We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value at weekends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value at weekends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Nice enough hotel inside but looks awful from outside. Large clean room. We got a free upgrade which was appreciated. Dinner in the dining room was ok. Nothing special but breakfast was disappointing. The coffee, which was delivered to the table in a nice coffee pot was only luke warm. We tried to get the attention of the waitress a couple of times but in the end gave up as the cooked breakfast was also now going cold. We got bed and breakfast for the two of us for £75 on a Friday night which was good value but the dining experience was only average.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Seamus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyStephenson, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Seamus B

Thank you for your feedback review, following your stay with us at Thistle Aberdeen Altens.

I was disappointed to read that you were not entirely satified during your stay with us and found our breakfast to be disappointing. As you can see from previous comments, our breakfast does normally receive rave reviews. I am sorry that we let you down on this occasion.

On a more positive note, thank you for the kind comments with regards to the cleanliness of our rooms. I am happy that you enjoyed the comfort and size of one of our executive bedrooms.

I do hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards

Vicky Stephenson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    372
    113
    45
    21
See reviews for
243
365
31
294
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Excellent location,top marks for reception staff,very very helpful,rooms spotless and an excellent sleep,food very well presented and excellent value,the perfect place for any stay,car parking ample and an easy walk to hotel,

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyStephenson, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Dear Stuart185

Thank you for your five star feedback review, following your stay with us at Thistle Aberdeen Altens.

It is great to read that you found us to be the perfect place to stay, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Vicky Stephenson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel on the outskirts of the city is a brilliant wee find. Some of the midweek deals on room rates are outstanding.

I've stayed here on a number of occasions while working in Aberdeen throughout the year and I'm always impressed with the rooms, the rates and the fitness/wellness facilities.

It's hard to find a hotel in this price range with such an extensive gym and spa/sauna setup.

The pool is decent but a little small, (maybe 10m), the steam room and sauna are great. The gym has a lot of equipment and more importantly a lot of space for exercise/yoga/stretching.

I've never eaten in the restaurant so I can't comment on the evening meal situation. I do however make a point of NEVER missing a breakfast. This has never been more of a blessing than here. The selection of breakfast foods in the hotel are a joy to explore.

I've always been impressed with the freshness and abundance of fayre in the morning.

Whether on business or with your partner this hotel is a great choice for a night away.

Plus, you can always treat yourself to a big breakfast in the knowledge you've just nailed 150 lengths in the pool after waking up... :)

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stavapalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyStephenson, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Dear Stavapalooza

Thank you for "fantastic" five star review, following your stay with us at Thistle Aberdeen Altens.

What a great review, thank you!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Vicky Stephenson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I spent 4 nights in the Altens Thistle as I was on business nearby. My comments as follows :

Looks fairly awful from the outside (resembling an open prison block)
Rooms clean and comfortable but decor in my room which had not been refurbished looking rather dated with predominant themes of floweriness and gold
Restaurant food was nothing special but decent enough, primarily pub grub style (burgers, fish & chips, steaks etc.)
No air conditioning in the room (found it too warm)
Close to industrial estates (this may be a plus for you)
Pool (about 15m) quite good for a dip but changing areas looking a bit shabby
Close to number 3 bus stop to bring you into city centre (around 20 minutes ride)
Generally a bit soulless - lot of (oil business) solo males stay here due to proximity to oil related offices

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swiss_Roller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Hotel a short drive from the center and is quiet, relaxed and friendly. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Spa is nice with small pool however families with children using this make it impossible to have an enjoyable swim, not really the hotels fault but I don't understand parents who allow older children to throw floats etc into the pool just missing other users. I had to leave the pool early due to this. Bar was relaxing but breakfast items were cold, bacon specially. Would use in future but would possibly order something that was not out on breakfast buffet to ensure hot.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn-e-2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyStephenson, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Lynn-e-2011

Thank you for your feedback, following your stay with us at Thistle Aberdeen Altens.

I was happy to see that you found our hotel to be clean and comfortable, with a relaxed and friendly feel.

Please accept my apologies for the items on the breakfast buffet not being to the correct temperature. As you will see from previous reviews, this is out of the ordinary. I have passed your comments onto our Head Chef to address.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle Aberdeen Altens in the near future.

Kind regards

Vicky Stephenson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

stayed at this hotel last year while attending a football game, and as we were going back to Aberdeen for the weekend for my husbands birthday had no hesitation in staying here again. We were given an upgrade room which was beautiful, very large with leather reclining chairs .Breakfast was served in a very pleasant room and there was a great choice of hot & cold food. Staff were very pleasant and professional at their job. No. 3 bus which stopped just along the road took us into the city centre in no time. Next time in Aberdeen - will certainly be back to this hotel. Thank you for an enjoyable weekend .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyStephenson, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Roman12

Thank you for your five star review, following your stay with us at Thistle Aberdeen Altens.

I was happy to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, in particular your complimentary upgrade to one of our Executive rooms and the comfort of our recling chairs.

We believe that breakfast is the "most important meal of the day". Thank you for your comments with regards to our offering, it is great to read that you enjoyed the choice of hot and cold foods we have on offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle Aberdeen Altens in the future.

Kind regards

Vicky Stephenson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had booked the hotel on a room only price , I had booked a double room but I think we ended up with a suite, which was a real bonus. Hotel is out of Aberdeen and you would have to get a taxi or drive if you were going to something in town. We did use the pool, the attendant was a bit "dour" and didnt make you feel welcome . Dining room was busy for breakfast, we hadn't booked in advance but this was no problem. Check in and out was very easy and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again, hopefully for longr the next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 86MoiraS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyStephenson, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear 86MoiraS

Thank you for your five star review, following your stay with us at Thistle Aberdeen Altens.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and that you appreciated your complimentary upgrade.

Please accept my apologies for the "dour" welcome to our leisure facilities. Please be assured this is not our normal high level of customer service. I have passed your comments onto our Leisure Club Manager and asked that she address.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle Aberdeen Altens for your extended break in the future.

Kind regards

Vicky Stephenson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
2.9 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aberdeen Altens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aberdeen Altens Hotel

Property: The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Address: Souter Head Road, Aberdeen AB12 3LF, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Aberdeen Altens)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#5 Best Value Hotel in Aberdeen
#8 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#11 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Aberdeen Altens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Aberdeen Altens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Aberdeen Altens Hotel Aberdeen
Thistle Hotel Aberdeen
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing