We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't book this based on parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Ranked #26 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Don't book this based on parking”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My minimum requirements are parking (because of mobility issues) and gud if I can get WIFI and brekky. Wifi was fine - parking difficult at best - this is a reasonably large property and there is only about 8-10 places. I require a disabled place and whilst there are 2 - both were taken.. one left within minutes of me arriving and the other car didnt have a sticker or badge displayed .. so perhaps as ive seen on other feedback - these are used for able bodied people. Seems to be the 'sticking point' with this property.
Room was fine - standard HI express - neat clean - has everything - including the loo that almost appears to be in a cupboard but cleverly hidden behind the bathroom door (which doubles as door for the loo) .. shower is big and walk in - so perfect for my needs.
Location is great - its right in the middle of town - so great if you want to walk uptown
Breakfast was chaotic and as a solo traveller difficult to get a table and breakfast - as it was i had placed some cereal thinking that would show someone was using the table but some young girls just pushed them to one side .. of course that isnt the fault of the hotel
overall good value for money - and if parking isnt an issue - then this would be perfect

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thanks for your review SDDarwin

Parking is indeed very limited at the hotel but we are lucky to have a large multi-storey facility just 100 yards up the road. As you may have noticed, our 2 accessible parking spaces are kept locked and only available on request. There are occasions from time to time when guests genuinely need them but do not posess a blue badge and we happily make exceptions for this. It is also quite common for departing guests to fail to re-lock them when leaving and this can sometimes lead to able-bodied guests taking the space. Unfortunately we do not have the manpower to constantly monitor the car park.

Rest assured, we make every effort to ensure that those who really need the spaces are the only ones permitted access.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    319
    135
    33
    12
See reviews for
118
204
47
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Considering the price of hotels in Aberdeen this is a decent basic hotel. Its clean the staff are nice enough and its one of the cheaper places to book. I recommend booking in advance as hotel rooms book up fast if alot of oil workers stranded are in town due to bad flying conditions.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjr1416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Holiday Inn Express, Aberdeen is nicely located close to the centre of Aberdeen. The lobby and reception are staffed by well turned out courteous staff but ultimately the hotel feels like what it is - budget. The rooms are clean (though the carpet in mine had seen better days) with no frills, only complaint being the wafer thin walls meaning the traffic in the corridor and toilet habits of adjacent rooms are a bit too audible.
Bar area is functional rather than welcoming and same goes for breakfast area and parking is very limited
If you wanted something a bit special, then this isn't where you want to be but for a bed in a convenient location and polite, efficient service then it ticks all the boxes.

Room Tip: Arrive early to get a parking space and don't take the car out unless you really need to or you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjmoorhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thanks for your comments pjmoorhouse

I'm glad we met your needs and that you liked the central location. We are hopeful that a full refurbishment will be taking place soon and I am sure this will address your concerns with regard to the decor.

Hopefully once this is complete you will have the chance to come again and experience the difference.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This Holiday Inn Express is of a very high standard. The rooms are clean and very well appointed, with a great internet connection.

There was a lamp not working in may room and the staff ensured it was fixed by my second night (which shows me that the service is really good and works).

My only reason for a 4/5 is that the breakfast is somewhat weak for this type of hotel. Porridge would be a welcome addition.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenCKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thanks for a great review StephenCKendal

It's really good to see that you rated us so highly and that the small maintenance issue in your room was fixed so promptly.

I appreciate your concerns regarding breakfast and will ensure that this feedback is passed to the brand team who specify what the buffet contains.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I have stayed here before.

This was a business trip for two people in two rooms.

Reservation exactly as shown on confirmation. PLenty of information about parking and breakfast on check in.

Rooms are not air conditioned and windows do not open fully - shame as it was nice weather and would have been great to have the fresh air in.

I struggled with wifi and phone signal - but receptionist was super proactive - turned up at my room with a big long list of rooms to try - only too happy to help. We found a room - and she even ran down to get me a new key. This kind of care is much appreciated.

Bed great, bathroom great - was in a disabled room (as I had moved) great walk in shower, tv worked well, tea/coffee etc in room. Enough storage.

Breakfast - sausage and eggs, plus some cheese, yoghurts, not a great selection - no brown rolls, only one kind of fruit in fruit salad, but I was happy enough. If you need a big hearty start to the day - this is the not the place.

The hotel is a in good location - just off union street. Shops and places to eat nearby. Small car park at hotel - free of charge - we got in there on day 2 of 4 - and they allowed us to stay on a few extra hours after we checked out - very nice of them.

Would I stay here again - yes - I have stayed here before and am glad it is as comfortable and friendly as I remember.

Room Tip: 201 - great disabled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rugbysw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Many thanks for your review Rugbyw11

Apologies for the issue you found with the WiFi signal, we have now had our IT supplier check and rectify this for the room you were first allocated.

The breakfast is indeed a limited selection and as a brand, we are constantly reviewing this so thank you for your feedback. Please note however that we don't actually offer a fruit salad - the dish that you mentioned was the grapefruit segments.

We're delighted that you will consider us again in the future and hope that it is not too long before we see you back again.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armadale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a hen weekend, the staff were fantastic, they were friendly and helpful.

The rooms were clean and serviced each day and there were tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms.

The location was ideal, just a short walk from all the shops, pubs and clubs.

Breakfast was included it didn't have a huge selection but most people would find something to eat.

I would definitely come back, it was very reasonably priced.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank C10mmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Many thanks for your comments C10mmy

We're delighted you had a good stay at the hotel and appreciated the efforts of the staff.

Look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My husband and I like to stay in small B&Bs and guest houses when traveling, but sometimes one wants the predictability and efficiency of a chain hotel. We stayed here only one night before leaving the country. The hotel met all our expectations. The room and bath were very efficiently laid out, the bed was super-comfortable and the wifi was free. The staff were helpful in checking our bags when we arrived early and the room was not ready; they also ordered taxis for us and gave us directions to sights. The breakfast area was large and comfortable and the food was fine. We were able to walk to most of the tourists sights from the hotel. We did not have a car, so parking was not an issue. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkCityJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review NewYorkCityJoan

It's great to see that the hotel lived-up to your expectations and that you found the staff welcoming and helpful.

Hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
983 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition
0.3 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#3 of 65 in Aberdeen
742 reviews
0.2 mi away
Skene House Holburn
Skene House Holburn
#18 of 65 in Aberdeen
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Address: Chapel Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is situated in the West End of Aberdeen City Centre within easy walking distance of all the City Centre attractions. The hotel is only a stone's throw from Union Street and is ideally situated for your business or leisure stay. Holiday Inn Express is the common sense choice for the value-conscious traveller. All of our bedrooms boast a power shower, direct dial telephone and satellite TV channels. There's a bar in the hotel and many restaurants and pubs close by including the stylish new Albyn Restaurant & Bar just 5 minutes away. The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is the perfect base to explore Royal Deeside, The Whisky Trail, the many Castles or some of the North East's Championship Golf Courses. If you are travelling to Aberdeen on business, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel is located close to many large companies such as Shell, Exxon Mobil and BP. At the Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel we also have 2 superb air-conditioned meeting rooms with natural daylight which can accommodate up to 40 delegates theatre style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Express Aberdeen City Centre
Aberdeen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing