We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

““So very special””

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
““So very special””
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

A beautiful hotel set in fabulous grounds...most of the staff cant do enough for you.. The bedrooms were all you could wish for. The food was wonderful. The Bar area was good with a huge selection of Malts.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    65
    22
    13
    8
See reviews for
61
166
6
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dalry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Marcliffe yesterday attending the wedding of Jennifer and Ryan. The staff in attendance were great, the food was excellent and the supper later on was good. However, at breakfast today, we could not praise Lee and the ladies highly enough for their friendliness and superb hospitality. The breakfast was out of this world and the choice was terrific. It was a pleasure being looked after so well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine644369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

My golf four stayed here in great style and comfort on our 17th annual pink ticket tour. The bedrooms were large, the beds extremely comfortable. The bathrooms had all mod cons. The choice of food and wines at dinner left very little to be desired, but where this hotel scored was the service, which was right up there with the very best, whether it was housekeeping, front of house or in the restaurant and bar. Everyone we met on the staff was charming, quick, efficient and friendly without being at all familiar. They were also good looking and that always helps. The owner, Stewart Spence, takes a direct interest in the running of the hotel and was on hand in the dining room throughout dinner, helping the waiters and waitresses as well as checking the quality of the catering, but not dancing round the guests looking for plaudits. That was a first for me and won considerable approval with my party who are generally a fussy lot, and - dare I say it - rather spoilt. The place is popular with golfers and with good reason. There's a gym and spa for aching bones after a round at the local courses. Even more importantly there is a drying room, very necessary given the local prevailing weather. Any golfers reading this should not leave Aberdeen, or indeed the planet, without playing Cruden Bay. As Stewart Spence tells his golfing guests - keep it low and slow.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Richardofrushall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

A beautiful hotel set in fabulous grounds...most of the staff cant do enough for you.. The bedrooms were all you could wish for...there arent many seats in lounge area which is bit of shame when hotel is so big. Food and restaurant was out of this world.. Very generous portions I'm afraid I had steak with lobster two nights running it was so good... Shame its closing but will try to return before that happens

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We love The Marcliffe and have stayed here many times and attended numerous functions. All have been wonderful. The rooms are great, beds comfy, location peaceful, staff friendly, bar lounge fabulous and food always good. We are devastated this hotel to be flattened to make way for offices! Crazy situation, the road outside will not take the additional traffic. There is not another hotel in Aberdeen that comes close to The Marcliffe for comfort, good food and service. Hotel rooms are usually in short supply in Aberdeen as it is! Stay here before the doors shut! We will miss you Marcliffe.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spangle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

It was a horrible night when we arrived at Aberdeen airport and it wouldn't get easier with the retntal car and his right-hand drive and raining like there's no tomorrow. But we didn't knew yet, that there is waiting a cozy, warm and beautiful place for us, with beautiful people inside.
As we were approaching the main building we were starting to realize it.
It was the middle of the night, so only the bellman for the night was there, but he was the only one we needed! He welcomed us on the typical Scottish warm way, offered us some soup and let us enjoy finest Scottish single malts, before snoozing down by the fireside. The rooms are totally charming and clean, beds are very very comfortable, the towel warmer is a brilliant idea and the service overall is one of the best I ever experienced. We are totally looking forward to visit Aberdeen again. Warm regards, t

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tolga D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had our anniversary dinner at the Marcliffe again as is the last time we will be able to before it closes for good in November.
As per usual staff very welcoming and service second to none.Dinner was simply perfect in every way.There is only one Marcliffe and it will be very sadly missed and a huge loss to Aberdeen and visitors.Our thanks to all staff and management..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKENEBEAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.4 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#12 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#19 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
2.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa

Property: The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Address: North Deeside Road | Pitfodels, Aberdeen AB15 9YA, Scotland (Formerly The Marcliffe at Pitfodels)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#9 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#11 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by Mikhail Gorbachev in 1993, this is one of the cities more exclusive hotels.I am delighted to inform our valued clients that we have now upgraded all our TV's to slimline models with plenty satellite channels.Thank you all for your patience.J Stewart Spence, Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marcliffe At Pitfodels Hotel Aberdeen
Marcliffe At Pitfodels Aberdeen
Marcliffe At Pitfodels Hotel Aberdeen
The Marcliffe Hotel And Spa Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing