We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$106
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ibis Aberdeen Centre(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn(Aberdeen)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Palm Court Hotel(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skene House Rosemount(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Aberdeen West(Westhill)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,815)
Filter reviews
1,815 results
Traveller rating
922
615
182
61
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
922
615
182
61
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centreleisure facilitiesan industrial estateswimming poolsteam roomthistle hoteltwo double bedslovely hotelleisure clubshort breakgood sizelovely rooman upgradeexcellent value for moneypleasant stayexcellent staywould stay again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,430 - 1,435 of 1,815 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed a Friday/Saturday at an excellent rate, when in town for the football, having travelled up from Edinburgh by car to watch Aberdeen fc win.

The double deluxe room, which was upgraded to an executive on arrival, was lovely and spacious as there were 3 of us and a guide dog. Room was spotlessly clean with bathrobes, slippers, and toiletries supplied.

There was plenty free parking as the hotel is mostly catering for oilworkers through the week.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

The pool was quite busy on Sunday morning at 8am, which surprised me, and there was no deep end, all one depth. We also used the spa, the steam room and the sauna.

Will defintely stay again in the future.

Room Tip: double deluxe room, 2 double beds, very spacious. ideal for families
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank scottishlassie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear scottishlassie64,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Thistle Hotel Aberdeen Altens and for the 5 star review! I'm delighted to read you had a relaxing weekend with us and it's great to hear you will be returning in the future.


Regards

Kris Manship
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed for four nights, rooms were clean and comfortable. We've got a room on the ground floor looking out to a Burger king restaurant and a busy road. I tried to relax at the pool one afternoon but it wasn't possible, they only had to uncomfortable chairs there.
The restaurant and bar are nice and breakfast was great with very friendly service. We asked at the reception if they please could help us to find a rental car, the young lady at reception offered to call us and let us know. She never did. She also asked us if we want a newspaper in the morning. Because we are not from the UK we kindly asked what newspaper are on offer. The answer was: Many. For a holiday it's to far from the city centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anleeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Anleeb,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, I'm pleased to hear you found your room clean and comfortable and the team took good care of you.

Hope we'll get to welcome you back the next time you're in Aberdeen.

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I went to this hotel in the summer with my wife and friends. We shared one room with two big double beds. This is a nice hotel with nice resturant, gym and swimming pool. I will recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank NoisyMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear NoisyMartin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at Thistle Hotel Aberdeen Altens. It's great to hear you and your family enjoyed your time with us and we really appreciate the recommendation!

Hope we get the chance to welcome you back in the near future

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Arrived at reception met with smiling friendly faces. This attitude continued all through our stay. The lady at pool and staff at breakfast couldnt do enough to help us and kids. Beautiful rooms and spotless. Eating was lovely plenty of choice and good portions. Wasnt bothered with noise or adjoining rooms a very pleasant relaxing break. Bring on the next one!

Room Tip: Search online for deals but go for a delux room minimum
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Steven C,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Thistle Hotel Aberdeen Altens and for the fantastic 5 star review! I'm pleased to read you had a relaxing break with us and the team took good care of you and your family.

I'll be sure to share your kind comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Modern hotel. Room was well designed, comfortable and spotless. Family friendly. Staff were welcoming and helpful. Pool was clean and nice size. Restaurant, leisure and reception staff very friendly. Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank kath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear kath C,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Thistle Hotel Aberdeen Altens and for the great 5 star review! It's great to read you and your family had a lovely stay with us and the team took good care of you.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews