We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saturday afternoon fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nick Nairn Cook School

Nick Nairn Cook School
Ranked #1 of 4 Food & Drink in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Nick Nairn Cook School offers cooking classes from 2 hours to a full day. Our expert chef tutors will give you hands on help and you'll eat what you cook. It's a great day out!
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Saturday afternoon fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Spent a very enjoyable two hours on Saturday being taught by Barry. He was very relaxed and informative. Time passed very quickly and both my daughter and I were delighted with our food. Will definitely be back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotsgirl001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    13
    4
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great way to spend 2 hours in an evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We went to the 2 hour evening quick cook event, for cooking Chiang Mai Thai Curry, Great evening.
Wine on arrival. Small group of 10 of us for the cook school course. Really helpful chef / instructor who takes you through how to make the curry paste, then talks you through the cooking of the curry, which you then cook yourself (in pairs). You then get to eat your meal (and your wine glass is topped up!)
Highly recommend, especially if you go along with a partner / friend or group of friends.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SF312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great foodie fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

I went with a friend to do a day class and we had a brilliant time. The chef leading the class was lovely, informative and enthusiastic. He gave a lot of ideas about cooking generally not just the specific dishes we were cooking. The food we cooked turned out great and we had all the wine we could handle. It is good to see something demonstrated and then immediately go and do it yourself.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisbonlioness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great evening out and learning experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We had a great evening cooking the dishes and listening to the chef explain the recipes and methods. The 3 hours flew by, we even got to eat our food at the end and wash it down with some wine! They were very accommodating for pescatarians, as my wife is pescatarian, the chef helped her cook a fish alternative to the meat. Recommended activity!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GarethPau_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Took my wife for a full day course on her birthday. Thought it would be nice for her and would be better if I accompanied her. In reality we both had a truly wonderful time.
I would recommend this to any foodie guy who wants to get brownie points with his partner but also to enjoy the experience.
thanks guys for a wonderful time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nick Nairn Cook School also viewed

 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Nick Nairn Cook School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing