We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Afternoon Tea in Aberdeen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I have had afternoon tea at the Marcliffe 3 times (and have 3 more booked in already) and it is definitely the best. The whole experience is far superior to other venues in Aberdeen, with the wonderful ambiance of the drawing room and the high quality service from staff. Unlike most afternoon tea, you are able to select your choice of sandwich are you are given an amazing array of cakes and sweet treats. You are also able to choice from a selection of coffees and hot drinks. Although it is slightly more expensive than mosst afternoon teas at £18, it is definitely good value for money for the quality of food and service you receive. If you are an afternoon tea lover, I would strongly recommend a visit before the Marcliffe sadly closes it doors. Bookings are a must and you usually have to wait several months to get a Saturday booking.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

Visited the Marcliffe Courtyard Restaurant with eight family members for a Sunday lunch recently, to celebrate a special and significant birthday - and everything was just absolutely perfect!
We sat in the very comfortable lounge and had a pre-lunch drink and viewed the Sunday lunch menu (all that was on offer on Sunday), which came with a special that was Russian crab and langoustines. The regular Sunday menu included four or five starters and plenty of choice for main courses - beef, fish, pork and a vegetarian trio, with three or four desserts to choose from, as well as a cheese platter, coffee, mints and fudge! All in all, a great selection - and you would be very hard pushed not to find something that you would like!
We had two 'small' people in the group and when we got to the table, there was a highchair in place ready and one other chair missing, to accommodate the buggy!
The meal was served smoothly, with really good 'hidden' organisation, everything arriving for the right person, with not a word spoken and when it came to the main courses, then the hotel owner actually served the dishes himself!
The food from start to finish was simply excellent, no other word for it!
From the outset in the lounge, the staff were very friendly, most helpful and very knowledgeable on both the menu and also the wines to go with the various dishes. In the restaurant, they were again very friendly, attentive and very willing to help in any way - and yet at the same time, unobtrusive and the service was impeccable throughout! They were also very helpful when one of the babies upset his plate from the high chair.
The choices for desserts were taken at the table and the desserts then followed remarkably quickly - and we could all have eaten each others! They were all simply delicious,as was the selection of cheeses, pickle and quince jelly!
The choice of recommended wine was also very much enjoyed by most of the party, while the drivers stuck to soft drinks.
When the bill came, it was not cheap but definitely great value for money, as we all felt that we had enjoyed an absolutely superb lunch!
Well done Marcliffe - a big thank-you to all the staff concerned!

Room Tip: Definitely need to book every meal in the restaurant, to avoid being disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tankerman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I've stayed at the Marcliffe innumerable times over the past 20 years for the simple reason that is is the best - best service, best rooms and best restaurant. On top of that it is handy to the airport, the city and the grampians / highlands. Stewart, the owner" truly treats this property and the guests as if this were his home and his family

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are first class - no worries!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Intrepidtravellersx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Wow! Spent the day being pampered at the Marcliffe Spa today, along with three other girlfriends.

The package included a Champagne Spa Light Lunch served in the Hotel (soup and sandwich).

Package included a specially blended exfoliation for the body, light massage, 1 hour facial, a luxury manicure and a luxury pedicure. Took about four hours, plus lunch.

Staff were attentive from start to finish. We were so impressed that we booked another visit in three months time!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SwimmerAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Undoubtedly and without hesitation a fabulous hotel from the staff to rooms to food service and extras
Stayed two nights in a junior suite which was spotlessly clean and immaculately presented
Heated bathroom floor is a luxury my wife so enjoyed
Fantastic dinner fabulous wine list and no hidden extras .. as the owner states the way it should be
The owners standards are high but so appreciated and I have no hesitation in saying one of the best hotels in the UK which when it closes will be sadly missed
I hope I enjoy a stay again before its demise
Congratulations to the staff and owner for such an establishment
Makes one proud to be scottish

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vacationerfmsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We attended a Burns Supper and as usual, we stayed over. We always enjoy our stay at the Marcliffe, which is in a great setting with well furnished rooms, good food and excellent staff.
It is such a shame that it is going to close in November, what a pity to pull down a such a wonderful hotel and put up and office block. I think in years to come there will be a lot of regret about this.
I would recommend a stay at the Marcliffe before it finally closes.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Frances-Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Having come here a couple of months ago, I have finally got round to writing a review. It was a special occasion for my family and we decided to have afternoon tea here. I cannot fault it, it was amazing! The cakes were out of this world, delicious and gorgeous looking. Lovely sandwiches too - highly recommend

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.4 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#12 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,222 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#27 of 65 in Aberdeen
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.8 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
887 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa

Address: North Deeside Road | Pitfodels, Aberdeen AB15 9YA, Scotland (Formerly The Marcliffe at Pitfodels)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#9 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#11 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £132 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by Mikhail Gorbachev in 1993, this is one of the cities more exclusive hotels.I am delighted to inform our valued clients that we have now upgraded all our TV's to slimline models with plenty satellite channels.Thank you all for your patience.J Stewart Spence, Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marcliffe At Pitfodels Hotel Aberdeen
Marcliffe At Pitfodels Aberdeen
Marcliffe At Pitfodels Hotel Aberdeen
The Marcliffe Hotel And Spa Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing