We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Very Central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Ranked #29 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a hen weekend, the staff were fantastic, they were friendly and helpful.

The rooms were clean and serviced each day and there were tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms.

The location was ideal, just a short walk from all the shops, pubs and clubs.

Breakfast was included it didn't have a huge selection but most people would find something to eat.

I would definitely come back, it was very reasonably priced.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank C10mmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Many thanks for your comments C10mmy

We're delighted you had a good stay at the hotel and appreciated the efforts of the staff.

Look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

My husband and I like to stay in small B&Bs and guest houses when traveling, but sometimes one wants the predictability and efficiency of a chain hotel. We stayed here only one night before leaving the country. The hotel met all our expectations. The room and bath were very efficiently laid out, the bed was super-comfortable and the wifi was free. The staff were helpful in checking our bags when we arrived early and the room was not ready; they also ordered taxis for us and gave us directions to sights. The breakfast area was large and comfortable and the food was fine. We were able to walk to most of the tourists sights from the hotel. We did not have a car, so parking was not an issue. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYorkCityJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review NewYorkCityJoan

It's great to see that the hotel lived-up to your expectations and that you found the staff welcoming and helpful.

Hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We booked this hotel on the basis of three "frees": internet, parking and breakfast. There are, in fact, very few parking spaces. When we could not find one, we were directed to paid parking down the street. When we balked, a chain was taken down to allow access to a spot at the back. At the desk the refrain is "RESTRICTED free parking", but that isn't good enough, not knowing for sure, and that wasn't what was advertised on the booking site. On the positive side, the location is great, the room was clean and in good condition, and the breakfast offered good variety and quality. The building itself has some noise from sound transfer through floors and walls.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lasbris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thanks for your comments lasbris

We're glad you enjoyed your stay despite the problem surrounding car parking. Unfortunately, there are literally thousands of 3rd party booking sites out on the internet over which we have no direct control. It is almost always these that provide inaccurate or incomplete information about our parking facilities. Whilst we do indeed have free parking at the hotel, as you rightly say, there are only a very limited number of spaces and we do our utmost to ensure that customers are aware of this.

On the positive side, the internet and breakfast are truly free of charge and not limited in any way!

Hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here this weekend 2 double rooms very clean hotel comfy beds and really nice staff. Location great for shopping everything within easy walking distance. Wil definitely stay here again as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back its quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank laney2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thanks for your kind comments laney2009

It's great to see that you had a pleasant stay with us and appreciated the central location.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed for three nights while visiting family. Hotel was very clean and well staffed. All staff were pleasant, polite and helpful. Breakfast was OK. Bar area is small but pleasant with competitive prices, particularly on the malt whisky deal of the week. Bedrooms are roomy and very clean with everything you could want. Bed was very soft and uncomfortable for those who like a firm mattress. Good choice of firm or soft pillows. Bathroom was very clean and well-stocked with toiletries. Shower was excellent. Room was hot but hotel staff used a key to open the window fully on request and also offered the use of fans if required. We were at the back of the hotel and heard very little outside noise but be warned that this hotel and Aberdeen itself is very popular with Hen Parties at weekends. My sister had a Hen Party next to her who were partying in their room throughout the evening. They were requested to be quieter by hotel staff but did not take any notice until asked a second time and then did calm down. Location at the top end of Union Street is good and is the preferred hotel of other family members when visiting Aberdeen.
I e-mailed the hotel before our stay to request 2 rooms near each other and my request was responded to straight away and granted.
Overall quite a good stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the rear of the hotel as it is quieter,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlanandTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Many thanks for your review AlanandTracey

We're delighted to see that you had an enjoyable visit to the hotel and that the staff looked after you. I agree that some of the beds are rather soft which is why we are currently in the process of replacing them all. We're also hopefully getting a refurbishment soon which should include the installation of air-conditioning.

Hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regads

Martin Thow
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just back from a weekend in Aberdeen, the hotel and staff were excellent! looked after our party of 8 with minimal fuss and with kind and excellent service. Nothing was a problem, would highly recommend and look forward to staying again. Thanks to all!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Many thanks for your comments Marc J

We're delighted you and your friends had a good weekend and the staff looked after you.

Hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed in the Holiday Inn Express on Saturday 12th July on a stag weekend. The rooms were well fitted and clean. Check-in was swift and friendly, the bar was not overpriced and the breakfast was good although bacon would have been nice!
This is a good hotel in the city centre just off Union Street, there is a club,karioke bar and casino on the next block (left out of the front door)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Admcck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Many thanks for your review Admcck

Glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay and found the staff to be friendly.

Hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Skene House Holburn
Skene House Holburn
#16 of 65 in Aberdeen
307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#15 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,019 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Aberdeen
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre

Address: Chapel Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £54 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is situated in the West End of Aberdeen City Centre within easy walking distance of all the City Centre attractions. The hotel is only a stone's throw from Union Street and is ideally situated for your business or leisure stay. Holiday Inn Express is the common sense choice for the value-conscious traveller. All of our bedrooms boast a power shower, direct dial telephone and satellite TV channels. There's a bar in the hotel and many restaurants and pubs close by including the stylish new Albyn Restaurant & Bar just 5 minutes away. The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is the perfect base to explore Royal Deeside, The Whisky Trail, the many Castles or some of the North East's Championship Golf Courses. If you are travelling to Aberdeen on business, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel is located close to many large companies such as Shell, Exxon Mobil and BP. At the Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel we also have 2 superb air-conditioned meeting rooms with natural daylight which can accommodate up to 40 delegates theatre style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Express Aberdeen City Centre
Aberdeen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing