We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location to the airport, average food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Speedbird Inn, Aberdeen Airport
Ranked #52 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel as my company booked me in prior to flying out from Aberdeen Airport.
This hotel is a great location to the airport, about 5-8 minutes walking.
You can catch an Airport Shuttle Bus from the city centre for about £2.80 to the airport. Taxi will cost £16.00 +
The hotel is clean and Ok for a stay of 1 night, much like a Travelodge.However, I do not believe it is worth the price they charge. (About £80 - £90). However this is typical of many Aberdeen hotels = offshore Oil workers!
On entering the room, it was a little small and had an even smaller than average bathroom. The shower was cramped and not much room to move about in.
I ate at the restaurant on the evening and there was not much choice on the menu. The food was average. I recommend walking to the terminal and eating at the bar there.
I recommend the new Marriot Courtyard next door to the Speedbird.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesG111186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
There are newer reviews for Speedbird Inn, Aberdeen Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

just a short walk from the airport terminal, ideal if you need a night in the hotel to get an early flight!

Food was good at the restaurant next door, and the room had everything you need for a good nights sleep, bed was comfortable, the room was quiet and bathroom clean and tidy

Would stay again if at the airport!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I presonally have not stayed in the hotel, my son has and said it was very very nice, what i want to say is a big thank you to all the staff who helped me ,as my son had left something behind and they are now sending it back. i am sure he will stay at your hotel again. Thank you again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Joyce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The room I stayed in (room with two twin beds) was actually great, the decoration was fine and it provided a tv, a kettle with all things necessary for making coffee, a hairdryer, towels,...
Suming up, it was a nice room, and the hotel was good too; I didn't have the chance to try its food in the anexed building, but I'm sure it was great too, I will sure repeat the stay at Speedbird Inn if I needed to! :)

(One thing to add, the location is a bit far from the city centre, but the bus connection and timetable is perfect as one bus gets you to the city centre in no more than 25-30 minutes! If you stay for a night waiting for a plane to catch, it is perfect as it's 5 minutes away from thre airport!)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Two mins walk from Aberdeen airport, the rooms are basic but well kept. I had an excellent nights sleep, the reception staff were excellent and the price was very reasonable.My only gripe would be the the internet connection was very slow to say the least.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

If you have a 6am flight out of Aberdeen (like we did), then welcome to the Speedbird Inn. A very clean, and accommodating hotel, the Speedbird saved us from missing our flight and having to trek in from Aberdeen in the dead of the night.

The hotel staff was so very friendly and helpful especially when there was a hiccup in the booking reservation. Thanks guys! They sorted us and got us into clean comfortable rooms in the quietest part of the hotel so we could turn in early. The hotel even provided a complementary taxi to the airport at 4am so we could get there early for our flight.

The rooms were very clean and well furnished with tea service, trouser press, nice large wardrobes, bath soaps, etc., but I will say the beds were not the most plush in the world, still comfortable though.

I would not recommend the hotel restaurant (not the best meal in my life) other than it is convenient and not too pricey. The airport actually has some restaurants that offer better fare. The staff at the restaurant was very nice and the restaurant and bar was very visually pleasing.

Overall a great place to crash before you flight off the next day. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone is need of a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: The hotel has smoking rooms and smoke did find it's way into the halls in the middle of the nigh...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrawTheLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The main reason for staying in this hotel was the proximity to the airport and the fact it offered airport parking at a cost that was cheaper than the airport itself. It was a short walk away, but they also offer a free shuttle bus which is ideal if you have heavy cases or are unable to walk a short distance.

The staff were polite and friendly and the room itself was clean. The bed was comfortable and although it was close to the airport there was no noise.

The breakfast and evening meals are in the building beside the hotel at an additional cost. There was 2 options available for breakfast - one included cereal, toast and a bacon or sausage sandwich. The more expensive option included a full breakfast.

The evening meal was very nice and had a couple of vegetarian options .

I would choose to stay at this hotel again if I was flying from Aberdeen.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank W, General Manager at Speedbird Inn, Aberdeen Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Speedbird Inn. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed staying here, thank you. Hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards
Frank Whitaker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen Airport
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen Airport (Dyce) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Aberdeen Airport
Courtyard Aberdeen Airport
#18 of 65 in Aberdeen
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport
Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport
#11 of 65 in Aberdeen
524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moxy Aberdeen Airport
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Aberdeen Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Speedbird Inn, Aberdeen Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speedbird Inn, Aberdeen Airport

Address: Argyll Road | Dyce, Aberdeen AB21 0AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range: £34 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Speedbird Inn, Aberdeen Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Speedbird Inn is one of the most popular hotels at Aberdeen Airport and is perfectly placed only 350m from the terminal building. The hotel lives up to its location too, with fantastic modern interiors that offer a warm welcome to any traveller! A winning combination of high standards and quality amenities that you would expect from a top airport hotel, as well as a customer focused and service driven approach towards our returning hotel guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Speedbird Inn, Aberdeen Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speedbird Inn, Aberdeen Airport Hotel Dyce
Speedbird Hotel Cults
Speedbird Inn, Aberdeen Airport Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing