We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Standard”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Good hotel, nice room, about a 15 minute walk from Union square. Breakfast was okay, staff were a little bit offish. I stayed here on business I would stay here again if I couldn't get anything nearer to union square, just purely for convenience

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornishboy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thank you for your comments Cornishboy72

It's good to see that you were satisfied with your stay at the hotel but apologies that you felt the staff were not as approachable as you would have liked. I'm certain that this is not the impression they intended to give.

Hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    313
    131
    32
    12
See reviews for
117
199
47
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

A very welcoming hotel. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable. Bar is quite small but had no problem getting a seat, as being in the city centre most people went out. Big bonus is they show Sky Sports so could watch the evening match.
I stayed with my wife and grand-daughter, the later loved the vending machines.
Only drawback was parking. They have about 10 parking spaces but you have to park on road or in multi-storey if you cant get there early enough. But I suppose you should expect that from a city centre hotel.
BIGGEST DOWNSIDE ......NO BACON AT BREAKFAST

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Many thanks for your comments Colin G

It's great to read how much you enjoyed your visit and I hope your team were victorious in the match!

Parking is a bit of an issue but, as you mentioned, we are lucky to have the multi-storey facility just 100 yards away.

I will pass on your comment regarding the bacon as this is not something that we can add to the buffet without a change to Holiday Inn Express brand standards.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My son and I visited Aberdeen on business and we need a roof over our head. Apart from being handy for the city center this hotel offers nothing !

Miserable faces in reception doubling as bar maids. We were an inconvenience. I reported stains on the carpet within five minutes of check in. I was told the rooms need refurbishment. A plastic breakfast which tasted like cardboard.

The beds are clean, however get ready, not much sleep. The squarking dawn chorus at 4 am every morning and late into the evening is unbearable.

Parking limited on a first come first serve basis under the hotel and very tight manouvring, unless your in a mini. Booking out today and we definitely won't be coming back. Very very poor.

Room Tip: Find another hotel for a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thanks for your review nick v and my apologies that you did not enjoy your stay.

I'm sure the staff did not mean to give you the impression that they were not happy as we usually get much more positive feedback about their performance.

There are a few rooms with marked carpets and I apologise that you were allocated one of these. We are indeed awaiting a refurbishment and this will naturally include the replacement of all floor coverings.

Regrettably, with Aberdeen being a coastal city, there is not a lot that we can do about the local seagulls although I entirely agree that at some times of the year, they can be a nuisance.

I do hope you will reconsider your decision about a repeat visit after the hotel has undergone its' refurbishment.

Regards

Martin Thow
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 separate nights. The first night which was a Wednesday the price on their website was £165 for a one night stay. Who would pay that amount for a stay at HIX. Anyway I did a best price guarantee which was honoured and I got the night free. Second night was a Friday which was a more acceptable rate. Staff aren't very friendly. There isn't much conversation with them other than checking you in. Think they are just doing their job. Anyway room was fine very quiet. You know what you are getting with HIX as the rooms are all the same. Breakfast was okay though I didn't sample the hot items. A comment, no reflection on the hotel, if there was more choice with IHG, as only the one hotel in Aberdeen city centre. Will return as very convenient for the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bttyboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Many thanks for your review fluffysheep

Firstly, well done for managing to obtain a free night through our Best Price Guarantee and thank you for highlighting the price discrepancy.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay but apologise if the staff appeared indifferent at reception, This has been pointed out to them already and I can assure you that they did not intend to give this impression.

IHG do have a Crowne Plaza in the pipeline for central Aberdeen which will greatly improve our presence in the city. In the meantime, there are 3 other properities on the outskirts for those who do not require a central location.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

we booked this through expedia and straight away we where made to feel like second hand citizens with no rights to complain about the room.we booked 3 adults and 1 child and the way it was done it indicated that we paid for an extra adult with a bed at an extra cost of £20, unfortunately the child had to share a bed with the adult. Now luckily enough for us they where 2 sisters but I paid extra for them to have their own bed, but the management again told me because I booked through expedia it was their fault. The hotel itself is absolutely `roasting` and impossible to sleep in because of it. They are obviously trying to mirror the Premier Inn style of hotels but in my book the Premier Inn wins hands down. Also no apologies or anything from the reception staff for the hotel being evacuated because of the fire alarm.In a nutshell,too hot,rooms small,poor customer service and would I return probably not.

Room Tip: go to Premier Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronniew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for your comments ronniew.

I have to admit that I am very surprised that you feel you were treated like a "second class citizen" due to booking via Expedia. Having spoken to you personally, I cannot imagine what gave you this impression, particularly as you seemed so grateful for the offer of an additional free room for the first night of your stay.

As I explained at the hotel, the details on the Expedia web site, and indeed the copy of your confirmation that you showed me, clearly described the room as "One Double and One Sofa Bed". I cannot find any reference on the site that indicates in any way that an additional bed would be supplied. I additionally don't recall blaming Expedia although I did assure you that I would double-check that their descriptions were accurate.

The temperature in the bedrooms of late has certainly been rather high during this spell of glorious weather and regrettably, there is not much we can do about it in the short term. The hotel's owners are however committed to the installation of air-conditioning in the future and I am hopeful that this will happen before the end of next year.

I do apologise that you were disturbed by a fire alarm and hope you understand that these things are sometimes unavoidable. The reception staff do try to be as sympathetic as possible in such circumstances although naturally, the safety of our guests is the number one priority. With well over 220 customers on that particular night, it is understandable to a certain extent that they were unable to apologise personally to everyone.

I am extremely sorry that you felt so dissatisfied following your visit to our hotel; this is not a situation that we would want any customer to be in. I sincerely hope that you will reconsider your stance in the future and give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves with another visit.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed here in previous years for four nights but would be reluctant to return again after last month's visit. There must be some sort of problem with the fire alarm which has gone off during every single stay i've ever had there. Last time was at 8am and i ended up outside in my trousers and vest in a car-park. The breakfast always seems to be a carry-on too and nothing runs smoothly. Be prepared to queue up for ages for sausages that are like leather when you try and cut them. I know this is not fault of the hotel, but the noise from outside is incredible due to the location of the hotel and pubs/clubs nearby, not to mention an all-night bakers across the road. Also, the noise from inside the hotel is incredible too with doors banging all night long. It's a popular hotel for party-goers to stay due to it being in the city centre. Good for entertainment value as long as you don't want to sleep.

Room Tip: As for a room at the back as it tends to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWellingtonWimpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave some feedback YS385

My apologies for the issues you have experienced with the fire alarms when staying with us. They are extremely sensitive and the situation has not been helped during this spell of unusually hot weather. On a more positive note, I am happy to advise that we will be replacing all of the bedroom detectors within the next few weeks and the new ones are far more resiliant to false activation whilst still being extremely effective at recognising real danger.

I'm also sorry that you were disturbed by noise during your stay but can assure you that we do everything possible to try and minimise this. It is sometimes an unfortunate by-product of our great city centre location.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pattaya
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

i only stayed for 1 night but found the hotel very nice. staff were very helpful and friendly. the hotel does not have a restaurant to speak of, but gave me an alternative to go to. only problem was at breakfast where there is a continental breakfast with a very limited selection of hot food, sausage, scrambled eggs and baked beans.
this should not really afect your decision to stay. so overall very good. i would definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sootymilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thanks for your review sootymilne

Glad you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be helpful. The free breakfast is indeed a fairly limited selection, this is a standard that is common to all Holiday Inn Express hotels in the UK. I will however pass on your feedback at a corporate level as these type of things are constantly reviewed and monitored.

Hope to see you back again soon.

Regards

Martin Thow
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.3 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
2.6 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Address: Chapel Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is situated in the West End of Aberdeen City Centre within easy walking distance of all the City Centre attractions. The hotel is only a stone's throw from Union Street and is ideally situated for your business or leisure stay. Holiday Inn Express is the common sense choice for the value-conscious traveller. All of our bedrooms boast a power shower, direct dial telephone and satellite TV channels. There's a bar in the hotel and many restaurants and pubs close by including the stylish new Albyn Restaurant & Bar just 5 minutes away. The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is the perfect base to explore Royal Deeside, The Whisky Trail, the many Castles or some of the North East's Championship Golf Courses. If you are travelling to Aberdeen on business, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel is located close to many large companies such as Shell, Exxon Mobil and BP. At the Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel we also have 2 superb air-conditioned meeting rooms with natural daylight which can accommodate up to 40 delegates theatre style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Express Aberdeen City Centre
Aberdeen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing