We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best chip shop in Aberdeen ...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hass's Fish and Chips

Hass's Fish and Chips
Ranked #230 of 658 Restaurants in Aberdeen
Cuisines: Fast food, British, Scottish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best chip shop in Aberdeen ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

I have never had a bad takeaway from Hass's. It's such a shame he doesn't work there himself anymore but I understand it's due to bad health. I'm confused by the previous review, dated 18 April 2013, where they complained about the quality. I think this is possibly the best chip shop in Aberdeen. Although it's expensive, you are honestly paying for quality, and your order is freshly cooked. It's worth the wait. And I've previously ordered chips with cheese and gravy with no questions asked! Brilliant hangover food!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    26
    12
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worst chippy meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Horrible chips, overcooked, burnt batter with odd taste. Refused to give us cheese saying it's horrible to put cheese on a chippy supper - I think I'll be the judge of what I like to put on my food thanks! 3 meals for £16... overpriced.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 88Kez88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best chipper in the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

The title says it all. There's lots of terrible chippers in Aberdeen but this certainly isn't one of them. Satisfaction every single time. Great fish and great chips cooked with heart and soul!!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattyboy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“best chippy in aberdeen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Very good food, generous portions, staff are all pretty good, clean establishment, i cant understand why they don't take telephone orders though??

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suvodka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but a bit slow....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

To be fair, they were slow as they seem to cook purely to order. However, the food was excellent. We both had chicken fillets in batter with chips and they were perfectly cooked, crisp on the outside, and juicy inside.

We have been here a number of times and always get excellent food, bar once, when another frier was on, and it wasn't quite so good, but still very edible.

The chips here taste like chips should, big and golden, crisp outside and fluffy inside, and the fish and servings are usually pretty large.

One comment has been that it's a bit expensive, and I would agree, but would also point out that you really get what you pay for - and it's worthwhile paying a tiny bit more for Hass's food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Davexmachina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hass's Fish and Chips also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Peterculter, Aberdeen
 

Been to Hass's Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing