We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good for business travellers”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Good hotel if you're saying that side of town. It's located on an industrial estate to the south of the city so if you need to be in the Altens area it's ideal. It's not too far from the city centre but you'll need a car as there's nothing in the immediate vicinity apart from a petrol station and a Birger King. Room was spacious and comfortable with a distant glimpse of the sea. It was nice and quiet too which is always a bonus. Breakfast was good, too. Special mention goes to the parking which was free and plentiful. Would definitely stay here again. One top for Aberdeen in general is not to underestimate the time needed to get from the airport to your final destination. There's no ring road so the journey to the centre can take well over an hour at busy times.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyStephenson, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Dear M T

Thank you for your feedback, following your stay with us at Thistle Aberdeen Altens.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room to be spacious and comfortable; and could see the sea in the distance! Also great to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel with ample parking and away from the hustle and bustle of central Aberdeen. You really can relax, and enjoy the quiet and a good nights sleep.

Thank you for your comments with regards to our breakfast, as this is the "most important meal of the day" we try to ensure that there is a plentiful choice to suit all dietary needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Vicky Stephenson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    389
    117
    46
    21
See reviews for
250
384
32
300
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My family and I stayed in the deluxe double room with two double beds the room was spacious for the 4 of us. The beds were very comfortable and everyone had a good sleep. I found all the staff really friendly and helpful. The kids enjoyed swimming in the pool. Plenty of space for parking. Large selection of buffet breakfast which were free for my 2 younger children. All in all good place to stay and I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceW747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyStephenson, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Dear AliceW747

Thank you for your feedback, following your stay with us at Thistle Aberdeen Altens.

I was pleased to see that your family enjoyed their time at the hotel and found our rooms to be spacious, even for a family of four. I am happy that you found our beds to be comfortable and enjoyed a good nights sleep.

Our team were happy to see that you found them to be friendly and helpful, the kitchen team in particular were pleased you enjoyed your breakfast.

I am glad that your family took time to relax and enjoy the leisure facilities of Otium leisure club. It is great to read that your children enjoyed the use of our swimming pool.

We look forward to welcoming your family back to Thistle Aberdeen Altens soon.

Kind regards

Vicky Stephenson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Travelling up from Edinburgh this is an easy hotel to find on the outskirts of Aberdeen. Loads of free parking,well presented reception area. We booked a family room with 2 double beds on the second floor and the room was absolutely fine. More spacious than some rooms I have stayed in. Bathroom basic but adequate. Lovely soft white towels supplied. We used the leisure facilities. The pool was small and there was a jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, and tiny kids pool. The changing rooms were ok but they could have been cleaner though we were there at the end of the day so maybe they were cleaned overnight. I didn't use the gym but it looked well kitted out in a bright room. Breakfast was included which was perfect, a traditional Scottish breakfast laid out as a buffet.

I would definitely stay there again as it was good value, ideally located and easy to find.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane23_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyStephenson, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Dear Jane23_13

Thank you for your feedback, following your stay with us at Thistle Aberdeen Altens.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed the benefits of our out of town location; easy to find with ample free parking.

It is good to see that your family found their room spacious and enjoyed the use of the leisure facilities in Otium leisure club.

Our Chef was happy to read your comments with regards to our perfect breakfast offering. It is important to us that we cater for all needs, in particular our weekend family guests.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards

Vicky Stephenson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We, as a family of four stay here on a regular basis. It's excellent location takes you away from the hustle and bustle but yet you are only 10 minutes from the centre of Aberdeen on the bus. We park up on a Friday and just jump on the bus into the town. The hotel is immaculate, food is delicious, service is excellent and staff are always exceptional. The pool area is sufficient and is definitely worth using. I would 100% recommend this hotel for anyone. A big thank you to the Thistle Altens for always making our stay so enjoyeable.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smalliesontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyStephenson, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Dear Smalliesontour

Thank you for your five star review, following your stay with us at Thistle Aberdeen Altens. Thank you also, for giving us five out of five in all scoring categories. It is great to read that you stay with us on a regular basis and give us 100% recommendation - thank you!

I was delighted to read how much your family enjoy their time with us, and that you find our hotel to be immaculate, food delicious and our staff exceptional.

It is also great to see that you take full advantage of our excellent location for families. We are a short distance from the centre of Aberdeen, however you are right, there are great regular bus links into town and with our ample car park, this takes the worry of parking over the weekend away.

Thank you once again for a glowing review. We look forward to your family's next visit.

Kind regards

Vicky Stephenson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

I've been here by a week and it has been awesome, so quit, good service and beautiful places around to visit.
It's so near to downtown and there's practical buses to take and move to castles and every beautiful place you want to go.
I been here for business and finally was so fun.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Payo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyStephenson, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Dear Payo W

Thank you for your feedback, following your week long stay with us at Thistle Aberdeen Altens.

It is great to read that you found our location perfect for getting into Aberdeen city centre and visiting local attractions.

I was also glad to read that you found the service at our hotel to be good, and the rooms quiet to ensure a great nights sleep.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us when you are next in the area.

Kind regards

Vicky Stephenson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Deluxe family room on second floor, with access to lift, comfortable beds and clean room. Swimming pool is fine for a leisurely swim. Buffet breakfast with a good choice. All staff friendly. Plenty of parking. Will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyStephenson, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Dear Sherrel H

Thank you for your five star review, following your stay with us at Thistle Aberdeen Altens. Additional thanks for 5 out of 5 scores for all categories, we are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

It was great to read that you found our beds to be comfortable and our rooms clean. Our staff thank you for your comments with regards to their friendliness and Chef and his team are really happy to see that you found our breakfast to be a good offering.

We look forward to welcoming your family back in the future.

Kind regards

Vicky Stephenson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and two young daughters spent a couple of nights at this hotel. Have to say it does not look great from outside but very pleasant inside. We were upgraded to better rooms upon our stay which was a pleasant surprise. Rooms lovely well spaced out. Car parking was great. We did not eat meals in this hotel as kids are very fussy eaters but found a great place two mins along the road where food was excellent. Breakfast was really good no complaints there. Plenty to choose from. Dining area was pleasant. Swimming pool was good we went in early morning with girls and it was pleasant, sauna enjoyed by hubby and daughter. We will return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyStephenson, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Dear Angela P

Thank you for your five star feedback, following your family's stay with us at Thistle Aberdeen Altens.

It is great to read that your family enjoyed their time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay.

Kind regards

Vicky Stephenson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,932 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 65 in Aberdeen
740 reviews
2.9 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 65 in Aberdeen
715 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aberdeen Altens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aberdeen Altens Hotel

Property: The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Address: Souter Head Road, Aberdeen AB12 3LF, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Aberdeen Altens)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#4 Best Value Hotel in Aberdeen
#8 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#11 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Aberdeen Altens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Aberdeen Altens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Aberdeen Altens Hotel Aberdeen
Thistle Hotel Aberdeen
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing