We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb meal in lovely atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This Sunday lunch was a birthday lunch for a close friend.The meal was excellent a wide choice served well.We were a party of eight with a small child.everyone needs were catered for.nothing appeared to be too much trouble.My appetizer ,a duck confit and black pudding(the pudding which is everywhere these days) only needed a few potatoes to be a main course .It was excellent on its own and the main courses were also generous and truly tasty.The pace of the service was just right.So often staff annoy by topping up wine glasses in a very intrusive fashion.Not here !The staff were very attentive without being noticed.after the food we moved to the lounge where coffee and fudge/chocolates were served.A very comfortable welcoming room where we were allowed to tarry for as long as we wished.I was a guest so do not know what the bill came to(expensive I guess) but it was a great meal in outstanding surroundings( although there are I think rather too many plaques and photos of famous guests)
I

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banjo2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed here as a surprise from my other half as an anniversary present, as soon as I stepped in the door, I felt they had a great set-up. Location is beautiful and peaceful, we sat on the outside terrace having a drink, you feel like you are nestled in the middle of nowhere (as opposed to just off the main road!
On checking in the receptionist had every detail of our stay down to a tee, and re-confirmed the details of spa appointments/dinner. Our suite was lovely, comfortable sofa, plenty of space, and lovely fresh fruit as a welcome. The only slight downside was the bathroom, it really needs upgraded, the tiles and worktop for the sink are very 90's.
We both had massages in the spa, which was lovely, the girls in the spa were very welcoming, and my massage was great, I can't speak for my partner, but we were both very relaxed afterwards! No swimming pool here which is a definite downside given that you are a wee bit away from the nearest local pool.
We had dinner booked for 8, and arrived at the bar at 7.45, we didn't need to mention that we were there to have dinner, they knew, a nice touch that they clearly pay attention to who the guests are.
The waitress was attentive, and had a lovely manner, and the maitre'd was likewise. Seated for dinner in a timely manner, and proceeded to enjoy a lovely meal, very tasty. We both had steak which the Marcliffe is renowned for, and it did not disappoint, The dessert menu could perhaps be slightly improved, and unfortunately, we had a hiccup as a ordered the fruit crumble but it wasn't mentioned in the menu that the crumble contained nuts which I can't eat. My partner and I swapped desserts, and I'm sure they would have been happy to replace it, the waitress indicated this, but it maybe should be explained in the menu.
We were then asked if we would like to take coffee in the lounge, and then when it became colder the waitress asked if we wanted to move to another area of the lounge.
Overall, I couldn't fault the stay, although the 10.30 check out in the morning I felt was a touch early for my liking!
Would happily return, and feel it was good value for what we had as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in the drum suite, its above the door, so might cause problems if there were a wedding on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bevdc823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here on Saturday night and although they were busy with a wedding and other functions the service, as always, was excellent. Dinner in the restaurant was delicious as was the breakfast. The staff are young but very well trained and a delight. We stay at the Marcliffe occasionally as a treat and we have never had a bad experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hjoanc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

I eat here reasonably regularly and have never had a bad experience - lovely food, beautiful hotel and professional, helpful staff. Highly recommended for anything from a light lunch with friends to a special event.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ossie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My wife and I have travelled widely, and always seek excellence. We had a two day stay here to recover from our overseas flight, en route to a ten day fishing excursion on the River Spey. Outstanding in every way. All members of the staff were pleasant and helpful, and our room (Dunnottar) could not have been more comfortable. We dined in the restaurant twice, and found it delightful (food being a high priority when we travel). We highly recommend the Marcliffe, and would love to stay there again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank cvsurgrc2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I did not intend to write a review as this is not a pleasant subject, however, after the diffident and unhelpful response i received from the general manager to my e mail informing him of my experience after attending a function at the hotel, l i thought that others ought to be aware that not every visit to this establishment is good. On the evening, i did actually enjoy the meal. I had been looking forward to it and had not eaten during the day in order to appreciate the fine dining. However, during the night i was violently sick and was aware of the reason why as i could taste and see the offending food which had made me so ill. I wrote to the manager, in the first instance to inform him in the event that anyone else had also been ill following the evening. The reply was offhand and accusatory insisting that it must have been something i had eaten elsewhere, and that how could i be so confident that it was the salmon starter that i had eaten on the evening. I am not a sickly person and am rarely affected by food, but i just i knew when i was ill that it was the food from the meal at the Marcliffe which made me so sick. In retrospect i wish i had gone to hospital and had environmental health carryout an investigation instead of writing to the manager and receiving such an offhand reply. I have since made enquiries and found that it only requires 2 reports to instigate an enquiry into food safety when an person becomes ill from eating in a public restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
10  Thank thelilacs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My son and daughter in law came over from USA and took my wife and I to the hotel for a meal.
Though a bit pricey the food and service was excellent. If you want good food and service you have to pay for it. A very enjoyable night we had.
So I would recommend it to any holiday people.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redsargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.4 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#12 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,222 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#27 of 65 in Aberdeen
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.8 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
887 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa

Address: North Deeside Road | Pitfodels, Aberdeen AB15 9YA, Scotland (Formerly The Marcliffe at Pitfodels)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#9 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#11 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £132 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by Mikhail Gorbachev in 1993, this is one of the cities more exclusive hotels.I am delighted to inform our valued clients that we have now upgraded all our TV's to slimline models with plenty satellite channels.Thank you all for your patience.J Stewart Spence, Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marcliffe At Pitfodels Hotel Aberdeen
Marcliffe At Pitfodels Aberdeen
Marcliffe At Pitfodels Hotel Aberdeen
The Marcliffe Hotel And Spa Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing