and bacon, the bacon was so overheated that it resembled curled up Parma ham and the last tray had the burned remains of scrambled eggs and 5 fried eggs that had been in there so long, that they had all turned brown and almost unrecognisable of a fried egg! I could maybe understand this if we were running in the door at 10:30, the end of breakfast being served but this was 9am in the morning and there was hardly anyone there.

There were pastries, yogurts, a disappointing plate of curled up cheeses and meats, no strawberries, blackberries, blueberries, only a small bowl of chopped apple, pineapple and melon. One particular waitress was very unkept with her trousers frayed at the bottom, trailing on the floor and her shoes were dirty.

We were going to mention the poor breakfast when we were checking out but the girl didn't even ask if we had enjoyed our stay. I am disappointed to say that where we thought this would be a new place to frequent, unfortunately we will not be staying or eating here again unless we hear that things have improved dramatically. It was a very disappointing visit and would not recommend to others at all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank EATOUTLOADS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    84
    36
    15
    9
See reviews for
41
126
11
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We went to The Chester for Father's Day lunch. We live in Aberdeen and eat out most weeks. Both the food and the service were faultless. We were blown away. Our daughter is 15 months old daughter and staff could not have been more engaging or attentive. She ate from the children's menu which had appropriate choice at superior quality. We chose three courses from the set menu. I thought that giving Fathers a free craft ale on arrival was a nice touch too. I would recommend The Chester without reservation and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie-Benson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We treated ourselves to an overnight stay and meal at this hotel to celebrate a special occasion. The room was very expensive and although it was lovely, it was surprisingly small and the bathroom had no wow factor. We dined in the restaurant and were very disappointed at the standard of food - we expected more, Our main dish of steak (£39) was no better than what my husband cooks for me every Saturday night. The place itself is lovely and overall we enjoyed our stay but would not be back as it was not worth the cost.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Enjoyed an amazing meal at The Chester last night. The flavours were out of this world and the service was excellent with the staff striking the right balance between being attentive and allowing sufficient time to enjoy the courses. We are looking forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gillian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Went to the bar for dinner with friends. On arrival our booking didn't seem to be known about, but we were found a booth with a "reserved" ticket on it. So maybe just the person we spoke to didn't know about booking ahead. The booths are quite dark but a lot quieter than the main bar, so better for conversation. Once seated we were left for a long time, with no drinks or no menus (well one between four us). After eventually getting attention, we ordered some champagne, but the waiter could offer no insight to the various brands on offer. He may "not be a champagne drinker" but he is there as our host and should know what's on offer. Anyhow, we waited some more for these to arrive. Then had to ask for menus - another delay; so long one of our group ordered an interimum round of drinks. On the plus side service did improve through out the evening with the bar staff organising taxis very quickly, although it was a at best erratic. The food however was really good. All members of the group enjoyed and complimented their plates. Portions were about right and lots of bread. As with a lot of places the vegie options tend to be "heavy" - here is was bean hot pot, mixed beans under potato. (Chefs - please try to make something vegie that isn't a carb fest.) The list prices on the menu I thought were high, but The Chester is clearly trying to position itself at the fashionable end of the market. The loos are very good - I liked the complete sink in the cubicle arrangement, even if it does mean fewer total loos. The waiting staff need training to not leave people abandoned and to stop invoice leakage; we were under billed by about £60 ;-) Would I go back? Yes, but not soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gibsonsarah261171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Nicely decorated and food was nice enough but the staff don't really know what they are doing and can tell it's all new to them. If they are a 5 star they need to up there game a little bit on the staff training .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShivScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Took family out for birthday meal , 5in the party.
Booked restaurant in advanced and advised them that 2 had dietary requirements.

Arrived at hotel early ,decided to have drinks in the bar. Took ages to get our order taken and took even longer to receive the drinks. When drinks arrived we advised waiter beer was flat , he looked and stared at the pint and walked away without speaking. After 10 minutes had passed and no sign of beer , I went up to bar , could still see my pint sitting , manager then said we would pore another , emptied flat beer out and proceeded to pore another pint in same glass(oh dear), I told him I felt glass was soapy and yes second pint was now also flat, they said I could have alternative beer and then he ran out of bar , he returned some time later bent down behind the bar and reappeared with 2 half pint glasses and asked if this would do as they had no pint glasses - the bar was only half full .
Sat down in restaurant , menus came , water came , staff came but no wine list or waiter .
They arrived with lovely bread rolls , even though 2 in the party were gluten/lactose intolerant , we then had to request gluten free bread, the starters arrived , just as we were finishing these the gluten free bread arrived.
Waitress leading over us trying to serve from wrong side did not give good impression.

Main courses arrive some were very good , mine was very poor , this was the fillet steak , ordered medium - half the steak was cooked , the other Half rare ,the steak itself was chewy and fullof gristle not what you would expect from fillet steak or this standard of restaurant ,having started to eat the good half first , little I could do but point this out to the waitress , she thanked me for my comments ,spoke to the chef , returned and pass blame to their supplier

Throughout the meal , although plenty staff , they all seemed to be standing around , not having any idea as to what they should be doing next, getting served additional drinks had to be done well in advance as it took so long for them to arrive.
Paid in excess of £500 for a meal and experience that was third rate.

If you are looking for a good looking hotel , nice ambience this is the one , providing good service is not on your list of priorities.

I made contact with their general manager , they accept not all went well , said sorry , say they thank me for my comments , kept their profit and hoped I would revisit sometime soon.
I would advice if looking for a truly good experience of food and service , take a trip to Meldrum House Hotel .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Travelguide999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
2.8 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#15 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
1.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
1.0 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Hotel

Property: The Chester Hotel
Address: 59-63 Queens Road, Aberdeen AB15 4YP, Scotland (Formerly Simpson's Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chester Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Chester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpsons Aberdeen
The Chester Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing