We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

A beautiful hotel set in fabulous grounds...most of the staff cant do enough for you.. The bedrooms were all you could wish for...there arent many seats in lounge area which is bit of shame when hotel is so big. Food and restaurant was out of this world.. Very generous portions I'm afraid I had steak with lobster two nights running it was so good... Shame its closing but will try to return before that happens

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

We love The Marcliffe and have stayed here many times and attended numerous functions. All have been wonderful. The rooms are great, beds comfy, location peaceful, staff friendly, bar lounge fabulous and food always good. We are devastated this hotel to be flattened to make way for offices! Crazy situation, the road outside will not take the additional traffic. There is not another hotel in Aberdeen that comes close to The Marcliffe for comfort, good food and service. Hotel rooms are usually in short supply in Aberdeen as it is! Stay here before the doors shut! We will miss you Marcliffe.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spangle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

It was a horrible night when we arrived at Aberdeen airport and it wouldn't get easier with the retntal car and his right-hand drive and raining like there's no tomorrow. But we didn't knew yet, that there is waiting a cozy, warm and beautiful place for us, with beautiful people inside.
As we were approaching the main building we were starting to realize it.
It was the middle of the night, so only the bellman for the night was there, but he was the only one we needed! He welcomed us on the typical Scottish warm way, offered us some soup and let us enjoy finest Scottish single malts, before snoozing down by the fireside. The rooms are totally charming and clean, beds are very very comfortable, the towel warmer is a brilliant idea and the service overall is one of the best I ever experienced. We are totally looking forward to visit Aberdeen again. Warm regards, t

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tolga D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had our anniversary dinner at the Marcliffe again as is the last time we will be able to before it closes for good in November.
As per usual staff very welcoming and service second to none.Dinner was simply perfect in every way.There is only one Marcliffe and it will be very sadly missed and a huge loss to Aberdeen and visitors.Our thanks to all staff and management..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKENEBEAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Absolutely lovely. Perfect welcome gorgeous suite. Excellent staff. The best hotel in Aberdeen so far. Tea served in silver tea pot. Lovely snacks in room lots of complimentary stuff in room. A must place stay when in Aberdeen !! A shame this place is being levelled to make way for offices I hope to cone across the staff in their new venture.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Johndunn5707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

So loved staying here which feels somehow more special than just a hotel. The staff are all genuinely welcoming, friendly and go the extra mile. Setting is picturesque and quiet and a haven of peace in the outskirts of a now bustling city. We stayed in Fyvie Suite which was a complete delight and that Oh so comfortable bed! Breakfast is fit for a king here and I tried most on offer - Kippers are divine as is Smoked salmon and all produce is sourced locally. Dinner in the Conservatory restaurant the first night was a real treat - the best locally raised Wagyu steak I have ever tasted and so good it did not really need the accompaniments which were also great! Great service in the bar too! If you can come and stay here before it closes as I believe it might be due to then do as you will miss a great enjoyable and memorable stay!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MortyJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

It's been a while since i've been to the Marcliffe and even longer since I ate here outwith a wedding reception. Food, service and atmosphere all excellent. Exceeds expectations. On the pricey side but still well worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g_cook29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.4 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,257 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#19 of 65 in Aberdeen
391 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
902 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa

Address: North Deeside Road | Pitfodels, Aberdeen AB15 9YA, Scotland (Formerly The Marcliffe at Pitfodels)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#9 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £133 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by Mikhail Gorbachev in 1993, this is one of the cities more exclusive hotels.I am delighted to inform our valued clients that we have now upgraded all our TV's to slimline models with plenty satellite channels.Thank you all for your patience.J Stewart Spence, Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marcliffe At Pitfodels Hotel Aberdeen
Marcliffe At Pitfodels Aberdeen
Marcliffe At Pitfodels Hotel Aberdeen
The Marcliffe Hotel And Spa Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing