We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by its cover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Ranked #4 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Loved my short stay staff great rooms good food excellent,the arranged excursion was perfectly organised and run very smoothly and wouldn't hesitate in future to similar arranged trips thanks Derek Grant

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerekGra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear DerekGra,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Thistle Hotel Aberdeen Altens and for sharing a review. I am really pleased to hear your stay and excursion went smoothly and the facilities exceeded your expectations.

I will share your review with the team and hopefully we'll get the opportunity to welcome you back soon

Regards

Kris Manship
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,323 - 1,329 of 1,726 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent New Year at Thistle Hotel Altens Aberdeen and thoroughly enjoyed our night with great music by 5th Avenue , superb dinner , comfy bed and the best breakfast ever.
We live locally but enjoy going to the Hotel in the afternoon and relaxing.
For holidaymakers it is ideal because the bus stop is nearby and the bus takes you right into the heart of the city.

Room Tip: We had room 106 on the ground floor which suited us as we were only there for one night and not fuss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

“Hogmany Gala”

Dear Anne G,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate Hogmanay with us, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay, in particular the band, dinner and comfy bed!

We've re-booked the 5th Avenue Band for this year's Hogmanay Gala and we're already working to make it bigger and better than this year.

Thanks again for the review, I will make sure the team read your kind comments.

Look forward to seeing you soon

Regards

Kris Manship
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Cannot fault the staff or hotel, excellent service all round. Hotel was very busy but staff were more than capable of coping at breakfast, excellent choices. Hotel kept our luggage on 1st jan until we could collect. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 000186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear 000186487,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us gain and for the great review! We really appreciate you finding the time to share your feedback.

Myself and the team hope we get the chance to welcome you back soon

Regards

Kris Manship
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

we booked the thistle hotel altens for hogmanay night as the deal included return travel to the stonehaven hogmanay night + free breakfast on new years day.we had a meal on new years eve also which was very nice and good value for money,during our stay the staff were excellent + very
friendly,we had a great night at stonehaven topped off by the popular band simple minds,on new years day checkout was extended to 2 pm + you could have your breakfast up until 1 pm,well done to the hotel for doing that,also a very good choice for breakfast which was very tasty !! our double room was very clean and spacious,a very enjoyable hogmanay !! would defo recommend + come back to this hotel !! superb !!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mark a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear mark a,

Thanks for choosing to stay at Thistle Hotel Aberdeen Altens and for the 5 star review! I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed the Stonehaven Package and the hotel facilities, in particular your room and breakfast. I will share you kind comments with the team.

Hopefully we'll get to welcome you back for this year's Hogmanay celebrations too.

Regards

Kris Manship
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed in Aberdeen as this hotel was offering a package deal with a Simple Minds gig at Stonehaven to see in 2014. We decided to extend our stay with a day before and after the gig too. Have to say the hotel was wonderful, we were upgraded free of charge to an executive double - the bed was massive! Hotel was clean, tidy and the staff just could not do enough for us. Would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting to stay in the Aberdeen area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Julia D,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing such a fantastic review! It's great to read you found the hotel "wonderful" and enjoyed the Stonehaven Package we put on.

We're just finalising next year's package so stay tuned for more details.

Thanks again for the feedback and for the recommendation, its greatly appreciated!

Happy New Year from myself and the team

Regards

Kris Manship
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

One of the best Hogmanay nights we have had in a hotel anywhere at this time of year. From the moment we checked in till the time we checked out the staff could not do enough for you. They even willingly provided buckets of ice for our champagne. The five course meal, the service, the pleasant friendly well trained staff, add to that a brilliant band that played throughout the night until nearly 2am. The dance floor was never empty. In the morning a swim in the hotel pool followed by a late leisurely breakfast and checkout by 2pm.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aberdeenvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Aberdeenvoyager,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate Hogmanay at Thistle Hotel Aberdeen Altens and for sharing such a fantastic review! I am so pleased to hear it was one of the best Hogmanay nights you have had and I will be sure to share you kind comments with the team as it is their hard work that made the night such a success.

We have booked the 5th Avenue Band again for next year's celebrations so hopefully we'll get to see you again

Happy New Year from myself and the team

Regards

Kris Manship
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed here Hogmanay night great atmosphere Had dinner in restaurant good choice of meals breakfast was served till 13.00 check out was extended till 14.00 Excellent serves from all staff would definatly stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Theresa S,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate Hogmanay with us and for the 5 star review! I'm delighted to read you had a great night and the team took good care of you. I will make sure they ready your kind comments and I hope you will think of us for next Hogmanay's celebrations.

Happy New Year from myself and the team

Regards

Kris Manship
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
2.6 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
925 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Aberdeen West
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aberdeen Altens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aberdeen Altens Hotel

Address: Souter Head Road, Aberdeen AB12 3LF, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Aberdeen Altens)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#3 Best Value Hotel in Aberdeen
#7 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#11 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £37 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Aberdeen Altens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Aberdeen Altens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Aberdeen Altens Hotel Aberdeen
Thistle Hotel Aberdeen
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing