We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly - perfect for the business traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Ranked #25 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2009

I travel all over Scotland and am compiling a list of places to stay for future reference as well as for other travellers. I imagine there a lot of people like me who live out of a suitcase most of the week and go home at weekends. Therefore I feel I have a wide experience of hotels, guest houses and B&Bs. I shall endeavour to share my thoughts on trip advisor.

The Holiday Inn in central Aberdeen is perfect for people like me. It is clean, the staff very efficient and from observing them in action very patient with those visitors who have come to the wrong Holiday Inn! I am always treated like a VIP and also welcomed with a smile.

The rooms are always very clean and they are very functional with everything you could ever need. Tea, coffee, a hairdryer, and a TV with a good selection of channels. The desk in the bedroom is perfect for a laptop and the wifi is high speed.

Breakfast is self service and thank goodnes it is continental style selection and not the full fry up heart attack! It keeps me healthy!

There are so many restaurants in the area to choose from, Indian, Chinese, A chip shop and a excellent Italian not far from the hotel. All good quality and spoilt for choice.

I come back here often and it is a consistent quality.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimmyGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2009

This is 2nd time we have used this hol inn. we stayed for 2 nights, sat and sun, we arrived a couple of hours before check-in but our room was ready which was good. room clean, comfy bed, great power shower, big fluffy towels, good choice of food at bkfast. The sun shone while we were here which helped. plenty to do. walked to beach boulevard, takes about half hour, plenty eateries here. cinema-crazy golf-bowling-amusement arcades-funfair rides plus many more, also a cinema at opposite end of union street from holiday inn. Had a meal at THE JUSTICE MILL at end of road from hotel- cheap drinks but food was cold and dried up-wouldnt recommend it for food. staff at hotel extremely helpful too- would go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p19626295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

This is a very nice hotel, not too fancy in a central location. No necessity for restaurantat hotel, there are many hotels in the vicinity. I like the breakfast, selbst service, the coffee is not as good as Cafe Nero but it is ok.

I stay 2 nights and the room is very comfortable and I like the English TV very much. Nice cup of Englisch tea in the morning in the room, very nice. The bed is good but the room is too warm. The lady on reception tells me air conditioning will come next year.

Aberdeen is good for the shopping and the eating out. The Jimmy Chung restaurant not far from hotel is very very good.

I come back to Hotel Holiday Inn in future.

Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuntherKoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel over the weekend and found it to be a very friendly place. Staff at check-in and also the guys on duty overnight were all really pleasant and helped to create a nice atmosphere more like a small hotel than a chain. Breakfast was serve yourself continental (standard HIE option) and was included in our rate making this a good value stay.

Location is excellent for anyone who wants to visit the city centre area. Did not find it to be particularly noisy even though lots of the groups staying were on nights out.

The room was comfortable and clean. The sofa bed was not the most comfortable I have slept on so for a longer stay that might have been a problem. The hotel was pretty warm - it was a beautiful sunny weekend - so we had to keep the window in the room open all the time.

There's a small car park under the hotel, as well as on-street metered parking and a nearby mutli-storey so not a problem to find somewhere if you are driving.

All in all a good location for anyone visiting Aberdeen.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LothiansJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

Our second visit to this hotel. Check-in was smooth, efficient and friendly. Our room was reasonably clean (carpet desparately in need of hoovering) but well-equipped and comfortable (although the bed could be a bit wider!

Breakfast was typical Holiday Inn Express self-service continental breakfast, but eat as much as you like at whatever pace you like.

Staff are courteous, friendly and Duty Manager Jenny has a great sense of humour, despite working all hours during our stay.

Only two downsides:
The room service (cleaning & bed changing) appeared to be painfully slow and understaffed.
The 9p/minute internet access can be tempramental and operates inconsistantly.

One big improvement since our previous visit: No noise from queues of night-clubbing revellers in Chapel Street anymore, the taxi rank is closed at weekend nights and the revellers are now forced to queue in windy Union Street!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2009

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen as a base for exploring the whisky trail. It is what you'd expect from the chain, with clean, tidy rooms, a functional lobby bar and pleasant staff who were very familiar with the city.

The location was very good, being just off Union Street, which is the main street running through central Aberdeen. There was also a 24 hour bakery opposite, as well as the other usual bars, restaurants, Starbucks and the excellent value Jimmy Changs chinese buffet.

The only real negative point was a lack of parking (10 bays on a first come, first served basis isn't really a carpark), but there was a very large (and cheap) city carpark a short walk away. The lighting in the room was also a bit odd, with only freestanding lamps and no central lighting, meaning the room was always quite dark in the evenings.

A buffet breakfast is included, but it's only bread, pastries, fruit, yoghurt, cheese and spreads. We were expecting a full English or Scottish breakfast, but everything was of good quality nevertheless.

Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel as a base for exploring the beautiful countryside and distilleries.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CallumLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Stayed here for a weekend and can't fault it.

The staff are pleasant.
The room was clean and a good size.
So was the bathroom, I liked the shower.
The breakfast area is nice, they serve: cereal, pasteries, rolls, toast, grapefruit, yoghurt, juices and hot drinks.
The location is good, easy to find and not too far walking distance from the train station.
The price was good at £50 a night.

It was nicer than other budget hotels I've stayed with and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank purplerose239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,093 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#15 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.2 mi away
Skene House Holburn
Skene House Holburn
#16 of 65 in Aberdeen
304 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre

Address: Chapel Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £55 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is situated in the West End of Aberdeen City Centre within easy walking distance of all the City Centre attractions. The hotel is only a stone's throw from Union Street and is ideally situated for your business or leisure stay. Holiday Inn Express is the common sense choice for the value-conscious traveller. All of our bedrooms boast a power shower, direct dial telephone and satellite TV channels. There's a bar in the hotel and many restaurants and pubs close by including the stylish new Albyn Restaurant & Bar just 5 minutes away. The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is the perfect base to explore Royal Deeside, The Whisky Trail, the many Castles or some of the North East's Championship Golf Courses. If you are travelling to Aberdeen on business, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel is located close to many large companies such as Shell, Exxon Mobil and BP. At the Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel we also have 2 superb air-conditioned meeting rooms with natural daylight which can accommodate up to 40 delegates theatre style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Express Aberdeen City Centre
Aberdeen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing