We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay on the outskirts of Aberdeen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Ranked #4 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Travelling up from Edinburgh this is an easy hotel to find on the outskirts of Aberdeen. Loads of free parking,well presented reception area. We booked a family room with 2 double beds on the second floor and the room was absolutely fine. More spacious than some rooms I have stayed in. Bathroom basic but adequate. Lovely soft white towels supplied. We used the leisure facilities. The pool was small and there was a jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, and tiny kids pool. The changing rooms were ok but they could have been cleaner though we were there at the end of the day so maybe they were cleaned overnight. I didn't use the gym but it looked well kitted out in a bright room. Breakfast was included which was perfect, a traditional Scottish breakfast laid out as a buffet.

I would definitely stay there again as it was good value, ideally located and easy to find.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyStephenson, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Dear Jane23_13

Thank you for your feedback, following your stay with us at Thistle Aberdeen Altens.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed the benefits of our out of town location; easy to find with ample free parking.

It is good to see that your family found their room spacious and enjoyed the use of the leisure facilities in Otium leisure club.

Our Chef was happy to read your comments with regards to our perfect breakfast offering. It is important to us that we cater for all needs, in particular our weekend family guests.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards

Vicky Stephenson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,725)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,263 - 1,269 of 1,726 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We, as a family of four stay here on a regular basis. It's excellent location takes you away from the hustle and bustle but yet you are only 10 minutes from the centre of Aberdeen on the bus. We park up on a Friday and just jump on the bus into the town. The hotel is immaculate, food is delicious, service is excellent and staff are always exceptional. The pool area is sufficient and is definitely worth using. I would 100% recommend this hotel for anyone. A big thank you to the Thistle Altens for always making our stay so enjoyeable.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smalliesontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyStephenson, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Dear Smalliesontour

Thank you for your five star review, following your stay with us at Thistle Aberdeen Altens. Thank you also, for giving us five out of five in all scoring categories. It is great to read that you stay with us on a regular basis and give us 100% recommendation - thank you!

I was delighted to read how much your family enjoy their time with us, and that you find our hotel to be immaculate, food delicious and our staff exceptional.

It is also great to see that you take full advantage of our excellent location for families. We are a short distance from the centre of Aberdeen, however you are right, there are great regular bus links into town and with our ample car park, this takes the worry of parking over the weekend away.

Thank you once again for a glowing review. We look forward to your family's next visit.

Kind regards

Vicky Stephenson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

I've been here by a week and it has been awesome, so quit, good service and beautiful places around to visit.
It's so near to downtown and there's practical buses to take and move to castles and every beautiful place you want to go.
I been here for business and finally was so fun.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Payo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyStephenson, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Dear Payo W

Thank you for your feedback, following your week long stay with us at Thistle Aberdeen Altens.

It is great to read that you found our location perfect for getting into Aberdeen city centre and visiting local attractions.

I was also glad to read that you found the service at our hotel to be good, and the rooms quiet to ensure a great nights sleep.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us when you are next in the area.

Kind regards

Vicky Stephenson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Deluxe family room on second floor, with access to lift, comfortable beds and clean room. Swimming pool is fine for a leisurely swim. Buffet breakfast with a good choice. All staff friendly. Plenty of parking. Will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sherrel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyStephenson, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Dear Sherrel H

Thank you for your five star review, following your stay with us at Thistle Aberdeen Altens. Additional thanks for 5 out of 5 scores for all categories, we are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

It was great to read that you found our beds to be comfortable and our rooms clean. Our staff thank you for your comments with regards to their friendliness and Chef and his team are really happy to see that you found our breakfast to be a good offering.

We look forward to welcoming your family back in the future.

Kind regards

Vicky Stephenson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and two young daughters spent a couple of nights at this hotel. Have to say it does not look great from outside but very pleasant inside. We were upgraded to better rooms upon our stay which was a pleasant surprise. Rooms lovely well spaced out. Car parking was great. We did not eat meals in this hotel as kids are very fussy eaters but found a great place two mins along the road where food was excellent. Breakfast was really good no complaints there. Plenty to choose from. Dining area was pleasant. Swimming pool was good we went in early morning with girls and it was pleasant, sauna enjoyed by hubby and daughter. We will return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyStephenson, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Dear Angela P

Thank you for your five star feedback, following your family's stay with us at Thistle Aberdeen Altens.

It is great to read that your family enjoyed their time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay.

Kind regards

Vicky Stephenson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

There were five of us stayed here last weekend for a joint celebration - my grandson's 13th birthday and my retirement - what a dreadful experience! The rooms, which were mixed up, were good and the pool area was better than expected, but the dining experience was wors than anything I have ever experienced anywhere. We placed our order and then waited a full hour to be served after complaining to the assistant manager, who informed us that the kitchen had missplaced the check!!! When the food eventually arrived, my steak was greasy and so tough I could hardly chew it. My 13 year old grandson had ordered 'mushroom carbonera' which arrived devoid of any sauce but covered in spring onions! a first for this dish, I am reliably informed. There were left over meals on several tables, one of which took 1hr 20mins to be cleared!!! The staff just kept walking past them and had to be instructed to clear them by a very busy Assistant Manager. The bill for this travesty was cancelled along with the room service bill which was incurred due to the fact that two of us hadn't really eaten.
Breakfast was, at least pretty fair although the coffee was only luke warm - and no hot milk. Needless to say we ate out the second night and thoroughly enjoyed our meals!!!! This is not a hotel I would recommend to anyone and certainly won't be going back to.

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyStephenson, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear John K

Thank you for your feedback, following your stay with us at Thistle Aberdeen Altens.

I was disappointed to read that you were not entirely satisfied during your time with us, especially given you were celebrating two family milestone events.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your evening meal. We often receive very positive comments regarding the standard of food and the service offered, both in person and via recent reviews on Tripadvisor. Please accept my apologies that we did not live up to our normal high standard on this occasion.

We have recently recruited some seasonal employees. We are currently in the process of carrying out training with the new team members which I believe may have been the reason for the service not being our usual high standard. I am sure that you will see from recent Tripadvisor reviews that the service regularly receives very positive comments from our guests.

Thank you once again for your review and I hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future should you return to Aberdeen.

Kind regards

Vicky Stephenson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Nice hotel. On the outskirts of city centre in a quiet area, really accesible on car and bus stop just outside hotel. Big parking. Spotless rooms and confortable beds. Free wifi in every room. Very helpfull staff. Espectacular breakfast and very complete. We enjoyed our stay there.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank josercos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyStephenson, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Dear Josercos

Thank you for your feedback, following your family's stay with us at Thistle Aberdeen Altens.

I was delighted that your family enjoyed their time with us, we look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay soon.

Kind regards

Vicky Stephenson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
2.6 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
921 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Aberdeen West
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aberdeen Altens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aberdeen Altens Hotel

Address: Souter Head Road, Aberdeen AB12 3LF, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Aberdeen Altens)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#3 Best Value Hotel in Aberdeen
#7 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#11 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £36 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Aberdeen Altens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Aberdeen Altens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Aberdeen Altens Hotel Aberdeen
Thistle Hotel Aberdeen
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing