We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Skene House Holburn
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Faultless accommodation. Unbelievable value for money. Booked through booking.Com. Thought I was getting a 1 bedroom suite. I got 1 double and 1 single. All the amenities are catered for. Also fresh milk, washing powder and dishwasher tablets. Far better than a hotel room. I am truly converted to this style of accommodation. The location is amazing. Bedroom is at back of building do don't get bothered by the traffic noise. Breakfast was good quality, fresh and option to buy cooked meal. Highly recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gauldy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with the facilities in your suite. I am sure you will agree staying in a suite is much more comfortable than staying in a hotel room, you really have the best of both worlds. Space to relax with all the facilities of a hotel.

Our accommodation is very popular. Like all major Hotels we work with a ‘Best Available Rate’ system which is very reasonably priced.

Customer feedback on Trip Advisor is very valuable for both accommodation providers are travellers and I am grateful that you have taken the time to post this review. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Susan Aitken
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    59
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
67
109
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loch Lomond
Level Contributor
135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is the 3rd time I've stayed at Skene House and it wasn't disappointing. On arrival, assistance was given to get luggage to our room.

Check in was quick and no problems encountered.

Requested a lower level room when I booked and this request was accommodated.

Lovely apartment, very clean and well presented.

Had a few problems getting the TV to work but assistance was available if required.

The proximity of this one is ideal if you want to be in the heart of the city. Comfortable, clean and affordable.

Room Tip: 1001 is located on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaidoftheLoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skene H, Guest Relations Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to recommend Skene House Holburn to fellow travellers and indeed supplying us with valuable feedback.

I am delighted to read that you regularly choose Skene House Holburn for its convenient location, customer service and affordable rates.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind Regards

Rosalind McClure
Guest Relations
Skene House HotelSuites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Skene apartments are located at various convenient places close to Aberdeen City centre. On this occasion I spent eight nights staying in the ones at Holburn Junction, just off Union Street.


The self-catering apartment was excellent in all aspects; it was spacious, comfortable, spotlessly clean and well equipped. Continental breakfast is included and cooked can be purchased.

Only negative things were that my apartment was on the third floor and there were no lifts and that the price per night varies according to demand, even if one has booked an entire week. That said, the weekend rate is comparatively low considering the quality of the accommodation.

Business or pleasure I can thoroughly recommend Skene apartments.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Greg C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skene H, Guest Relations Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you very much for affording the time to complete a review on your recent stay with us. We really appreciate when feedback is given from our guests, as this is one of our most effective methods in maintaining our high standard of hospitality and guest service.

I was delighted to read that you publicly recommend Skene House Holburn for both business and leisure stays and found our suites to be spotlessly clean, comfortable and convenient.

Thank you again for your lovely comments and I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Skene House Holburn in the future.

Kind regards

Rosalind McClure
Guest Relations
Skene House HotelSuites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr
Level Contributor
158 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

This visit was a first time at a Skene House and we were very impressed. Secure parking is probably a higher priority in a city centre location and this did not disappoint.
The suite itself consisted of living room, double bedroom, kitchen and bathroom. It was clean, well furnished and had every facility you are likely to need. With these facilities it was open for you to decide whether to eat in (self-catering) or dine out in one of the vast array of restaurants nearby. In the suite we occupied, the bedroom was to the rear of the building which meant there was no traffic noise and no rowdy revellers passing by. The only disturbance was the noise of seagulls from about 4am. You will experience this anywhere in Aberdeen.
Continental breakfast is included in the room price and several cooked options are available at extra, but very reasonable, cost. We found the continental option was excellent in quality and quantity and therefore didn't partake of the cooked options.
All the staff we encountered from reception, catering and house-keeping were excellent and seemed pleased to be of service, unlike some hotels we have stayed in.
There is a small bar area off the residents' lounge where you can help yourself to drinks, record these on a form and have them charged to your suite. Honesty is the only other requirement.
Key card gives access to the secure carpark, front and back entry doors, the honesty bar and to your suite.
Located at the corner of Union Grove and Holburn Street, Skene House Holburn is ideally placed for everything Aberdeen City Centre has to offer.
We will definitely be back for another stay when next in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pippin33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene House Holburn and for taking the time to post a review. It’s always a pleasure to receive such a fantastic review.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with our Breakfast selection.

It was also really nice to read your comments about our staff. They work hard and enjoy making sure our guests have everything they need and will be very happy to hear your comments.

Thank you again for your lovely comments and I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Skene House Holburn in the future.

Kind regards
Susan Aitken
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed mid January after spending a couple of weeks in Scotland. Compared to other accommodation on this trip we were not impressed. Just not to our taste, bit old fashioned and not very clean. I thought hotel accommodation would be more modern in all Aberdeen hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Skene House Holburn after your stay with us. I was very sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay and I apologise that we were not able to provide what you were looking for. The feedback we receive from the majority of our guests is normally positive so any negative comments and complaints are always taken seriously.

All the suites have different design schemes ranging from Traditional to Modern and we also have different room types from Executive to Superior. From your description I think you were in one of our Traditional suites. Our design schemes are so different within each block that it is often down to personal preference particularly the more traditional design schemes.

Please also accept my apologies regarding the cleanliness of your suite. As you will have seen from other reviews the cleaning of the suites is normally rated very highly and therefore it is of great concern that we did not provide you with the high quality of housekeeping we are reputed for. I would therefore like to discuss this with the housekeeper but it would help if you could let me have the suite number you stayed in and your arrival or departure date. My email address is susan.aitken@skene-house.co.uk

I hope your experience at Skene House will not deter you from returning and again I apologise for poor housekeeping in your suite, which I can assure you is not our normal standard.

Kind regards
Susan Aitken
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

I travel to Aberdeen regular for business and have tried many places. This one is just the best. Sufficient space and really service minded staff. Well located in the centre of town and a goo breakfast with fresh fruit.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bart v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and also for choosing to stay at Skene House Holburn.

It is lovely to read that you had a great stay and that out of all the hotels in Aberdeen that you have stayed in, we are the best.

The staff will be delighted to hear this. We have an exceptional team of staff who genuinely enjoy making our guests stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. All our reviews are posted on the staff noticeboards as it is a great morale booster.

We hope it won’t be too long before you return to enjoy another stay with us.

Kind regards
Susan Aitken
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perthshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
166 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights recently at Skene House, Holborn in Aberdeen. It was just great! We had a 2 bedroom suite with living room, kitchen & bathroom. It was great having space to relax. There's a dining table & chairs in the living area. The kitchen has a hob, microwave etc. Everything you could need if you wanted to prepare your own food. Everything was spotlessly clean. The décor in these apartments is traditional and we felt nice & cosy when the weather outside was a bit wild. The location is brilliant at the top end of Union Street with pubs & restaurants nearby. There is free(!!) parking behind the hotel. The lounge area downstairs is welcoming, cosy and offers complimentary tea/coffee and biscuits all day. There is also an honesty bar where your first drink is complimentary. A very nice touch! There is also milk provided in your fridge. The staff were lovely. Very efficient but still friendly and more than happy to help in any way. We had a continental breakfast included in the price. This is served in a bright, contemporary breakfast room in the basement. You could pay extra for a cooked breakfast but the continental on offer was excellent. Tea/coffee ( not from a nasty machine), toast ( bread from local bakery), cold meat, cheese, cereal, yogurt, pastries, fresh fruit. The breakfast staff were delightful and very attentive. We really couldn't find any fault with our stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FMMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review, after your stay at Skene House Holburn. It’s always a pleasure to receive such a fantastic review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff looked after you in the way that Skene House is reputed for.

I am sure it was also a pleasure for the staff at Skene House Holburn to have you as one of their guests. Our Housekeeping team were so happy to see that the cleanliness of your suite had been mentioned! Our staff genuinely enjoy making sure all our guests have a comfortable stay, while they are with us.

I am sure you will agree that staying in a suite is much more comfortable than staying in a hotel room. Space to relax with all the facilities of a hotel. I am glad you also enjoyed our choice of Breakfast, which is varied and freshly prepared.

Once again, thank you for your lovely comments and I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon to Skene House Holburn in the near future.

Kind regards

Susan Aitken
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.5 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.4 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
0.8 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Holburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Holburn

Property: Skene House Holburn
Address: Holburn Holburn 6 Union Grove, Aberdeen AB10 6SY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#3 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#3 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Holburn 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Holburn occupies an enviable location where the West End meets the City Centre. Across the road you'll find one of our Partner Gyms; a stroll up the cobbled street and you'll feel the buzz of Union Street's restaurants and bars; around the corner you'll find Rose and Thistle Street's stylish boutiques and cafes. The professional business district, which flank Rubislaw and Queen's Terrace Gardens, in 'on the doorstep' making Holburn a convenient place to stay for Business and Leisure Holburn's 39, 1-3 bedroom apartments in a range of 6 classic and chic interior designs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Skene House Holburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene Hotel Holburn
Skene House Holburn Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing