We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Nearby Hotels
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$115
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Park Inn by Radisson Aberdeen(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jurys Inn(Aberdeen)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Aberdeen Centre(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$59
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveller rating
361
69
26
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
69
26
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomconservatory restaurantfudgeafternoon tealangoustinesgolf tripjunior suitemini barfillet steakfantastic staywaiting staffmain coursecooked to perfectioncity centrespenceloungewedding
Filter
Updating list...
285 - 290 of 482 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I have been visiting Aberdeen for long enough to be able to remember when "The Marcliffe" was one of those better quality, cloned hotels along the Queens Road. But I gather some 20 years ago it moved to its present location a couple of miles along the North Deeside Road, and decided to distinguish itself from the others. This was my first stay at this establishment in any of its incarnations. Very well equipped and comfortable rooms, traditionally furnished Good food and service - the owner even being on hand to help with coats. The public areas are somewhat cluttered.

Room Tip: Stay soon - it is closing in 2014.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aberphobic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Arrived marcliffe looks lovely : concierge at the door to let you in as you would expect of 5 star arrived 2:30 for 3pm was seated in drawing room to wait got serve soft drink while waiting : by 3:15 still not seated for lunch i did not expect be handed the menu to pick my meal there and then in drawing room ok so we chose our starter and main ( 3 courses £34;50 on a sunday ) waited a bit more prob til 3:30 before we got seated in dining room service bit slow starter (fishcake) arrived delicious and was husband's (soup) nice home made bread offered 1 slice only tho hubby was offered another as he had soup . Another good wait for main course by this time son was getting restless : my main was huge disappointment beef was gristly yorkshire pud dry n crispy roast potatoes hard and bit green!!
Left most of my plate ( hubby was fine he had turkey same complaint with potatoes & veg )
The waitress did not ask if i had enjoyed my main course and judging id left most of it you would expect to be asked this
So after another wait dessert arrived mine again was a disaster was hugely disappointed had been looking forward to my 5 star treat
My dessert was choc brownie cherries & salted caramel ice cream well it wAs soo runny it fell apart it was too soggy and i did not eat any of it the dessert basically fell apart was not oozy or sticky as a normal brownie should be was not asked again if i enjoyed my dessert and for the price we were paying expected much more ive been to much better 4 star hotels and dined better
We then tried get someone attention for the bill another wAit
Finally we had to go to reception anyway to use card machine the guy at desk said was ur meal alright i said it was OK he if it wasnt that a guy ( possibly manager was standing on phone at the desk he then asked what my issues were i told him and he changed our bill to 1 adult 1 child £58 ish id expect this though and generally it wasn't the experiance i had hoped for

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank uptowngirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a great afternoon tea on a Monday. In the library area its very classy and at the same time, relaxed. Great attention by staff, fabulous home made warm scones, sandwiches and cakes.

defiantly worth a visit if you have not yet tried it. However, afternoon tea on a Satuday is fully booked until 2014!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Angel2403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I was so lucky to stay here for one night, and enjoyed every moment! It is such a pleasure to experience the perfect service. At arrival very friendly staff made check in effective and within minutes I was in my room - that was spacious, comfortable and with small extras everywhere. Wifi was excellent. In the evening we enjoyed great food and wine, an again the personnell was attentive with an ear to every request. Service here is beyond expectation and the comfort here is so good I did not want to leave. Sad to hear this place is closing down, so go ahead and stay here before it is to late.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingveig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Marcliffe but unfortunately we had a bad day there.
When arrived no one helped us with the luggage what I found strange for a luxury hotel.
Check in was quick and easy, the room was very nice and bathroom as well.
The second bad thing was a very long wait for the dinner table, which I booked 2 months ahead. Also dinner service was very long.
I think there was an event that night which created troubles in the kitchen but in a 5 star location this should not effect other customers.
Anyhow I think I would come back and give it a second chance,

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MichaelItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews