We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place to stay in Aberdeen!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skene House Holburn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Skene House Holburn
Ranked #20 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to stay in Aberdeen!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Our true home away from home! So glad to be back and see our favorite staff. Two bedroom apartment with full kitchen, separate living room, clothes washer, and the best continental breakfast ever! Sandra in the breakfast room is an absolute gem! Such an eye for detail. The staff has gone out of their way to get whatever we needed to maximize our comfort! The free wifi is invaluable! Had guests visit us in the lobby for complimentary tea and cookies. A ready-to-move-into apartment with hotel amenities is my way to travel! Huge towels, tons of hot water, surprisingly quiet, and a fantastic location to boot! We've already planned our trip for next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ButlerKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that it was a true home away from home. We do really take the time to make our guests feel special.

Our staff will be delighted to read your review. I have already passed on your comments to Sandra and she was so pleased that you thought so highly of her, she is a great asset to Skene House Holburn and she looks after our guests in the breakfast room so well. We all look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Thank you once again

Kind regards

Susan Aitken
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    59
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
65
109
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nyc
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stayed at another Skene House about 2 years ago. Had a positive experience there - but my company started using other hotels in Aberdeen. Went on a solo business trip a couple of weeks ago - and decided to go back to Skene...and really glad I did. Service was just fantastic. Everyone was so happy to help all the time - and they never made it seem like it was a chore. The hotel is ideally located near Union Street - so close to shops, restaurants, etc. Also about a 30 second walk to the fitness center. Breakfast is OK...Im an espresso person so I had to walk to Starbucks in the morning since they dont serve espresso's in the hotel...but aside from those minor things - excellent stay! My new hotel of choice for Aberdeen!

I would recommend getting a room on the lower floors - and ask for a room in the main building with the breakfast room.

Room Tip: No elevator - so get a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller11nNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

I was very happy to read that you had an excellent stay with us and that the service we provided was fantastic. I will pass on your comments to all the staff as I’m sure they will be delighted to read your review.

Unfortunately, our breakfast menu does not include expresso but this is something that I will put forward for consideration. We look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House Holburn soon.

Kind Regards
Susan Aitken - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

I stayed here for only one night while passing through town.

Location - just 2 blocks from Union Street. Did not expect such a room with all the facilities. It's practically like home with a living hall, a kitchen with all the faciltiies like washing machine, dryer, microwave, all dishes and even washing liquid etc and not forgetting the bedroom with closet and iron and ironing board. Checked in no problem, the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. The concierge took us to our apartment and showed us round the rooms. Unless your suite is located in the main part of the hotel, you enter your building through a main door off the street- almost like you are entering a townhouse with apartments inside. Small con - took several attempts to unlock the door from outside to get in.

The car park seemed to be very secure but that was probably because it was way down a back lane. It is good for safety but makes access a little challenging - had to go to reception from main road to ask directions for parking area.

Prices were very reasonable, perhaps because it was just beginning of the season - first half of may.

Breakfast was served by friendly welcoming staff. Mainly toast with various jams and fruit, cooked breakfast is extra cost, so we've done without it.

To summarize the second best hotel out of seven we stayed in and would definitely recommend to everyone staying in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Agne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you so much for leaving a wonderful review of your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that out of seven hotels you have stayed in, Skene house Holburn is your second favourite.
We value guest comments and appreciate that you took the time to write this review.

We really hope that you come back to visit us very soon.

Kind regards
Susan Aitken
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

The apartments here are like being in a home away from home. Very spacious and great location. It's quite nice to have shops around the corner so you can stock the kitchen, and also a luxury to be able to do your laundry mid-trip in your own washer/dryer.
Our apartment was on the third floor which made for spectacular views, but beware that there are no lifts in this location and we had to climb 65 steep stairs to our apartment. (even more if we went down to breakfast, which is in the basement of the facility.) We simply planned our days to limit the amount of times we'd have to make the climb.

Room Tip: Be aware that there are no lifts and request a room on a lower floor if you have any issues with cli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MommyCatt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene House Holburn and for taking the time to post a review. It’s always a pleasure to receive such a fantastic review.

It was lovely to read that our suites felt like a home away from home. Our staff genuinely enjoy making sure all our guests have a comfortable stay, while they are with us. I am sure you will agree staying in a suite is much more comfortable than staying in a hotel room, you really have the best of both worlds. Space to relax with all the facilities of a hotel.

I do apologise that you had a lot of stairs to climb, unfortunately we do not have lifts here at Skene House Holburn. If you are visiting Aberdeen again in the future and decide to stay with us then please contact us directly and we will make note of your preferences and try to allocate a suite on the ground floor.

Once again thank you for your lovely review and I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Susan Aitken
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We visit Aberdeen regularly and I have to say this is the best accommodation we have stayed in. It is ideal for Union Street and hardly a walk to any facilities. Staff were very friendly, the accommodation first class. It was my husbands birthday and we appreciated the touches from the hotel to celebrate this. Would use the accommodation again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sauchie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

It was nice to read that you think Skene House Holburn surpasses the other establishments you have stayed in. It was also really nice to read your comments about our staff. They work hard and enjoy making sure our guests have everything they need and will be very happy to hear your comments.

I hope your husband enjoyed his birthday and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Susan Aitken
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopton
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

This was the second time we have stayed in these apartments, and I wouldn't stay anwhere else now when visiting Aberdeen.
The apartment we had was very spacious with all you need for your stay, right down to milk in the fridge and washing machine tablets. It's lovely to have a seperate lounge to relax in rather than both squeezing in a small bedroom with no room to swing a cat like most hotels.
Breakfast was more than adequate, plenty of cereals, fruit, yoghurts, rolls, boiled eggs, ham, cheese etc. and also tea/coffee and toast. I did not feel the need to order any of the "extras", although I would say that I saw some omelettes and they looked really nice.
There is an honesty bar, which is well stocked, althought I have to admit, we just had our welcome drink there, as there are plenty of bars etc in close proximity to the apartments.
All the staff from check in, to breakfast, to check out were really nice, friendly and happy people, they make you feel welcome, and not like an intrusion like some other places.
I'd definately reccomend to anyone, don't even think about a puny hotel room when you can have so much more here!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigJulesBishopton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferMLindsay, Digital Marketing Executive at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thanks for your kind review. We are delighted that you have chosen to stay at Skene House Holburn again and that you have made us your No.1 choice in the future.

We aim to provide our guests with a home from home experience so we are glad to hear that you agree that we offer more space and comfort than the average hotel room. As with a home from home experience, we are pleased that you enjoyed the fresh, healthy and varied breakfast buffet on offer.

I will make sure that the team receives your comments. They take great pride in ensuring guest satisfaction and love to see your comments on Tripadvisor. Until your next visit, you can stay in touch with the team, hotel news and offers via Facebook, Twitter or our hotel blog.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House Holburn very soon,

With kind regards,

Rosalind McClure
Digital Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Staff helpful, took bags and gave advice as to how to get to places. Room clean and well kitted out, some nice touches like complimentary drink and snacks. We had the continental breakfast which was better than in most places, again staff could not be more helpful. In terms of value for money this place is very good value indeed. I would certainly tell my family and friends to stay there if they are planning a visit to the city.

Room Tip: No lift, but staff to helped carry our bags to the third(top) floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CWRIlkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferMLindsay, Digital Marketing Executive at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank-you very much for your kind review; we really appreciate that you have taken the time to advise other guests and rest assured that your opinion is highly valued.

We are delighted to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and knowledgeable. Our team take great pride in guest satisfaction and going the extra mile to ensure that guests' needs and preferences are taken care of.

Indeed, many of our guests will agree with you that you get so much more for your money at Skene House HotelSuites. A suite for the price of a standard hotel room provides you with more space, comfort and flexibility.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House Holburn,

With kind regards,

Rosalind McClure
Digital Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.5 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.5 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
0.8 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#12 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Holburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Holburn

Property: Skene House Holburn
Address: Holburn Holburn 6 Union Grove, Aberdeen AB10 6SY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#3 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#3 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Holburn 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Holburn occupies an enviable location where the West End meets the City Centre. Across the road you'll find one of our Partner Gyms; a stroll up the cobbled street and you'll feel the buzz of Union Street's restaurants and bars; around the corner you'll find Rose and Thistle Street's stylish boutiques and cafes. The professional business district, which flank Rubislaw and Queen's Terrace Gardens, in 'on the doorstep' making Holburn a convenient place to stay for Business and Leisure Holburn's 39, 1-3 bedroom apartments in a range of 6 classic and chic interior designs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Skene House Holburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene Hotel Holburn
Skene House Holburn Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing