We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Skene House Holburn
Ranked #16 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 3 night stay. Suite was spotless and maid came every day. We stayed in 611 on the 1st floor - really handy to reception, breakfast room etc. My only complaint was the very abrupt n frankly quite rude night porter locked the honour bar at 11pm so as I was travelling with an 8 yr old I could only have 1 wee nightcap before it was locked up for the night - I was under the impression it could be used at anytime. All the other staff were lovely and very helpful. Would I return again - maybe but not if travelling with my daughter.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you found the suite you were allocated spotless and I will pass these comments to our housekeeping team. However I was disappointed to read that one of our Night Porters was abrupt and rude to you. I am very surprised about your comments, as our team is renowned for providing genuine hospitality to each & every guest. I am genuinely pleased that you found all the other staff to be helpful.

Please be assured that your comments will be highlighted to our team so that this situation does not happen again.

I would also like to apologise that you were not informed of our Honour bar times, due to licensing laws, we can only open from 11am to 11pm. We do have a small sign in the bar stating this but I shall make sure this is made more visible to our guests.

Thank you once again for your review and I do hope that you visit us again in the future.

Kind regards
Susan Aitken - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Looking for a hotel close to the center instead of along the Dee I booked this place for a short business trip. Very pleasant surprise. Small living room, larger and smaller bedroom, small but complete bathroom and a fully equipped kitchen (microwave, cooker with oven, fridge, freezer, washing machine and dishwasher, table for 4). Everything very clean. Good bed, slept very well. Decent breakfast. Hotel does not serve dinner but there is plenty dining opportunity nearby. Hotel bar operates with a self service honor system. Will return here for sure.

Room Tip: Some of the suites cover two floors, some are on the ground floor some on the first. If walking up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrs7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on Trip Advisor. I was very happy to read that you found the suite comfortable, well equipped and very clean.

Our staff members are always very pleased to read positive reviews and I will be sure to pass on your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Susan Aitken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a two bedroom apartment. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Bathroom had a good shower and kitchen was very well equipped. Everything was clean and well maintained throughout. Complementary drink at the bar was very welcome. The included buffet breakfast was also excellent. And all of this is cheaper than two hotel rooms will ever be in Aberdeen.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for leaving us this wonderful review. It was excellent to read that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast and that you found everything to be clean and well maintained. I’m glad you enjoyed your complementary drink from our honour bar; we do believe that the ‘small touches’ can make a big difference when staying at a hotel.

Hopefully we can welcome you back to Skene House Holburn in the future.

Kind Regards
Susan Aitken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

All I spent the evening saying was how amazing value this place was!
Suite was immaculately clean, breakfast was delicious, location was perfect and the secure parking was a huge bonus.
Staff were helpful and the wee extras like the complimentary drinks were perfect.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Fabulous.

Room Tip: We were in room 11, couldn't fault it. Bathroom was gorgeous and fab shower!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flower83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene House Holburn and for taking the time to post a review. It’s always a pleasure to receive such a fantastic review.

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Skene House Holburn. We are glad you liked our continental breakfast buffet and are delighted about your comment regarding the cleanliness of our suites.

Indeed, many of our guests will agree with you that you get so much more for your money at Skene House HotelSuites. A suite for the price of a standard hotel room provides you with more space, comfort and flexibility.

We hope you can visit us again very soon.

Once again thank you for leaving this wonderful review.

Kind regards

Susan Aitken - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights after a long trip. Perfect place - location is ideal to all the shops and bars, the staff were wonderful, the property itself is immaculately maintained, the space and layout is perfect - everything in the right place, great eye for detail on the design and finish, unique, homely, welcoming - even has its own car park. Come from a 5 star hotel and property background. This place as good as anywhere I have been to or seen. Perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review after your recent trip to Aberdeen and Skene House Holburn

It was such a pleasure to read all your wonderful comments. We pride ourselves on the personal touch and we genuinely enjoy getting to know our guests and making sure they have a pleasant stay.

We hope that we can welcome you back to Skene House Holburn in the future

Kind regards

Susan Aitken - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A one night stay only, but it will certainly not be our last. Arrival and check in was easy and the staff friendly and helpful. Free car parking a large plus, and the location was excellent, both for the little bit of business I had to carry out, and the shopping with my wife and restaurants. Breakfast the next morning was first class, everything being fresh and tasty, including the fruit! The superb staff deserve special mention.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. We very much appreciate that you have taken the time to review Skene House Holburn. It’s great to see our guests so happy that they enjoy sharing their experiences with others.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the breakfast we provided to be first class. It was also really nice to read your comments about our staff. All of our staff set high standards for themselves and take much pride in their roles in order to please each and every one of our guests.

Hopefully we can welcome you back for a longer stay at Skene House Holburn soon.

Kind regards
Susan Aitken
Manager – Skene House Holburn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Skene House Holburn for a few nights, not really what we expected. Lots of street noise and noise from early morning from staff smoking outside. Breakfast was adequate but nothing special. Housekeeping a bit haphazard. More 3 star than 4.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Bullens1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at Skene House Holburn on Trip Advisor.

I am obviously very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As you will see from other reviewers on Trip Advisor we receive extremely favourable reviews which keep us at the top of the rankings.

Again, I am sorry that we did not meet your requirements during this stay but I would be happy to hear from you to hopefully make things right.

Kind regards

Susan Aitken
Manager – Skene House Holburn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.5 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#6 of 65 in Aberdeen
761 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Aberdeen
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn
Jurys Inn
#8 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Holburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Holburn

Address: Holburn Holburn 6 Union Grove, Aberdeen AB10 6SY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#3 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#3 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#12 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £58 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Holburn 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Holburn occupies an enviable location where the West End meets the City Centre. Across the road you'll find one of our Partner Gyms; a stroll up the cobbled street and you'll feel the buzz of Union Street's restaurants and bars; around the corner you'll find Rose and Thistle Street's stylish boutiques and cafes. The professional business district, which flank Rubislaw and Queen's Terrace Gardens, in 'on the doorstep' making Holburn a convenient place to stay for Business and Leisure Holburn's 39, 1-3 bedroom apartments in a range of 6 classic and chic interior designs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Skene House Holburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene Hotel Holburn
Skene House Holburn Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing