We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They have cut back but didn't put us off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Stirlingshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“They have cut back but didn't put us off”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My husband and I have booked this hotel many a time and love it. We were upgraded on check-in to a deluxe king room but the room itself wasn't as nice as the double rooms. Fab with the king bed but the wardrobe was tiny and a huge gap beside it whereas the double rooms have the wardrobes the full length right to the door. They have stopped the small things we liked such as the dressing gowns and slippers and some of the luxury toiletries too. The shower was good but not the hottest. Enjoyed the pool, sauna and jacuzzi. Bus into town every 10-15 minutes just across the road and drops you right off at Union Street (bus number 3) and every half hour on a Sunday. Will still come back as we really like this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lurv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear lurv2travel,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and for taking the time to write review. It's great to hear you love the hotel!

Your booking was made for a Standard Double room and you were upgraded to a Deluxe King room, which doesn't offer the extras you mentioned. Our Executive Rooms offer luxury toiletries, dressing gowns ,complimentary water etc. and it has always been this way. The various extras offered with each room type are detailed on our website and we also offer 360 degree virtual tours of each room type so you can ensure you book the room that best suits your needs.

I can personally assure you we haven’t made any cut backs at all, quite the opposite in fact! We're about to spend another £330,000 refurbishing another chunk of bedrooms. This will take the amount we have invested recently to just over £5.5 million, so as you can see there are definitely no cut backs.

I'm pleased to hear you will be returning in the future, please contact me directly so I can personally ensure we allocate you your favourite room. My email is kris.manship@thistle.co.uk

Look forward to seeing you soon!

Regards

Kris Manship
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    385
    116
    46
    21
See reviews for
246
378
32
297
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We'll guys I'm back again and love our stay. Stayed in the hotel for the dirty dancing tribute night and again absolutly fantastic night from start to finish. Meal was perfect and staff were very organised and quick. Couldn't fault a thing. Had a ball. From the minute we arrived at check In all the girls were helpful and with been to so many of the tribute night I'm beginning to know the staff which good, it makes such difference. Rooms were absolutly spotless n clean and so much room. When booking the tribute nights and overnight stay the event team (pat) can't help you enough. I'm looking forward to another fantastic tribute night....roll on next year. Also we had our little boy staying to and the staff can't do enough to help eg. Travel cots.
Piper Kelly Allan & Alfie xx

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelz26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Kelz26,

Thank you for choosing to return to Thistle Hotel Aberdeen Altens and for the excellent review! We really appreciate it. I'm delighted to hear you had a fantastic night at the Dirty Dancing Tribute Night, I will share your kind comments with the team, in particular Pat who does an outstanding job organising these events.

Next year's tribute nights are now up on our Facebook page so hope to see you at one in the near future

Thanks again for providing such a great review!

Regards

Kris Manship
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

...got a really cheap deal direct from their own website which was cheaper than the likes of booking.com and late rooms.com, our whole party were upgraded too which was a bonus. Check-In was quick and efficient with friendly staff. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable once the heating that we had switched on earlier in the evening was switched off. Breakfast was self service but plentiful, the only slight negative was having to ask the staff for a pot of coffee, rather than the other way round. After breakfast we visited the swimming / jacuzzi pools, sauna and steam room which were adequate for our needs. Altogether a pleasant stay and if we visit Aberdeen any time soon we will certainly think about staying at the Thistle Altens again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GIW1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear GIW1970,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Thistle Hotel Aberdeen Altens and for finding the time to write a review. I'm delighted to read you and your party had a great weekend with us and the complimentary upgrades were well received!

I appreciate you highlighting that our own website always offers the cheapest rates guaranteed! If we can offer complimentary upgrades we always give priority to those who have booked direct.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Regards

Kris Manship
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I stayed overnight in this hotel with my husband and 2 children.The spacious room with 2 big double beds as well as the gym and swimming pool facilities made our stay really enjoyable.There is also a restaurant in the hotel which is very convenient for meals.The next day we spent time exploring the city of Aberdeen and this hotel is in a convenient location for doing this.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Traveller732013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Traveller732013,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and for the 5 star endorsement! It's great to read you and your family enjoyed the facilities at the hotel.

I hope we get to welcome you all back the next time you are visiting Aberdeen.

Regards

Kris Manship
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed a Friday/Saturday at an excellent rate, when in town for the football, having travelled up from Edinburgh by car to watch Aberdeen fc win.

The double deluxe room, which was upgraded to an executive on arrival, was lovely and spacious as there were 3 of us and a guide dog. Room was spotlessly clean with bathrobes, slippers, and toiletries supplied.

There was plenty free parking as the hotel is mostly catering for oilworkers through the week.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

The pool was quite busy on Sunday morning at 8am, which surprised me, and there was no deep end, all one depth. We also used the spa, the steam room and the sauna.

Will defintely stay again in the future.

Room Tip: double deluxe room, 2 double beds, very spacious. ideal for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank scottishlassie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear scottishlassie64,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Thistle Hotel Aberdeen Altens and for the 5 star review! I'm delighted to read you had a relaxing weekend with us and it's great to hear you will be returning in the future.


Regards

Kris Manship
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constanta, Romania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed for four nights, rooms were clean and comfortable. We've got a room on the ground floor looking out to a Burger king restaurant and a busy road. I tried to relax at the pool one afternoon but it wasn't possible, they only had to uncomfortable chairs there.
The restaurant and bar are nice and breakfast was great with very friendly service. We asked at the reception if they please could help us to find a rental car, the young lady at reception offered to call us and let us know. She never did. She also asked us if we want a newspaper in the morning. Because we are not from the UK we kindly asked what newspaper are on offer. The answer was: Many. For a holiday it's to far from the city centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anleeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Anleeb,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, I'm pleased to hear you found your room clean and comfortable and the team took good care of you.

Hope we'll get to welcome you back the next time you're in Aberdeen.

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I went to this hotel in the summer with my wife and friends. We shared one room with two big double beds. This is a nice hotel with nice resturant, gym and swimming pool. I will recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NoisyMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear NoisyMartin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at Thistle Hotel Aberdeen Altens. It's great to hear you and your family enjoyed your time with us and we really appreciate the recommendation!

Hope we get the chance to welcome you back in the near future

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
2.9 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aberdeen Altens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aberdeen Altens Hotel

Property: The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Address: Souter Head Road, Aberdeen AB12 3LF, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Aberdeen Altens)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#5 Best Value Hotel in Aberdeen
#8 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#11 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Aberdeen Altens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Aberdeen Altens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Aberdeen Altens Hotel Aberdeen
Thistle Hotel Aberdeen
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing