We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel and Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Ranked #12 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Our Spa treatments were so relaxing and carried out expertly by caring and professional staff.
Our hotel room was immaculate and extremely comfortable with everything we needed for our stay.Hotel staff were always very helpful and polite.
The restaurant food is really second to none and with service to match.
We had a perfect stayover.Many thanks to all staff and management..

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKENEBEAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

The marcliffe was a bit of a disappointment as we were expecting something different.
The hotel is situated in a nice neighborhood of Aberdeen. It is not close to the center.
The rooms are elegant and clean, so are the bathrooms.
The staff was ok. Not rude but not very caring. They seemed a bit distracted when doing their work.
We were very disappointed by the dinner we had ordered to our room. Especially from a hotel that is known for its gourmet restaurant. We had ordered a very simple burger and yet it was not edible. I have no idea how you can mess up a burger.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Phenompilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My wife and I went there for a special night at the restaurant, our first thought was this is going to cost us a fortune ( I will say more on that later ! ), when we first arrived at the hotel we were greeted by a friendly member of staff whom asked if we were eating there tonight ( nice touch ) he then put us in the right direction so as we did not look silly looking for the restaurant,the attention to detail took me right back to my youth when people new how to look after a client and the FOOD WAS OUTSTANDING as was the staff. when we got the bill we expected it to be rather large but on comparison to an average restaurant it was only about 10% dearer and for a 5 star place that was fantastic news for us. WE WILL EAT THERE AGAIN AND AGAIN.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a junior suite. It is quietly located on the outskirts of Aberdeen, with plenty of parking, but the City Centre is easily accessible.

Our junior suite was spacious, comfortable, bright and well decorated with an excellent bathroom.

Food at both dinner and breakfast is excellent - loved the Eggs Benedict. The Dinner Bed and Breakfast deal is very good value, as we were told you could choose anything off the a la carte menu - even a whole lobster (which I had one night) or a shell fish platter. The restaurant has an excellent Maitre d' in Iain Milne - very welcoming and efficient - and the other bar and restaurant staff looked after us very well too.

The only negative was that, despite 2 requests to Reception and after waiting over 10 minutes, we gave up waiting for someone to collect our luggage on checking out. Otherwise, the Marcliffe was truly excellent. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentManKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This was our second visit to Marcliffe in 3 years and the property did not disappoint. Our room was lovely and well appointed. There were two weddings at the hotel on the day that we arrived and so the bar area was very crowded but they did clear it by 6 so guests could have cocktails.

Our only real issues were with the restaurant. Our room included dinner and no one bothered to explain what was included in that dinner vs. what was an extra to pay for. We just assumed only the regular menu was included. It wasn't until after our first dinner that we asked for an explanation of what was included (which was everything). Then when we checked out, we were actually charged for the "upcharges" on our second dinner until we pointed out that we were told there were no upcharges and the bill was immediately adjusted. Our travel companions had checked out before we did and didn't realize that they were being charged upcharges for the prior nights meal also so they had to go back in and get the adjustment - after I told them what happened to us. Not insignificant as it amounted to about $200 per check. Our advice is that if dinner is included in your room, do not be shy about asking what exactly is included in that - no one volunteers the information. The Russian red crab while good, was not nearly as good as it was our first trip - it was a pile of broken leg pieces that were a bit overcooked. Service at dinner on Saturday was fairly slow, though the night before had flawless.

All of tha

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HDMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The hotel is set in delightful grounds and we were lucky enough to have good weather during our stay, which made it a pleasure to sit out on the terrace for lunch. My room was comfortable enough, though the fine weather meant that it was a little hot and it would be good for the hotel to invest in air conditioning! Free wifi was a given. Dinner that night was very enjoyable, the scallop starter was outstanding and I followed it up cod and samphire - simple yet delicious. Overall the thing that struck me most was the very high levels of service. Staff had taken the time to recognise me and to adderess me by name, which was a nice touch. Certainly one of the best hotels in Aberdeen.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank from_hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My daughter treated me (and her of course) to a night with dinner and spa at this lovely hotel. The staff were really friendly and helpful, especially in the restaurant and the spa. The room was great with complimentary soft drinks, nuts and chocolate which went down a treat. Dinner in the Conservatory was excellent and the treatments in the spa great, best facial I have had so far. Only downside - no pool. Definitely want to try the afternoon tea which sounds great.

Room Tip: Room overlooking Conservatory , very quiet and restful, no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wils471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.4 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,309 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#17 of 65 in Aberdeen
422 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
2.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa

Address: North Deeside Road | Pitfodels, Aberdeen AB15 9YA, Scotland (Formerly The Marcliffe at Pitfodels)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#9 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £136 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by Mikhail Gorbachev in 1993, this is one of the cities more exclusive hotels.I am delighted to inform our valued clients that we have now upgraded all our TV's to slimline models with plenty satellite channels.Thank you all for your patience.J Stewart Spence, Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marcliffe At Pitfodels Hotel Aberdeen
Marcliffe At Pitfodels Aberdeen
Marcliffe At Pitfodels Hotel Aberdeen
The Marcliffe Hotel And Spa Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing