We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay - decent location and good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Ranked #24 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Okay - decent location and good breakfast”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Not a bad hotel for the city centre in Aberdeen. Parking isn't great at the hotel (12 spaces) but there is a multi-story car park just along (100 yds) the road. Although a 24 hr car park it only charges from 8am until 9pm (?) - so if you arrive late and leave early you're quids in!
The hotel is a fairly standard express model. So a sort of hotel bar and a sort of breakfast - but these things are frills in an express. The breakfast is actually pretty good with a wide and plentiful choice. The room was good - all you'd expect (and well cleaned) for a budget hotel - though the bed was smallish and soft. Premier Inn has sussed the big, comfortable bed! Others take note.
Was it special? Well, no. But it was well located, clean and gave me a decent breakfast.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank UKRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Many thanks for your review UKRO

It's good to read that the hotel met your expectations and you enjoyed our free breakfast. I completely agree with you about the beds which is why we are currently in the process of replacing every single one of them. This is being done a floor at a time of the next few months so if you are staying again in the near future, please get in touch and we will ensure you get a room with one of the new beds.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    316
    133
    33
    12
See reviews for
117
202
47
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Booked via IHG central reservations at 20:45 due to a cancelled flight.
Arrived around 21:15 and was expected and welcomed very warmly.

Paperwork was waiting for me, including Priority Club info.

Room on the third floor was as you'd expect for Express Inn and apart from being a tad warm was clean & tidy.

Staff were great, both on arrival & departure and couldn't do enough or any of the guests.
Will stay here again as so central to the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Many thanks for your comments Nick H

It's great to read that the system works and we were prepared for your arrival after such a short notice booking. We're also grateful for your recognition of the efforts the staff go to and look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operatons Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Arrived and checked in was fine, room on 3rd floor adequate, free WIFI which is a plus
bar and vending machine just off reception
breakfast was fine, plenty of choices
Taxi rank at end of street
All in all it was fine for a night or 2, expensive for what it was but as All Energy was on in the City would assume this is why - next yr exhibition is in Glasgow so not this problem then!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinklestar2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for your review twinklestar2307

Glad to see that you enjoyed your visit and appreciated the central location.

Aberdeen hotels tend to be expensive on midweek nights at the best of times and you correctly state that the All Energy conference further exasperated this. I do feel that our prices, even during this event, were extremely competitive in comparison to other hotels in the city centre.

It's also worth bearing in mind that at weekends the situation is reversed and Aberdeen becomes an extremely good value destination for a short break.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
833 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed over for one night as a stopover on the way to Inverness. Location of this hotel is a double edged sword - It is very good since it is in a central location, on the other hand it is in close proximity with some night clubs, that could tend to become noisy at night. For us this wasn't a problem and it hardly affected us.
Service was excellent and was warmly greeted at reception.
Room, like any other HIE, adequate, functional and comfortable. Parking is very limited, although there is a multi storey car park just adjacent to the building (very nominal charges)
On the whole ideal for an over night stop over and would stay again if we were ever visiting Aberdeen.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank varun_mukthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thanks for your comments varun_mukthi, glad you enjoyed your visit.

Hope you had an equally good experience in Inverness.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We found the rooms to be clean and comfortable with everything we required available. The free breakfast was adequate, with sausages, scrambled egg, beans available for the hot food along with toast, cereal etc, not the best quality breakfast I've ever had but we all managed to find enough to fill us up and it was free. The location of the hotel was fantastic, just a few minutes walk to Union Street. The car park is very small however we stood and waited for a space and managed to get one within 20 mins or so, I think we were lucky though. All in all good value for money.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lovetravel0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review following your stay with us lovetravel0505.

Delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and even managed to get one of our precious parking spaces!

Hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed overnight 24th may room 202 carpet had not been cleaned for a while.no hot water in bathroom sink.breakfast was a complete let down.not value for money.would not stay there again or recommend to others....overall very disappointing .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Many thanks for your comments Kenneth W, I'm very sorry you were disappointed with your stay.

I was surprised to read that you felt the carpet in your room was not clean as our housekeepers are extremely efficient. Having now checked the room myself, I can see that the carpet is quite worn and does give the impression that it is not entirely clean. Fortunately, our carpets are due to be replaced shortly which will rectify the situation.

Room 202 is one of our disabled access bedrooms and the tap is designed differently to the other rooms in the hotel. To get hot water, the lever needs to be pushed fully to the left and I have tested it to ensure it is operating correctly. This is not a particularly intuitive action however and we do plan to have these changed when the hotel is next refurbished.

I was also sorry to see that you felt our free breakfast buffet did not represent value for money. Whilst the selection is fairly limited, with our continental choices plus 3 hot options, we do make every effort to ensure that it is of good quality and I am sorry you felt let down by this.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Check in was fast and efficient. Room was well maintained and clean. Food in the morning was ok, though I never seem to time it right to get the scrambled egg before it sets solid! Plenty of bars, restaurants and takeaways within a couple of minutes walk. Only possible issue is the car park only holds around 10 cars (has 3 disabled bays which are chained off so only disabled can use them, which I thought was a good policy). There is a multi-story car park at the end of the road.

Room Tip: Room 108 overlooked an old church(?) at the back of the hotel. Was very quiet but phone signal was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diving_or_work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thanks for your review on2thefraudteam

It's good to read that you had an enjoyable stay and appreciated the central location. Apologies about the eggs, I will ensure that the kitchen team are made aware of this problem.

Our car park is indeed very small although, as you so rightly say, there is a large multi-storey just 100 yards away which is free of charge for most of the night.

Hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
964 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 65 in Aberdeen
740 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Address: Chapel Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is situated in the West End of Aberdeen City Centre within easy walking distance of all the City Centre attractions. The hotel is only a stone's throw from Union Street and is ideally situated for your business or leisure stay. Holiday Inn Express is the common sense choice for the value-conscious traveller. All of our bedrooms boast a power shower, direct dial telephone and satellite TV channels. There's a bar in the hotel and many restaurants and pubs close by including the stylish new Albyn Restaurant & Bar just 5 minutes away. The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is the perfect base to explore Royal Deeside, The Whisky Trail, the many Castles or some of the North East's Championship Golf Courses. If you are travelling to Aberdeen on business, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel is located close to many large companies such as Shell, Exxon Mobil and BP. At the Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel we also have 2 superb air-conditioned meeting rooms with natural daylight which can accommodate up to 40 delegates theatre style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Lastminute, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Express Aberdeen City Centre
Aberdeen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing