We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5-Star + Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Cupar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5-Star + Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Hotel doesn't look much from the outside but looks are decieving in this case. Hotel, staff & rooms are excellent - worth going just for the excellent breakfast in the Brasserie. The food in the restaurant is also excellent but this room has less ambiance and it is a mistake having it open-plan with the foyer especially if there is a prom on or similar -can be noisy. Leisure facilities are also excellent - only bugbear is being told that under 12s can't use the sauna & steam room whereas all the signage says no under 8s - confuses the kids and should be made less ambigous. Will be back in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonhh324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Jonhh324,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Thistle Hotel Aberdeen Altens and for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted you an enjoyable stay and I appreciate the constructive feedback you have supplied. Your points have been shared with the team and we will use them to further improve!

It's great to hear you will be returning in the future! Myself and the team look forward to seeing you soon!

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    372
    113
    45
    21
See reviews for
243
365
31
294
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

16 of us came to Aberdeen for a 2 night hen weekend and stayed at the Thistle Aberdeen Altens. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, staff very helpful, rooms a really good sze and clean, breakfast was massive !!! The staff went out of their way to make our stay very stress free and enjoyable, easy to get a taxi into town. We loved the tribute night on the saturday, cheesy "Take That", just our scene!! Hope to be back in the Granite City,and would definitely stay here again. Excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hazel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Hazel M,

Thank you for choosing Thistle Altens for your hen weekend, I'm delighted to hear you and your friends had an enjoyable stay with us and the team took good care of you

I hope we get to see you again soon, keep an eye out for our upcoming tribute nights!

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

The Hotel is exceptionally clean and tidy. The staff can’t do enough for you, always available to assist. I would like to express my deepest thanks and gratitude to Laura, who works in reception. She was extremely professional and kind with an enormous personality which shows the Thistle Hotel off in its best light. Her attention to detail sets her apart from her counterparts. Nothing appears to be too much trouble and she is always willing to give that little bit extra to ensure the job is completed without compromise. Anyone thinking of spending time in this hotel regardless of business or pleasure wont regret it, thank you for making my stay so nice. I give you all A ++++++++++++

Thanking you all very kindly

Mr S M Lanzon

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SIMON L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Mr Lanzon,

Thank you for such a nice review! I am very proud indeed of the team we have at Thistle Altens so it is great when they get recognised by our valued guests. Your feedback was spotted by our CEO who personally thanked Laura for the excellent service she provides. We are very lucky to have her as part of our team!

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

I've been in similar hotels before in Aberdeen that were ok, but I stayed in this hotel for 8 weeks and could not find a fault anywhere. All the staff are extremely friendly, polite and professional, from the girls in reception to the restaurant/bar staff - always making you feel welcome. The room quality/cleanliness was done to a high standard and the facilities were excellent. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is wanting a pleasant stay in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Matthew H,

Thank you very much indeed for such a great review! I am delighted to read you enjoyed your 8 week stay with us and could not find fault anywhere, we really couldn't ask for better feedback than that! Your kind comments about the team will be greatly appreciated when I share your review with them.

We all hope you will choose Thistle Altens the next time you are in Aberdeen.

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

Good location which is ideal for access to Alten Estate. As you would expect a lot of rig workers mid week. Big hotel with good facilities.
Service good.
Rooms clean and a good size with comfortable beds.
Free parking which is a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear pauwed,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Thistle Altens and for taking the time to write a review.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we get to welcome you back soon

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Myself and daughters stayed in the hotel on the 8th June 2013, the hotel on the outside is not particularly appealing,but the minute you walk into reception it's is fabulous.
All staff are extremely polite and helpful, the rooms are very nice and comfortable, the food was excellent.
And as for the facilities such as the gym and pool were first class, would highly recommend staying at this hotel.




Se

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Carol A,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay here with us at Thistle Hotel Aberdeen Altens. It's great to hear you and your daughters had a fantastic stay and would recommend the hotel.

I will share your kind comments with the team and we all hope we get to welcome you back the next time you are visiting the area.

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Unusually for Aberdeen the hotel is staffed by friendly staff who actually make you feel welcome. I have stayed at this hotel half a dozen times during the past 6 months and each time I have felt very happy with the accommodation and service. The gym is well-equipped, the breakfast is excellent, even though the hotel is quite old now it doesn't show as the decor, facilities and general upkeep is first class. I can't comment on value for money as the company paid each time. The food is a standard Thistle menu but is excellently presented and delicious. The only downside is the distance from the airport and town centre (£20 in a taxi from the airport) but otherwise an excellent stay. Hoping the company will put me in there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrInfinity001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear PeterWWW,

Thank you for staying at Thistle Hotel Aberdeen Altens and for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted to read that each one of your stays with us has been good and the team has taken good care of you. I will share your kind comments with the them, which I'm sure they will appreciate.

We invest a great deal of time and money to keep the hotel looking clean and fresh so it's really rewarding to have this acknowledged by our valued guests.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
2.9 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aberdeen Altens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aberdeen Altens Hotel

Property: The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Address: Souter Head Road, Aberdeen AB12 3LF, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Aberdeen Altens)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#5 Best Value Hotel in Aberdeen
#8 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#11 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Aberdeen Altens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Aberdeen Altens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Aberdeen Altens Hotel Aberdeen
Thistle Hotel Aberdeen
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing