We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Ranked #26 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Deal
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Central hotel”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed for three nights while visiting family. Hotel was very clean and well staffed. All staff were pleasant, polite and helpful. Breakfast was OK. Bar area is small but pleasant with competitive prices, particularly on the malt whisky deal of the week. Bedrooms are roomy and very clean with everything you could want. Bed was very soft and uncomfortable for those who like a firm mattress. Good choice of firm or soft pillows. Bathroom was very clean and well-stocked with toiletries. Shower was excellent. Room was hot but hotel staff used a key to open the window fully on request and also offered the use of fans if required. We were at the back of the hotel and heard very little outside noise but be warned that this hotel and Aberdeen itself is very popular with Hen Parties at weekends. My sister had a Hen Party next to her who were partying in their room throughout the evening. They were requested to be quieter by hotel staff but did not take any notice until asked a second time and then did calm down. Location at the top end of Union Street is good and is the preferred hotel of other family members when visiting Aberdeen.
I e-mailed the hotel before our stay to request 2 rooms near each other and my request was responded to straight away and granted.
Overall quite a good stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the rear of the hotel as it is quieter,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanandTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Many thanks for your review AlanandTracey

We're delighted to see that you had an enjoyable visit to the hotel and that the staff looked after you. I agree that some of the beds are rather soft which is why we are currently in the process of replacing them all. We're also hopefully getting a refurbishment soon which should include the installation of air-conditioning.

Hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regads

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    319
    135
    34
    12
See reviews for
118
205
47
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just back from a weekend in Aberdeen, the hotel and staff were excellent! looked after our party of 8 with minimal fuss and with kind and excellent service. Nothing was a problem, would highly recommend and look forward to staying again. Thanks to all!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Many thanks for your comments Marc J

We're delighted you and your friends had a good weekend and the staff looked after you.

Hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed in the Holiday Inn Express on Saturday 12th July on a stag weekend. The rooms were well fitted and clean. Check-in was swift and friendly, the bar was not overpriced and the breakfast was good although bacon would have been nice!
This is a good hotel in the city centre just off Union Street, there is a club,karioke bar and casino on the next block (left out of the front door)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Admcck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Many thanks for your review Admcck

Glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay and found the staff to be friendly.

Hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great value city center hotel with easy access to the city.
Parking on road available and also nearby car park facility. Basic breakfasts but ample .
Very clean and a good wee bar lounge area for relaxing.
Have stayed with family and through work . Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thanks for your review Rikki L, it's always good to hear from our regular guests.

Glad you had another enjoyable stay and we look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perthshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A Cheap nightly rate at the weekend. Room clean, bed comfortable, and pleasant staff. Car parking a bit of a pain, as hotel has limited parking spaces. Room well equipped & modern with free wifi which is always welcome. Only down side was the selection for the cooked breakfast.. and lack of cutlery.

Room Tip: rooms to rear of property would prob be quieter. I had room at the front - taxis & fast food out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyzdiscoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review jimmyzdiscoz

Glad you enjoyed your visit and appreciated the free WiFi. Apologies for the low stocks of cutlery during breakfast, I will ensure that more is purchased immediately to prevent this from happening again.

Hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I was born and bred in Aberdeen but immigrated 50 odd years ago. This was my first stay in this property. This hotel and staff rate far higher than the Trip Advisor rates. If one is looking for a perfect small hotel within walking distance of any down town attraction, Then no better than this Holiday Inn.
Everything from the Free Full Scots Breakfasts to the Lounge and the rooms is as close to perfect as I have ever experienced in a 1/2 century of Globe Trotting.

Room Tip: All rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Many thanks for your wonderful comments Albert M

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found everything up to scratch.

Hope you can manage back again soon.

Regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We had an overnight stay at this hotel and it was good value for money. It is in a good position near to the station.All areas in the hotel were spotlessly clean and our room was spacious and beds very comfortable.The staff were very helpful and both check in and check out were very quick.The complimentary breakfast is adequate.We would defiantly stay here again if we revisit Aberdeen again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments Brian T

It's great to see that you had an enjoyable stay and appreciated the efforts of our fantastic housekeeping team.

Look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
984 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition
0.3 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#3 of 65 in Aberdeen
743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Skene House Holburn
Skene House Holburn
#19 of 65 in Aberdeen
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Address: Chapel Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is situated in the West End of Aberdeen City Centre within easy walking distance of all the City Centre attractions. The hotel is only a stone's throw from Union Street and is ideally situated for your business or leisure stay. Holiday Inn Express is the common sense choice for the value-conscious traveller. All of our bedrooms boast a power shower, direct dial telephone and satellite TV channels. There's a bar in the hotel and many restaurants and pubs close by including the stylish new Albyn Restaurant & Bar just 5 minutes away. The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is the perfect base to explore Royal Deeside, The Whisky Trail, the many Castles or some of the North East's Championship Golf Courses. If you are travelling to Aberdeen on business, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel is located close to many large companies such as Shell, Exxon Mobil and BP. At the Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel we also have 2 superb air-conditioned meeting rooms with natural daylight which can accommodate up to 40 delegates theatre style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Express Aberdeen City Centre
Aberdeen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing