We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Sandy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Helpful and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed overnight on business for one night whilst travelling from London to Shetland Islands during Aberdeen Oil Week when all the hotels in the area were full. Had a late arrival and early departure. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Room was adequate and comfortable. Managed to get a light breakfast at 0515 which was excellent and unexpected.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank dbrooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Many thanks for your review dbrooker

It's great to read that you had an enjoyable, allbeit short, visit to the hotel. I'm glad you managed to secure a room during what is the busiest week of the year for hotels in the area.

Breakfast officially starts at 6.30am but as you now know, we're more than happy to be flexible on this.

Regards

Martin Thow
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    307
    128
    32
    9
See reviews for
111
190
47
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

A great hotel close to centrum (union street), and close to the best bars.
A lot of value for the money! Definitely staying here next time i'm in Aberdeen for shopping and champagne. I recommend this hotel to all my friends and family!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJUNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Many thanks for your comments CJUNorway

Glad you liked our central location and had a great stay at the hotel.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Martin Thow
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

My friends and I stayed in this Hotel for a weekend trip. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the Hotel itself was very clean. The rooms were very clean and tidy and the Buffet Breakfast which was included in the price was really nice. There was enough selection to eat. The Hotel was quite central as well. Yes we all enjoyed our stay at this Hotel and would reccomend it to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonniemac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Many thanks for your review bonniemac1.

We're delighted that you and your friends had a good visit and appreciated the efforts of our housekeeping team. Glad you enjoyed our free buffet breakfast too.

Hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhondda Cynon Taff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Typical Holiday Inn Express, clean and modern, nice sized rooms and usual in-room facilities.
Conveniently situated just off Union Street, don`t have to go far for plenty of bars and resturaunts. Onsite parking is limited but there is a convenient multi-storey carpark at end of street (2 mins away).
First visit to Aberden on business, would like to return fot pleasure, lovely peopl, lovely city, I was lucky with weather (bet its cold in Winter !!)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welshone03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you very much for your comments welshone03.

Really glad to see that the hotel lived up to your expectations and you enjoyed the central location.

It's particularly good to read that you were left with such a positive impression of the city too. (and yes, it does get a wee bit nippy in the winter!)

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed here for three nights over the Bank Holiday weekend at the end of August.

The location is very good - 100m to the top of Union Street (the main street in Aberdeen) and there are pubs are restaurants nearby. The bus and railway stations are about 10-15 minutes walk away.

We contacted the hotel in advance and requested a quiet room and were duly given a room at the back of the hotel. The room itself was standard Holiday Inn Express but perfectly adequate for a short break. The only slight negative was that it was a little warm in the room.

Breakfast is included in the rate and certainly fills you up for the day. Lots of choice and although it was a little congested on Sunday morning, we had no complaints.

Finally, a word about the staff. Everyone was very friendly. Requests and queries were politely dealt with and they are a credit to the hotel.

We obtained a very good rate - hotels in Aberdeen are not that cheap. If you are looking for a reasonably priced base to explore Aberdeen, we would have no hesitiation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you want a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manx_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review Manx_on_tour.

It's good to see that you had an enjoyable visit and appreciated the central location. We're particularly pleased that you had such a good impression of the staff.

Aberdeen hotels can be expensive during the week but from Friday to Sunday, rates are generally amongst the best in the country for value.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Brilliant hotel with great friendly staff.. Rooms were modern and very clean..Food was very gd.. Couldn't fault this hotel.. In the heart of Aberdeen with shops,restaurants and pubs on doorstep.. Fantastic would definitely stay here again ;)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to lave such a great review Helen D.

It's really good to read that our efforts have been worthwhile and you enjoyed your stay.

Look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

This hotel is neither fantastic nor terrible. It is perfectly adequate. It is clean, decently appointed, and everything works just fine in the room. The morning breakfast buffet is filling and offered over a wide enough time period to be convenient. The parking lot is too small, so overflow parking is down the street in a paid multi-tier car park. The desk service was efficient and friendly.

If you're looking for somewhere convenient to downtown, where you plan to sleep the night but not spend a lot of time otherwise, this is more than sufficient to your needs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JESt79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review JESt79

It's good to read that you were satisfied with your stay in the hotel but I am sorry that we clearly failed to produce the "wow" factor for you.

It's particularly good to see that you appreciated the staff at reception and I will ensure they are made aware of this.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.3 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#12 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
3.6 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Address: Chapel Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is situated in the West End of Aberdeen City Centre within easy walking distance of all the City Centre attractions. The hotel is only a stone's throw from Union Street and is ideally situated for your business or leisure stay. Holiday Inn Express is the common sense choice for the value-conscious traveller. All of our bedrooms boast a power shower, direct dial telephone and satellite TV channels. There's a bar in the hotel and many restaurants and pubs close by including the stylish new Albyn Restaurant & Bar just 5 minutes away. The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is the perfect base to explore Royal Deeside, The Whisky Trail, the many Castles or some of the North East's Championship Golf Courses. If you are travelling to Aberdeen on business, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel is located close to many large companies such as Shell, Exxon Mobil and BP. At the Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel we also have 2 superb air-conditioned meeting rooms with natural daylight which can accommodate up to 40 delegates theatre style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Express Aberdeen City Centre
Aberdeen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing