We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impromptu trip to Aberdeen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Aberdeen Airport
Ranked #18 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Went to meet a friend in Aberdeen last night. The hotel is near the airport which is a bit far from the city but that was my fault. The hotel seems very new, crisp, chic and modern. Smart modern bar and restaurant area and perfect bedrooms for the business traveller.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk_CY, Manager at Courtyard Aberdeen Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear David

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor and thank you for your positive comments about our hotel.

The hotel is around 6 miles from the city center but we do offer complimentary bus tickets to and from the city center. For any future visits please ask reception for your complimentary bus tickets

Sincerely,

Dirk Bunskoek

Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Aberdeen Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

Have stayed here twice for one night due to early flight from airport. Very good location close to airport, car rental drop off etc. a new hotel with clean and modern rooms, comfortable bed, shower, good free internet connection, iron and ironing board and other things you may need such as meals / breakfast available in the bar / lobby area a 'mini market' for snack purchase and a small gym. However not ideal if you have business in centre of Aberdeen or one of the other industrial estates due to volume of traffic at peak times. No food or drink alternatives apart from the other airport hotels close by. The first time I stayed it was quite expensive (£130) the second time we bought well in advance it was £59 for a double both for one night.
Check in was very professional and very helpful staff both times, speaking different languages to guests from overseas.
The rooms were a little noisy the first time I stayed with some of the rig workers coming back to their rooms late, but the hotel was quiet the second time.
We did not have breakfast as our flight left too early.
This would be a four star rating apart from the parking issue. I had a hire car with me, and was requested to put my registration number on my check in form and told it was £5 to park overnight. Shouldn't really have to pay for parking at a hotel you are staying at, but I understand Aberdeen Airport own the land and they like to charge you for breathing on their property and are heavy handed with traffic wardens and parking police at the terminal. However several months after staying I eventually receive a letter from Parking Eye threatening arrest of wages over non payment of a £100 parking fine for illegally parking overnight at the hotel.
After several emails to the hotel reception I believe this has been sorted now, but my advice is to make sure that you get a receipt for payment of the parking and hold on to it, so if this horrible parking firm try and charge you, you have evidence of payment. I had thrown my receipt away. Why there can't be a barrier system same as other hotels in the area I don't know, but it left an unpleasant memory of staying with the Courtyard, and I am a Marriot member, so had to think twice before chancing staying here again. Remains to be seen if I get fined for parking again in a few months time.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Frequenttraveller046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk_CY, Manager at Courtyard Aberdeen Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thank you very much for your reviewing our hotel. I really appreciate all the positive feedback about the hotel and the staff that you encountered during your two visits. I will make sure that this is shared with the team here on property. I am very sorry to hear about the issues you experienced whilst you parked at our property. I will make sure that this is followed up with parking eye and I apologise for all the inconvenience caused. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Dirk Bunskoek
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I can definitely recommend this hotel. It is situated so very close to the airport, that we just walked very early in the morning to the airport. There is also a good bus connection with the city.

The room was nicely decorated, the bathroom very clean and well equipped. I slept like a baby on the comfortable bed. The staff at the reception was friendly and helpful.

This is perhaps rather short opinion but, it could be even shorter: a very good airport hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank me_not_likey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk_CY, Manager at Courtyard Aberdeen Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thank you very much for taking time out to complete a review for our hotel. We really appreciate you sharing your valuable feedback and recommending us to other travellers. I will make sure the positive comments about our reception team are shared and celebrated. I am pleased to hear you had a good night sleep. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Dirk Bunskoek
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the deluxe room. Fairly large room, king size bed, crisp and clean, modern and quite fancy, big TV, good internet connection, extremely friendly staff. Just a short walk from the airport (shortcut through the carpark). Didn't try the restaurant or any food.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank ArgusOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk_CY, Manager at Courtyard Aberdeen Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel. We really appreciate all the feedback we receive at the hotel and I am pleased to read you have enjoyed your stay with us. I will make sure your comments about our friendly staff are shared with the team.
I hope we can welcome you back in the near future

Kind regards

Dirk Bunskoek
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here for the first time and it's your typical airport hotel - reasonably basic with basic food and basic services but there is nothing wrong wioth that. It was very clean and shiny but it is new. Ideal if you aren't looking for too much just somewhere to get a good night’s sleep before flying out of Aberdeen. The staff were polite and helpful. The facilities are ok - the reception area is a little noisy being right next to the bar and restaurant. There is a small gym that looked ok. The room I had on the ground floor was very good, lots of modern touches and quiet - best night’s sleep I've had at an airport hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk_CY, Manager at Courtyard Aberdeen Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Bruce B.

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that your stay with the Courtyard Aberdeen Airport was enjoyable and you had a good nights sleep.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,

Dirk Bunskoek

Assistant General Manager
cy.abzcy.agm@courtyard.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

This new hotel is arguably better appointed than most 'full service' Marriotts. The rooms are thoughtfully designed (plug sockets by the beds a bonus) and relatively spacious. As it's a new hotel, everything is in working order and it looks good. A good addition would be a trouser press - very useful when you've been stuck on a plane for a while.

Downstairs lets things down a little. The reception area is cramped and busy. The food at the 'bistro' is average at best and the service is very slow. The staff are friendly and full of apology but don't exude a huge amount of confidence to take care of issues. I waited nearly an hour for the wrong food to turn up only to be told it'd be another half hour if I wanted to wait for what I actually ordered. Afterwards, many apologies and refunded food (not really benefiting anyone other than my company and in fact costing me Marriott points by making the bill cheaper) but this really shouldn't be happening in the first place.

Little Courtyard policies like limiting the amount of mineral water Platinum members can have serve only to annoy.

The gym - although small - has modern equipment and is spotlessly clean.

For the odd night and for a Courtyard, this is a good spot. It doesn't come cheap though. A corporate rate of £131 is steep for a hotel with no room service facility. Little adaptations could make this an obvious choice for business travellers flying into ABZ. As it is, you may bulk at the extortionate prices.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank fairtravel2380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardManager1, Manager at Courtyard Aberdeen Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Traveller,
Thank you very much for providing feedback on your recent stay with u and the positive comments on our rooms and the friendly service from our staff.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during our food service. We pride ourselves in providing a high level of quality and service and have clearly let ourselves down on this occasion. As you rightly said this should not have happened in the first place. We have identified what caused the service delay and are resolving this at the moment.

Once again thank you very much for your feedback and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Kind regards

Dirk Bunskoek
Assistant General Manager
cy.abzcy.agm@courtyard.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights. had a great stay, rooms very clean and modern and just had a great break. breakfast was lovely. my husband loved the view of the airport and he was kept amused for hours just looking out of the window which was very peaceful for me! staff were very friendly and could not do enough to help. will definitely be back (glad I ignored the husband who wanted a travel lodge!!)

Room Tip: ask for a view of the airport (not the car park)
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen Airport (Dyce) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport
Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport
#11 of 65 in Aberdeen
521 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moxy Aberdeen Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen Airport
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Aberdeen Airport
0.8 mi away
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
#38 of 65 in Aberdeen
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Aberdeen Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Aberdeen Airport

Address: Argyll Way, Aberdeen AB21 0AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £46 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Aberdeen Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Aberdeen Airport is a preferred choice among Aberdeen Airport hotels. We sit within walking distance of Aberdeen Airport in Scotland and we are just minutes from the Aberdeen city centre. 194 spacious and modern guest bedrooms with spa-like bathrooms. The Bistro is a restaurant and bar combined allowing guests to eat, drink and connect. The Bistro menu offers light bites to hearty meals; Starbucks coffee will also be served. Breakfast will be served in the Bistro and will be continental buffet style breakfast with a number of hot items. Guests can enjoy complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the whole hotel. The Market situated in the lobby is open 24hours a day offering a range of snacks and beverages as well as travel necessities. The fitness room is fully equipped with cardiovascular machines and weights. The hotel offers complimentary bus travel to and from the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Aberdeen Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Aberdeen Airport Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing