We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent except one problem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Ranked #27 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent except one problem”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Me and a couple friends came up to stay here one night after work. Got to the room and everything was okay except from the toilet, it wouldn't flush and was blocked. We got it sorted eventually but it blocked again in the morning and was leaving a horrible smell in our room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warden90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thanks for your review warden90

Great to see that you enjoyed your stay but very sorry about the toilet. With 155 of them in the building it's inevitable that they go wrong from time to time. I'm sure if you had contacted reception they would have had it fixed very quickly or moved you to another room.

Thankfully, problems like this are very rare and I'm sure it wouldn't happen again if you return to stay with us in the future.

Regards

Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    321
    138
    34
    12
See reviews for
121
208
47
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We had a comfortable 3 night stay here over the weekend. We have stayed at several HIXs , both here in the UK and Canada and always been impressed by them. Last time we were in Aberdeen we stayed at the HIX at the Exhibition Centre but we went city centre this time as we had flown up. The hotel is handy for Union Street and the surroundinig area. As it is city centre there are no great views from the windows. Although it is off the main drag of Union Street there is a night club round the corner, (which does 80's music so my daughter tells me) so there can be some noise on Saturday nights from the queuing hen parties. Just keep the window closed. Breakfast was fine. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sslmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Many thanks for your review sslmmm

It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff helpful and friendly. Look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Regards

Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This was our 3rd stay at this hotel. Perfect for this price you pay. Rooms are clean and beds comfortable. We usually have a room out the front as we did this time but this was the first time I noticed it being so noisy with people coming home or going to the all night bakers across the road I ended up having to close the window but the room was stuffy. Breakfast is ok does the job 1st time we have stayed and there has been hot options to choose beans, scrambled egg and sausage but lots of cereals etc to choose from too, the breakfast area is small and the queue was big on Sunday morning between 9.30 and 10.30am. Bar was expensive but most hotels are we only had a couple of drinks before going out. Staff are friendly and helpful. Negative if you are parking the hotel car park is very small and never any spaces, the multi story car park is just a 2 min walk away but cost us £10 to park from 3pm Saturday that was until 1pm the following day (Sunday) when charges started again I think they start earlier on week days. All in all a good holiday for the price and will return in the future.

Room Tip: We usually have a room out the front and is ok but was a little noisy this time, in the future may r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loobylouFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thanks for your review loobylouFife

I'm delighted you enjoyed your 3rd visit to the hotel and that you appreciated the improvements and additional items that we added to the breakfast buffet.

It is regrettable the the city council introduced weekend parking charges but thankfully, they are still considerably cheaper that most city centres in the UK. On your next visit, my best advice is to try and get here as early as possible when there is a better chance of gaining a free space in our own car park.

Regards

Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Staff at reception, pleasant and happy to help. Good sized clean room. Breakfast wasn't as good as last time we were here. Dog friendly hotel. Would use again. Asked for quiet room but was woken at 3 am by very noisy people outside

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanya999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thanks for your review tanya999

It's really good to see that you had an enjoyable stay with your dog. My apologies that you were disturbed by noise from outside, if this should happen on any return visit, please feel free to contact the night staff who will do whatever they can to help.

Regards

Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Down
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

this holiday inn is clean,comfortable and well run. nice bar and very good buffet breakfast. it's in a nice quiet area on the edge of the citycentre. also there's a taxi rank right beside the hotel which is handy

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roland42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments roland42

Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the location and the service.

Hope to see you back again soon.

Regards

Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I booked this knowing it was at the budget end of hotels. I have been to many cheaper budget hotels that have nicers rooms / breakfast options.

As this was just a quick overnight stop I thought it would be fine. We may have been unlucky that in the 2 visits we have had to this hotel we have had a room overlooking a bakery that is open very late / early. Then there are the early morning road / payment cleaners. Opening the window is just not an option. I am a good sleeper but but this would be a big problem for many people.

Air conditioning would make such a difference

Breakfast is very busy and we do well to 2 areas to get the hot items. (like some of the other express hotels)

I am a priority card holder so I like to book Holiday Inn chain where I can but there are many more options in the area now so I think I will try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tallyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thanks for leaving your comments tallyson

Very sorry to see that you had some problems with the noise and the heat within the hotel. Whilst our location is definitely one of our biggest assets, unfortunately it does go hand in hand with the fact that the city centre can be a noisy place at times. We are looking into having air conditioning installed so hopefully this will happen at some point in the future. (although being in Aberdeen, heat is only rarely a problem!)

Whilst we would be delighted if you chose to come back and stay with us again, for a quieter location I can highly recommend our sister hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen Exhibition Centre on the north side of the city.

Regards

Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I am a Priortiy Club member - earned HI points elsewhere - and wanted to use my points for a nights stay. The staff were very efficient and welcoming on arrival. Room was nice and clean and fresh. Building creaks when people walk up and down the corridors which is a little offputting to start with. Parking - there is advertised parking but only about 6 spaces!.. so it is paying on the street or the multi-story until after 8pm, but being totally honest it is the middle of Aberdeen! Just skip the parking advert though HI. Breakfast was good, but the best bit was the care and speed with which the staff cleared up on a Sunday morning when half of the city seemed to have turned up for breakfast! I was most impressed, some bigger hotels could learn from them. Check out - same efficiency as check in. Very good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClintBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Many thanks for your review ClintBear

It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay and thanks for choosing us to redeem your Priority Club points. Unless I'm missing something, our web site only advertises that we have accessible parking although there are 13 spaces in total.

Sorry you found the floors a bit creaky, we'll look into this and try to have it fixed during our refurbishment which will be taking place shortly.

I'll also be sure to pass on your comments to the weekend breakfast staff, they will be delighted to know that their hard work has not gone un-noticed.

Regards

Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
994 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition
0.2 mi away
Skene House Holburn
Skene House Holburn
#16 of 65 in Aberdeen
300 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Address: Chapel Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is situated in the West End of Aberdeen City Centre within easy walking distance of all the City Centre attractions. The hotel is only a stone's throw from Union Street and is ideally situated for your business or leisure stay. Holiday Inn Express is the common sense choice for the value-conscious traveller. All of our bedrooms boast a power shower, direct dial telephone and satellite TV channels. There's a bar in the hotel and many restaurants and pubs close by including the stylish new Albyn Restaurant & Bar just 5 minutes away. The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is the perfect base to explore Royal Deeside, The Whisky Trail, the many Castles or some of the North East's Championship Golf Courses. If you are travelling to Aberdeen on business, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel is located close to many large companies such as Shell, Exxon Mobil and BP. At the Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel we also have 2 superb air-conditioned meeting rooms with natural daylight which can accommodate up to 40 delegates theatre style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Express Aberdeen City Centre
Aberdeen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing