We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty tapas”
Review of Aperitivo

Aperitivo
Ranked #19 of 671 Restaurants in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Scotland
Level Contributor
401 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Tasty tapas”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Although I had heard great things about this restaurant, I hadn't had the chance to try it until recently. We chose it as a venue for a girls catch up evening and found it to be a perfect choice.
The place has a lovely atmosphere and was very busy on the mid-week evening we visited.
The staff are friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable.
We chose a varied selection of tapas including meat, fish and vegetarian and found them all to be delicious and shared a platter of cheese instead of dessert, which we all enjoyed.
We enjoyed one or two bottles of Montepulciano, well recommended by our lovely waiter.
This is a restaurant definitely worthy of a few visits.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScfamilyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    156
    29
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Totally amazing!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Had the most amazing time here on Saturday. Found this place by chance whilst out shopping and liked the look of the menu so booked. We were not disappointed. The food is first class and not your typical pasta and pizza menu at an Italian restaurant. Had the most beautiful Halibut with linguine whilst hubby had the risotto with seafood, yummy. The staff are attentive and helpful in helping you decide from both their food and wine menu. Not the cheapest place but then not the most expensive either, after all, you get what you pay for. Would certainly recommend Aperitivo and will definitely be going back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank willScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Very Good Food and Service”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The last time I visited Aperitivo it was a Tapas restaurant, they have changed their menu and now serve a regular menu.
The new menu is very nice, serving traditional Italian fare. The calamari starter is fantastic, along with the ragu risotto balls and cheese risotto balls.
I had the 'Rombo' - Halibut with linguine, which was absolutely fantastic. The rest of our table had the salmon special, linguine al pesce, mushroom risotto and fillet steak. The only gripe we had was that the portion sizes were too big - which isn't really a gripe!
The wine selection is very good, we had 2 bottles of white and a bottle of red. Unfortunately I can't remember the names of the wine, but they were very nice.
All in all a very nice meal

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank defendertd5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent, relaxed and great value”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Visited on Saturday with friends and we all went for the small dishes so we could try different things. The swordfish, risotto balls, chickpea fritters, tuna, salmon and stuffed mushroom were all perfect. Great choice of Italian wines, service friendly and well done. We had the table booked at 5.30pm and knew we had it til 8pm but we were finished the back of 7 and never felt rushed at all. Will definitely return.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“absolutely terrible. fingernail in my food”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Was out for dinner for my friends birthday. The service was very poor, waited over 40 minutes to just get menus and we were basically ignored all night. I then found a piece of fingernail in my food and obviously was completely disgusted. I then spoke to a waitress about it who took it away into the kitchen. She came back and made a joke of it saying it was the 'special of the night'. Not once did anyone apologise, the manager never even came to speak to me about it or apologise. Completely disgusted and appalled and will never be back. Would never ever recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristineAbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aperitivo also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Aperitivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing