We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my cup of tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Skene House Holburn
Ranked #16 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Not my cup of tea”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed mid January after spending a couple of weeks in Scotland. Compared to other accommodation on this trip we were not impressed. Just not to our taste, bit old fashioned and not very clean. I thought hotel accommodation would be more modern in all Aberdeen hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Skene House Holburn after your stay with us. I was very sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay and I apologise that we were not able to provide what you were looking for. The feedback we receive from the majority of our guests is normally positive so any negative comments and complaints are always taken seriously.

All the suites have different design schemes ranging from Traditional to Modern and we also have different room types from Executive to Superior. From your description I think you were in one of our Traditional suites. Our design schemes are so different within each block that it is often down to personal preference particularly the more traditional design schemes.

Please also accept my apologies regarding the cleanliness of your suite. As you will have seen from other reviews the cleaning of the suites is normally rated very highly and therefore it is of great concern that we did not provide you with the high quality of housekeeping we are reputed for. I would therefore like to discuss this with the housekeeper but it would help if you could let me have the suite number you stayed in and your arrival or departure date. My email address is susan.aitken@skene-house.co.uk

I hope your experience at Skene House will not deter you from returning and again I apologise for poor housekeeping in your suite, which I can assure you is not our normal standard.

Kind regards
Susan Aitken
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    61
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
70
112
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

I travel to Aberdeen regular for business and have tried many places. This one is just the best. Sufficient space and really service minded staff. Well located in the centre of town and a goo breakfast with fresh fruit.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bart v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and also for choosing to stay at Skene House Holburn.

It is lovely to read that you had a great stay and that out of all the hotels in Aberdeen that you have stayed in, we are the best.

The staff will be delighted to hear this. We have an exceptional team of staff who genuinely enjoy making our guests stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. All our reviews are posted on the staff noticeboards as it is a great morale booster.

We hope it won’t be too long before you return to enjoy another stay with us.

Kind regards
Susan Aitken
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perthshire, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights recently at Skene House, Holborn in Aberdeen. It was just great! We had a 2 bedroom suite with living room, kitchen & bathroom. It was great having space to relax. There's a dining table & chairs in the living area. The kitchen has a hob, microwave etc. Everything you could need if you wanted to prepare your own food. Everything was spotlessly clean. The décor in these apartments is traditional and we felt nice & cosy when the weather outside was a bit wild. The location is brilliant at the top end of Union Street with pubs & restaurants nearby. There is free(!!) parking behind the hotel. The lounge area downstairs is welcoming, cosy and offers complimentary tea/coffee and biscuits all day. There is also an honesty bar where your first drink is complimentary. A very nice touch! There is also milk provided in your fridge. The staff were lovely. Very efficient but still friendly and more than happy to help in any way. We had a continental breakfast included in the price. This is served in a bright, contemporary breakfast room in the basement. You could pay extra for a cooked breakfast but the continental on offer was excellent. Tea/coffee ( not from a nasty machine), toast ( bread from local bakery), cold meat, cheese, cereal, yogurt, pastries, fresh fruit. The breakfast staff were delightful and very attentive. We really couldn't find any fault with our stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FMMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review, after your stay at Skene House Holburn. It’s always a pleasure to receive such a fantastic review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff looked after you in the way that Skene House is reputed for.

I am sure it was also a pleasure for the staff at Skene House Holburn to have you as one of their guests. Our Housekeeping team were so happy to see that the cleanliness of your suite had been mentioned! Our staff genuinely enjoy making sure all our guests have a comfortable stay, while they are with us.

I am sure you will agree that staying in a suite is much more comfortable than staying in a hotel room. Space to relax with all the facilities of a hotel. I am glad you also enjoyed our choice of Breakfast, which is varied and freshly prepared.

Once again, thank you for your lovely comments and I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon to Skene House Holburn in the near future.

Kind regards

Susan Aitken
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I often stay at Skene Apartments when visiting Aberdeen. They never fail to provide clean and comfortable accommodation and the prices are reasonable, particularly at weekends. My latest stay was at the Holburn apartments, In a lovely one bed apartment on the top floor. Everything was perfect, the location is great for easy access to Union St and the spacious parking lot at the back of the building is a real bonus as is the free wi-fi. I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you always find our suites clean and comfortable whenever you stay. Like all major Hotels we work with a ‘Best Available Rate’ system which allows us to offer very reasonable prices.

Once again thank you for your lovely review and I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Susan Aitken - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stayed here when visiting my brother who lives in Aberdeen. The room was very large and resembled a flat. It felt like it was a little house. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. There was 4 of us the room, but it was not cramped at all!
We had a complimentary drink which was very generous and very kind and made the trip that extra special.
Another extra touch, was that our surname was added to the front door at the buzzer, which was really cool, and made us feel like it was "our wee home" for the break.

Breakfast was lovely too, with a selection of continental and hot food made to Oder for an extra charge. The staff were all very lovely and kind and hardworking! Reception staff were very welcoming and very helpful.

This was not the first time we stayed here and we'd definitely be going back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Androooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us this lovely review. Your feedback is much appreciated. I was delighted to read that you found your suite clean and comfortable and that you all enjoyed your complementary drink.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House Holburn in the near future.

Kind Regards
Susan Aitken – Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koege, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

A very nice hotel, or hotel flats with kitchen. Got a junior suite that can easily fit 3 persons. Nice kitchen with all utilities, so can cook your own food or break fast. Nice living room, clean and fine bath and a nice bedroom. In all a very nice surprice, and located almost downtown.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank lfrasmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your suite very comfortable, well-equipped and clean.

I am sure you will agree staying in a suite is much more comfortable than staying in a hotel room, you really have the best of both worlds. Space to relax with all the facilities of a hotel.

Our Housekeeping department will be delighted that you valued the cleanliness of your suite and comfort. They all aim to provide exceptional service in this area.

Once again thank you for your lovely review and I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future

Kind regards

Susan Aitken
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friockheim,Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Lovely clean apartments, centrally located ideal for shopping, dining out, entertainment. The car-parking is a bonus.
The apartments are well equipped more than you would expect, washing machine, dish washer and all the usual kitchen essentials.
We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was quite spacious, warm, clean and very comfortable.
Breakfast was in the main hotel area full continental breakfast is included in the price and there are cooked options for a small nominal charge.
will definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvone D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We very much appreciate that you have taken the time to review Skene House Holburn.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We value your feedback and appreciate that you took the time to share it with us all.

We hope it won’t be too long before you return.

Kind regards

Susan Aitken
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.5 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#3 of 65 in Aberdeen
750 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,040 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Aberdeen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Holburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Holburn

Property: Skene House Holburn
Address: Holburn Holburn 6 Union Grove, Aberdeen AB10 6SY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#3 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#3 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Holburn 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Holburn occupies an enviable location where the West End meets the City Centre. Across the road you'll find one of our Partner Gyms; a stroll up the cobbled street and you'll feel the buzz of Union Street's restaurants and bars; around the corner you'll find Rose and Thistle Street's stylish boutiques and cafes. The professional business district, which flank Rubislaw and Queen's Terrace Gardens, in 'on the doorstep' making Holburn a convenient place to stay for Business and Leisure Holburn's 39, 1-3 bedroom apartments in a range of 6 classic and chic interior designs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Skene House Holburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene Hotel Holburn
Skene House Holburn Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing