We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Once again we attended a function (Burns Night) and stayed over at the Marcliffe. Girl at reception was lovely she was smart in her appearance and very pleasant and efficient. The porter who took our bag to room was chatty and very helpful..
Room was as always very good. However, forgot to turn down heating and it was very hot during the night.
Enjoyed our Function, good food and staff where helpful and served the food quickly. Function room was cold as it always is and a lot of ladies where complaining. We have always found the Function room cold in the winter.
Breakfast was very good with extensive choice of foods. Staff again where attentive and efficient.
Would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Turn down heating before you retire to bed. To the ladies. If you are attending a Function in the F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances-Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2013

Much vaunted by the locals we decided on a rare visit to Aberdeen to try this hotel/restaurant.
We were a party of eight. When trying to order yer man held his hand up as if to say "I'm not ready". Ah, I thought he's logging in who's who so he can match person to the dish. If that were so then we had to rearrange the dishes that were set before us. Not a good start.
When it came to the wine I used the well understood question "What's drinking well in the cellar?" Usually this is understood to mean, what do you recommend that we have with the meal. I was given the retort, "It's all drinking well!" So it was left to me to choose a wine. Again not a good start.
The food was reasonable but not exceptional. So much for local expertise in things culinary!
So food mediocre, service poor. If you like you're kitchen open plan then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank raeside_auld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Very brief one night stay with business dinner. Well appointed hotel with comfortable sitting areas. Dinner was excellent and with generous portions. Wine list good with something suitable for most people's pallette and pocket. Would recommend but have a slight concern that it's a bit pricy for those on short business trips and entertaining customers and colleagues. However, for a good nights sleep very hard to fault.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellysian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

A 5 Star. Hotel. Without A Spa ...perhaps U. Need. To. Correct. Ur. Marketing ....to Avoid trades. Description . In An Oil Capital. And. In Beautiful surroundings ...needs Refurbishment. And. A Spa. To bring. This Hotel. Up To. Standard ...

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Miamiamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Dined as one of a party of 16 in the Conservatory Restaurant, following pre dinner drinks in the lounge & spent a leisurely and most enjoyable evening.
The crab cake starter was very good, although the spicy kick came more from the salad & salsa, than the crab cakes themselves. The crab bisque was served with a crab ravioli which was deemed delicious. Others in the party seemed to struggle with the sheer quantity of onions in the French onion soup, unable to stop the slivers of onions escaping the soup spoons, a bit like unruly spaghetti - definitely a soup you could eat with a fork!
The majority of the party chose steaks as main course, great quality as expected, but the monkfish with beef cheeks and a Caesar salad with tempura king prawns proved quality alternatives.
The trio of sorbets for dessert were beautifully balanced flavours, even though the scoop of cherry sorbet looked for all the world like a small beetroot on the plate!
Tea & coffee were served with fudge & chocolates, a pleasant end to the meal.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

Here on New Years Day. Great day out with good food not fine dining standard.....

Some of the staff amaze me though. Far too casual and bordering inappropriate.

Our waiter reserved a table at the window for coffee afterwards as is the norm. When we went thru someone was sitting there and we lost the seat.

Aberdeen isn't overflowing with great dining options so this is as good as it gets on balance overall.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bil1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Attended the restaurant for New Year's Day lunch, with our two children aged 10 and 12, who were made very welcome ( child's menu available if required).The ambience was wonderful from the moment we walked through the door , with the roaring log fire, in front of which we enjoyed pre lunch drinks. The food was, as usual ( we've eaten here many times) absolutely delicious and the service second to none .
Although quite expensive , for the quality of the experience I believe it represents value for money, you certainly get what you pay for at the Marcliffe. We had a perfect long leisurely lunch , and at no time felt any pressure from the excellent staff to hurry along. We have stayed and eaten in many five star hotels and in our opinion, the Marcliffe is up there with the best of them. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicolaGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.4 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,170 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#25 of 65 in Aberdeen
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.8 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
873 reviews
2.5 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#3 of 65 in Aberdeen
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa

Address: North Deeside Road | Pitfodels, Aberdeen AB15 9YA, Scotland (Formerly The Marcliffe at Pitfodels)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#9 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#11 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £134 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by Mikhail Gorbachev in 1993, this is one of the cities more exclusive hotels.I am delighted to inform our valued clients that we have now upgraded all our TV's to slimline models with plenty satellite channels.Thank you all for your patience.J Stewart Spence, Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marcliffe At Pitfodels Hotel Aberdeen
Marcliffe At Pitfodels Aberdeen
Marcliffe At Pitfodels Hotel Aberdeen
The Marcliffe Hotel And Spa Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing