We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in town by FAR!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Ranked #7 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
g_cook29
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best in town by FAR!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

It's been a while since i've been to the Marcliffe and even longer since I ate here outwith a wedding reception. Food, service and atmosphere all excellent. Exceeds expectations. On the pricey side but still well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank g_cook29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    66
    22
    13
    7
See reviews for
58
166
6
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

As our 5 year old was having a sleepover with his cousins, my wife & I decided to treat ourselves to a dinner at the Marcliffe. On calling to reserve and being offered a fantastic rate, including a nights stay in a mini suite, we decided to have a sleepover of our own!

From the moment we arrived the service was superb. Our room was lovely with a large sitting area. My wife enjoyed a soak in the deep bath and I had the cobwebs blasted away by a fantastic powerful shower. Everything was absolutely spotlessly clean & the general décor was top notch. On arriving for our dinner we were shown to seats in the bay window to enjoy a pre dinner drink and to mull over the menu. Having made the difficult choice of what to have (it all sounded great), we were shown through to our table in the restaurant. Our waitress (Louise) was fabulous and quite a hoot! She attended to us very well all night. The food was just fantastic. I'm not going to go over it in detail as it is enough to say that I'm amazed this place does not have a Michelin star! During our meal Mr Spence (The owner, and one of life's true gentlemen) was constantly to be seen attending to his guests and even assisting the waiting staff with service. His relaxed & charming way was not only reserved for the guests. It was also clear he had a very good rapport with his staff, which was lovely to see. Our breakfas the following morning was equally impressive.

Sadly though, The Marcliffe will be closing it's doors in November this year. It will be a huge loss to Aberdeen! Especially the business community. Nowhere even comes close to providing the quality of conferencing & catering for large groups. I have attended many events at the Marcliffe over the years and have never been less than impressed with how they always manage to cater so well for so many.

So, on that note I would like to extend my heartfelt thanks to Mr Spence for providing Aberdeen with such a superb facility over the years and to say how sorry I am that such a great establishment will be closing it's doors. However, all good things must come to an end and Mr Spence can be very proud of what he achieved with the Marcliffe. I for one wish him a long and very happy retirement.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Have had lunch & dinner here many times, more recently this week & this hotel has lost none of its sparkle despite closing down later this year - what a tragedy. The food was sooooo good, had quail & black pudding for starter, then cod on a bed of some sort of thick soup delicious! then a medley of citrus fruit puddings, which was 4 different puddings all were delicious, followed by coffee & home made fudge & truffles. If you haven't tried the restaurant, then you must before it closes

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattoncrook
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Nice environment, great staff, nice welcoming people - food is good, perfect for the environment, and fantastic place for a cup of coffee or a wee dram before heading home or to the room...
In addiiton, they are in a beautiful setting... very nice.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pablo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

First time visiting the marcliff, it was for a function dinner. Usually at function dinners with 150 guests you don't expect too much from the food but this was amazing. Each course came hot and the whole table was served within a couple of minutes. The food itself was just lovely. The service was brilliant, waiters refilling wine glasses and water glasses without you even noticing. Will try to make a return trip before it closes for good later this year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K-Edin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
132 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

This is the only place I stay when in Aberdeen. The service, the location and genuine smiles are appreciated. The hotel instantly makes you feel at home and when entering the hotel, especially after a busy day, you are able to breathe, relax and forget about your work day. I highly recommend this hotel and I'm saddened it will be closing at the end of this year.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinity, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I went with my wife to the Marcliffe for a works Dinner Dance. The venue is impressive, the service very attentive and the food outstanding. It was a superb evening; my compliments to all the staff especially the chefs and waiters.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce_Brechin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.4 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#14 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#15 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
2.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa

Property: The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Address: North Deeside Road | Pitfodels, Aberdeen AB15 9YA, Scotland (Formerly The Marcliffe at Pitfodels)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#9 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#11 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by Mikhail Gorbachev in 1993, this is one of the cities more exclusive hotels.I am delighted to inform our valued clients that we have now upgraded all our TV's to slimline models with plenty satellite channels.Thank you all for your patience.J Stewart Spence, Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marcliffe At Pitfodels Hotel Aberdeen
Marcliffe At Pitfodels Aberdeen
Marcliffe At Pitfodels Hotel Aberdeen
The Marcliffe Hotel And Spa Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing