We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired decor inside & out & Expensive menu”
Review of The Old Mill Inn

The Old Mill Inn
Ranked #283 of 685 Restaurants in Aberdeen
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Tired decor inside & out & Expensive menu”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We chose not to eat here after viewing the good but very expensive menu....£12 for mince & tatties?!

We did have drinks which were equally expensive but it is a hotel so this is expected too...

We did hear that the food is good so it would be unfair of me to leave all negative feedback.

I have no problem paying for decent good food but I would rather do this in nice surroundings with English speaking staff.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice with friendly staff but a bit expensive.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We came in a party of 4 plus toddler in the early evening and were served promptly. The staff were very friendly and I couldn't fault them but overall it didn't live up to expectations. The food was not bad but quite expensive for the quality in my opinion. I wouldn't discourage anyone from going but I don't think I'd visit again if it was up to me.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnnyshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nothing too special, but not bad”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This restaurant has a lovely traditional feel to it. The staff were pleasant and very friendly. I couldn't fault my meal although a couple of my party had issues with theirs, but nothing too major. I must say that the homemade burger on my mixed grill was delicious. One of the best I have ever had!!! The selection of real ale was also something to be noted as a positive. They also offer a 10% discount to anyone staying at Deeside Holiday Park (just behind it).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Pub Grub.”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Friendly atmosphere, good food, nice beer selection. The menu was interesting and the food, on the whole, was good, however, some of our meals had obviously been left under the heat lamps for a tad too long. We were staying in the adjacent caravan park so was in a great location being just a few metres away down the path.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NessaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the holiday site just behind the old mill. To save any faffing around we headed here for dinner on Friday night. The food was really yummy and the staff were top notch! Came back sat night too. Very busy so your safer booking, we were early so they managed to squeeze us in.Really pleasant experience. Will be returning for sure.xx

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Mill Inn also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Peterculter, Aberdeen
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to The Old Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing