We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recommend to your friends!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Ranked #29 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Budget hotel, excellent value for money. Nice clean rooms with toiletries supplied.
Reception staff friendly and helpful. Quiet room as requested to rear. Plenty choice at
breakfast with both hot and cold food on offer. I will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet no smoking room. Do it online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Many thanks for your great positive comments skotia.

We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Cheers

Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

staff welcomed us as we entered the door very nice and freindly.very handie for city centre you can walk or there are plenty bus,s 100 metres away ony disadvantage is the limited parking.we were at the rear of the building and very quite. when you see what you get for breakfast it was good value.what i might sugest is alternate with bacon and eggs

Room Tip: all rooms we have been in ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Many thanks for your comments john c, we're very glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the great central location of the hotel.

Regards

Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

Okay, the hotel was nice & the staff were friendly but thats where the positives stop for me. The room was like a bloody sauna! To make matters worse there was a taxi rank & an all night bakers below our bedroom window, the noise went on until 4.30-5 in the morning! Basically didnt sleep all night. Also add a tenner on 2 the price of your stay because the hotel carpark is tiny & very little chance of a space, theres a multi story carpark a 30 second walk from the hotel but you will need to pay a tenner. The complimentary breakfast has a limited selection as well, only hot food was beans, sausage and egg, was expecting a bit more to be honest. The hotel would be fine i suppose if your room was to the rear of the hotel to our luck ours wasnt. Overall dissapointed, wont be back

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven-h-83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Thank you very much for your review Steven-h-83

It's good to read that you found the hotel and staff nice but I'm sorry the room was too warm for you and that you were disturbed by noise from outside. Our location is one of our biggest assets but it does unfortunately go hand in hand with the fact that the city centre can sometimes be a little noisy. The hotel's location does also mean that our parking area is very small but this is not usually a big problem due to the multi-storey being free of charge between 10pm and 8am (1pm on Sundays)

Our breakfast is done to a strict standard which is the same as can be found in all Holiday Inn Express hotels in the UK, I'm very sorry that this was less than you might have been expecting.

Regards

Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Just returned from a girls weekend up in Abderdeen and stayed here. Great hotel, very centrally located and free carpark which is a bonus. Although there were no spaces when we arrived they advised us to park on the double yellows within the carpark area which we did.

Breakfast was ok, not the best ive ever had, however its free and there was enough choice.

Staff were very friendly and supplied us with wine glasses and chiller bucket and directions to local places etc

I agree with previous posters who say the rooms are hot, they are. We stayed last weekend when it was really warm in Aberdeen but we ended up wedging the door open to let some air circulate round the room. Its one of the few places where ive stayed that has good soundproofing in the rooms or maybe we were lucky as we were on the 4th floor in the end 2 rooms. I agree that if you were facing the main street, particualrly if you are staying at the weekend then it could get noisy, to avoid this we emailed the hotel ahead of our visit and requested rooms at the back of the hotel which we got no problem.
Would definately book this hotel again if returning to Aberdeen

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
Thank mackeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2012

Thanks for your great comments mackeroo

It's great to read that you and the girls had a good stay and found the staff to be friendly and helpful. It sounds like you also got lucky with the car park and managed to get an unofficial space!

As mentioned previously, we hope to solve the occasional heat problem with the installation of air-conditioning and I am hopeful this will happen fairly soon.

Look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the city.

Regards

Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Stayed for two nights, family break with 13 month old, excellent location, parked in multi-storey at end of the street, very limited spaces at hotel (10) - which should be advertised when booking online. Bit of a pain having to run back to top up with change/lug everything along street - needed two trips. Rooms were very spacious and very clean, travel cot supplied with room at back of hotel avoiding busy street below - which was appreciated. Rooms get very hot at night though, the only thing you can do is open the window - not always possible if cold night/travel cot under window.

Good range of items in breakfast buffet, always fully stocked in busy periods, second morning, sausages were rock hard (reheated?). Disappointing.

Overall the hotel was okay, but the poor attitude of the reception staff really lets it down. Every time we passed, they looked completely disintererested in being there. On one occassion, three of them stood and watched me struggle to open the door and push the buggy through with shopping, didn't offer to help or ask if I was okay - poor customer service.

Good location, but due to staff, would not stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for room at back away from busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsA094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2012

Many thanks for your comprehensive review MrsA094

Wherever possible, we do try to make it clear that we only have very limited parking facilities but with the huge number of online booking sites now available, this is increasingly hard to keep track of.

I was delighted to read that you found the hotel and location up to standard but most surprised to read your comments about the staff. A quick look at many of the other reviews on this site will, I am sure, persuade you that this is certainly not the kind of feedback that we usually receive.

The staff have been made aware of their shortcomings on this occasion and I am confident, should you choose to return, that your experiences would be far more positive.

Many thanks once again for your comments.

Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Excellent for nights out,central for everything,friendly staff,very helpful,clean rooms,not much noise for being so central,good choice for breakfast,excellent value for money,would defo stay here again.

Room Tip: My room was on main street and wasn't bothered by noise at all so any room would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2012

Thanks for your comments Hazel G

Glad you enjoyed the hotel and I hope you had a great time in Aberdeen for the Hen Night.

Regards

Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Hitel is very clean and ideal location for theatre or shopping or night out!

Not much parking at hotel but multi storey just up the street, no longer free for weekends, still quite good as just pay up till 10pm and then from 1pm next day.

Window had been open all day and night but room still very warm, we were opposite bakery so very noisy till about 4am, so make you don't get a room looking onto the street!

Breakfast included in room rate too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandy_sc0tland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2012

Thanks for your review mandy_sc0tland

I'm glad you found the location to be good for you and appreciated the efforts we go to to keep the hotel clean and fresh.

Apologies for the high temperature in the bedroom but unfortunately this does happen sometimes after periods of hot weather. At some point in the future, we intend to install air-conditioning which should solve the problem.

Regards

Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Skene House Holburn
Skene House Holburn
#16 of 65 in Aberdeen
307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Aberdeen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition
0.6 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,023 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre

Address: Chapel Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £49 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is situated in the West End of Aberdeen City Centre within easy walking distance of all the City Centre attractions. The hotel is only a stone's throw from Union Street and is ideally situated for your business or leisure stay. Holiday Inn Express is the common sense choice for the value-conscious traveller. All of our bedrooms boast a power shower, direct dial telephone and satellite TV channels. There's a bar in the hotel and many restaurants and pubs close by including the stylish new Albyn Restaurant & Bar just 5 minutes away. The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is the perfect base to explore Royal Deeside, The Whisky Trail, the many Castles or some of the North East's Championship Golf Courses. If you are travelling to Aberdeen on business, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel is located close to many large companies such as Shell, Exxon Mobil and BP. At the Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel we also have 2 superb air-conditioned meeting rooms with natural daylight which can accommodate up to 40 delegates theatre style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Express Aberdeen City Centre
Aberdeen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing