We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Expensive Good Food........in Aberdeen!!!”

Dutch Mill Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #111 of 679 Restaurants in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not Expensive Good Food........in Aberdeen!!!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have to say this place stands out like a sore thumb. Quality and service are very good and not the usual Aberdeen experience of paying a small fortune for less than average food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    64
    25
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really good option for family and work get togethers ...”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The Dutch Mill has had a face lift to good effect. The conservatory restaurant section has been extended without losing any of it's previous character or high level of service. The staff are all really nice and attentive in a helpful way.
The foodd menu is made up of old favourites but Chef always has multiple specials on each day to keep us regulars happy.
I was there last night for my birthday .. just a bit of supper with my wife. We shared a chicken liver pate for starters. From experience we knew we wouldn't manage one each plus a full main course! There was a large ball of tasty pate and plenty warm toast and butter. Then we had the peppered beef strips with a mix of rice and chips. The steak was tender and the pepper sauce was very tasty with a wee kick.
The restauarant was nicely busy for a Tuesday night and all around us we noticed everyone being served nice meals. The couple next to us had an chocolate and ice cream sundae of sorts and we were both sorely tempted.
All in all I would highly recommend the Dutcher as a brilliant place for a nice plate of food in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Well done Gordon .. keep it up :-)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent food and service in the Dutch Mill which has been recently been refurbished. Have stayed there in the past and would again.

Helpful?
Thank AndyG1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

The Dutch Mill has always served very good food and never disappoints. Service good as always and the change of decor was much needed. The restaurant is far more modern and pleasing on the eye.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A good lunch with great service”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Lunched with my eldest daughter on a chilly day in February. The food was good and the service very good. Atmosphere generally pleasant, although conversation was drowned out by the cackling from a "girls lunch" at a nearby table (not the restaurant's fault, obviously). Initial welcome was good with prompt reassurance that a table was booked and ready. I would like to go back to try an evening meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daduScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dutch Mill Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Dutch Mill Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing