We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Howwood, Renfrewshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Decent hotel ”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night on business. Basic hotel but cosy and very comfortable for my needs. No parking at hotel but car park at end if the road. This costs £1 per hour and u need to prepay so make sure u have plenty pound coins. Bed was so comfy best hotel bed in years. Overall fine for one night.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thanks for your review linda1566, it's great to read that you had a comfortable stay.

We have a very small car park at the hotel but it does fill up very quickly. The multi-storey at the end of the road is indeed "pay and display" but remember that it is free of charge from 10pm until 8am each night.

Hope to see you back again soon.

Regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    313
    132
    32
    12
See reviews for
117
199
47
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Room was okay, but we never got much sleep due to there being some sort if fight or disturbance. Contacted reception 3 Times no one answered. Discovered the reason why heading to breakfast! Police in foyer and outside so must have been bother! Not happy at reception response on complaining, was more interested in what was going on outside. I have since phoned the hotel twice to speak with a manager but no call back as yet. I stayed on Saturday 15th March 2014. Real shame as Hotel is in a good place and nicely decorated

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 34tm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Many thanks for your feedback 34tm.

Firstly, I am glad you found your room to your satisfaction and were pleased with the overall location and appearance of the hotel.

More importantly though, I am sincerely sorry that your stay was disturbed by the inconsiderate behaviour of some other guests. As you clearly noticed, there was a rather serious incident involving a number of members of a large group and their actions necessitated the involvement of the police. The staff that were on duty at the time were presented with an extremely difficult and distressing situation which I am totally confident was handled in a very professional manner. I am absolutely certain that they did not intend to give you the impression of not being interested when you spoke at reception and am sorry that you felt this was the case.

I have also spoken with the reception team regarding your phone calls and unfortunately, nobody recalls receiving such a request. Rest assured, had I been aware of your efforts to make contact, I would have returned your call as soon as possible. Please do get in touch again and ask for me personally.

Lastly, please be assured that incidents such as this are extremely rare and we make every effort to ensure that our guests get a comfortable and disturbance-free experience when staying at the hotel.

Kind regards

Murray Todd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Central , comfortable & clean
Reasonable breakfast included- we had to pay to park but if you are lucky a few free place at hotel
Pleasant helpful staff
Our second stay here and will return again when visiting family- reasonable price for Aberdeen at weekend

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gedg9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thanks for your review Gedg9, we really appreciate the feedback.

It's good the see that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night & it was perfect for our needs. Reception staff were really friendly & we were allocated a clean, spacious room at the back of the hotel as requested despite only booking it that week. Breakfast was fine, plenty cereal, pastries as well as sausage, egg & beans. Parking is hopeless at hotel & unf chapel street (nearest multi story) isn't much better!! Be aware it doesn't accept anything other than coins for payment should you need to use it. Would def stay here again. £48 pn, can't go wrong!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahkScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear sarahkScotland

Many thanks for your comments, it's great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the friendly staff and free buffet breakfast.

Our 13 parking spaces do fill up quickly but as you said, there is a multi-storey just up the road.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
141 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Recently stayed for two nights. One knows what to expect from these properties and it fulfilled our needs. I must add that all the staff were very friendly and helpful and treated their guests very professionally.
Rooms standard for the chain.
WiFi worked well.
Public areas large and welcoming.
It is about a 15 minute walk to Union Square but there are many restaurants and shops mere minutes away.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shakyjowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Many thanks for your review Shakyjowls

I'm glad to see that we fulfilled your expectations of the the Holiday Inn Express brand and that you appreciated the great central location. It's also lovely to read that the staff looked after you so well.

Hope you have the chance to visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This hotel is just what you expect from this standard of hotel. It is very clean, the rooms are comfortable and warm, great shower. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was adequate if a little limited. The reception/bar area is very comfortable. The hotel is situated just off Union street in a quiet street and there were no disturbing noises from outside or from other rooms. There is free wi-fi in all rooms, although I found it a bit hit and miss. All in all great value for money. Would not hesitate to recommend it for an overnight or weekend stay in the granite city.

Room Tip: We were in 231 which is to the rear of the hotel away from any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thanks for your comments IanW_31

I'm delighted to see that you had a good stay with us and particularly found the staff to be friendly and helpful. My apologies if you experienced a little trouble with the free Wi-Fi, we are experiencing some minor problems with it at the moment but this will be solved imminently with the installation of a new dedicated fibre-optic line into the building.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night with my other half , the room was clean and comfortable , there is no iron in the rooms , we had to go to an ironing room , which was a cupboard with the smallest ironing board and iron imaginable !!
Out bathroom was nice and clean again with a good showers and large shower unit the only problem I had here was I kept jamming my fingers in the door when I opened it to leave the bathroom because of the way it could close over the toilet making a separate toilet cubicle.
Beware if taking a car with you there are only about 6 parking spaces and we had to pay £1 an hour to park in the council run car park up the road as did many others using the hotel ( I'm not even sure if it was other guests cars or staff cars that were using the hotel spaces)
Breakfast was a big let down , there were some cereals , fruit and yoghurt but sausage , scrambled egg and beans were the only hot options and the sausages weren't that good but hey it's free so you can't really complain. Over all it was worth the 60 odd quid we paid to stay there but think I would have been disappointed if we had paid more especially taking into consideration the amount we paid for parking

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank littlemissy1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you very much for your comments littlemissy1uk

It's good to read that you found your room to be clean and comfortable although I'm sorry that you found the ironing room to be a little cramped. We do try to do our best with the limited space available.

I'm sorry to hear that you jammed your fingers in the bathroom door. The design of these doors is aimed at making the bathrooms and showers as user-friendly as possible and it is a little unusual. Our best advice for the future is to ensure that you use the door handles as this will negate the possibility of trapping fingers.

Car parking is indeed at a premium in the centre of Aberdeen and as you clearly noticed, our 13 spaces are filled very quickly by customers (staff park in a separate area). The multi-storey facility just up the road is very handy and, compared to many other cities, keenly priced. Please note that it is also free of charge between 10pm and 8am each night.

The breakfast selection is standard across all Holiday Inn Express hotels so regrettably there is nothing we can do to change it in the short term. I will however address the quality issue with the sausages as a matter of urgency.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.3 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
2.6 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Address: Chapel Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is situated in the West End of Aberdeen City Centre within easy walking distance of all the City Centre attractions. The hotel is only a stone's throw from Union Street and is ideally situated for your business or leisure stay. Holiday Inn Express is the common sense choice for the value-conscious traveller. All of our bedrooms boast a power shower, direct dial telephone and satellite TV channels. There's a bar in the hotel and many restaurants and pubs close by including the stylish new Albyn Restaurant & Bar just 5 minutes away. The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is the perfect base to explore Royal Deeside, The Whisky Trail, the many Castles or some of the North East's Championship Golf Courses. If you are travelling to Aberdeen on business, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel is located close to many large companies such as Shell, Exxon Mobil and BP. At the Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel we also have 2 superb air-conditioned meeting rooms with natural daylight which can accommodate up to 40 delegates theatre style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Express Aberdeen City Centre
Aberdeen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing