We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whisky Trail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Aberdeen (Anderson Drive) Hotel
Ranked #35 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel to use it as a base for visiting 'The Whisky Trail' and didn't regret it. The rooms were basic but comfortable and the beds gave you a good nights sleep, as advertised. We would use this hotel again. Friendly, helpful staff.

Room Tip: Rear-facing rooms quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman0139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen (Anderson Drive) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Norman0139,

Thank you for such nice comments you left.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, hope you enjoyed the whisky trail.
I will pass on all the nice comments to my staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Just spent Friday & Saturday night there
We booked a family room as we were traveling with our 2 boys. Hotel staff were fab, very friendly. Hotel room was adequate, although the 2 kid's beds did rattle and squeek every time they turned over (occasionally waking us up). Also, we either had a team of sumo wrestlers in the room above us, or they need to have serious a look at the floor upstairs as we heard every movement.
Breakfast was served next door in the Cocked Hat pub. While there was nothing wrong with it, we were hoping for slightly more variety in terms of cereals and fruit. The pub itself was spot on, not a wide choice of beers, but I'm happy enough with a couple of pints of Stella. We decided to have our evening meal there on the Saturday - 2 meals for £10.99, and they were lovely!

All in all a good weekend, but should I return to Aberdeen, I may well opt for the Premier Inn situated in the City Centre.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank andyo_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen (Anderson Drive) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Andyo_123,

I'm glad you took the time to leave us a review.

I am really sorry the beds squeaked when your children moved in them, I will get my maintenance guy to look into this to see if we can resolve this. I am also sorry about the people in rooms above you making a noise. if you stay with us in the future please don’t hesitate to contact us so we can allocate you a top floor room.

I will pass your comments on to the restaurant next door for their breakfasts and see if they can look into more variety.

We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Friendly, clean, well-run, excellent breakfast. Very convenient location. Room was a bit stuffy and hot at times despite opening the window. The beds were very comfortable and the linen immaculate. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen (Anderson Drive) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Elizabeth M,

Thank you for taking time to comment on our Hotel.

I'm really glad you thought that the hotel was well-run, our staff were friendly, and our rooms are clean. I'm glad you enjoyed the comfort of our beds as well.

I'm sorry to hear you found the room to be stuff, At times in Aberdeen in do get some heat and sleeping at night can be hot, we do provide fans that we can let you use for this.

We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn Anderson drive soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights in July this year to attend my niece's graduation. I had stayed before and was happy to return.

Our room was clean and comfy - not huge but adequate in size for the 4 of us. The boy's beds were sturdy and full size singles which was a bonus. We were in room 1 on the ground floor. right next to reception, and so I was concerned we might be kept awake with other guests passing by late at night - but in fact it was very quiet - APART from the seagulls on the 2nd night - but there's really not much the hotel can do about that. They were loud though. There was no problem with traffic noise even though we were on quite a busy road. The carpet on the ground floor, as you headed from reception through to the ground floor rooms was badly torn - and a very real health and safety risk.

The hotel is a little out of town but to be honest that's no bad thing! I had other family members staying in the city centre who found it very noisy, and the seagulls were even more troublesome in the heart of town. (Watch out if eating outdoors! One big bruiser of a gull practically took my hand off outside Union Square, in the process of stealing a sandwich which I had only had a couple of bits of!! They have no fear at all!!)

So - the hotel was pleasant and I would go back. BUT - don't be tempted by the enticing looking menu at the Cocket Hat next door. The food was very overpriced and basically very poor. Drinks were on the pricey side too (although we expected that in Aberdeen).The portion sizes were adequate, but everyone at the table (there were 8 of us) felt that every dish was pretty tasteless. The waitress was less than friendly and made it quite clear (at quarter to 11) that we had outstayed our welcome and were expected to clear out. Things were only marginally better at breakfast. The morning staff were less frosty but not exactly welcoming. the went about their business without even acknowledging we had arrived. We seated ourselves (no one checked to see if we were booked so basically we could have wandered in off the street and helped ourselves unchallenged); we had to go looking for someone to arrange tea and coffee. the selection was average but overcooked (or more likely had just been on the food warmer for a while) and the toast was cold and damp. Things were slightly better on the 2nd day when we managed to rouse a smile form the waiter, and the breakfast was less overdone.

My advice would be - stay at the hotel by all means - but definitely eat elsewhere!!

Room Tip: Probably better on the car park side, away from the road. Don't book the breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estherohara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen (Anderson Drive) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Estherohara,

Thankyou for taking time to leave a comment.

I'm glad you liked they rooms and found them clean. I will pass this on to my house keeping team. Unfortunately seagulls in Aberdeen are a problem we have no control over and at certain times of the year they are louder than others.

With the torn carpet on the ground floor you will be glad to know that this has been fixed
With the restaurant this is owned by a separate company, so I will pass your comments on to the manager next door in regards to your points you have made.

We hope to welcome you back in the Premier Inn at anderson Drive again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Premier Inn Anderson drive is a very good hotel to stay for any occasion, rooms are spacious, good quality for your money and we'll reserved place. Good breakfast, good surrounding for children to play, friendly and welcoming staff, I will definitely choose premier Inn next time.



  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kehinde S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen (Anderson Drive) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Kehinde S,

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Premier Inn. I will also pass your comments on to the restaurant next door.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Check in was quick and easy. Staff are very friendly. The room is very hot with no way to cool except opening the windows. This is not ideal as the seagulls will keep you awake! The room is clean although extremely basic. The television is tiny which does not matter as most of the channels are off and the rest of the programs are awful. The bed is comfortable (if you like a firm mattress) but the pillows are not comfortable at all. The toilet/shower room is clean. There are no toiletries, as such, supplied. The towels are nice and big. The shower is good and strong. Unfortunately the weekend staff kept giving us one bath towel instead of two. Breakfast is next door in the Cockett Hat. The restaurant is not very clean. The staff there are friendly enough (as long as you turn up in time for breakfast) but don't expect to hold a conversation. It finishes at 9am which is early when you are on vacation. The food is ok. Staying a week, it is repetitive. I wish we had not paid up front for a whole week. However, they have free Internet unlike the Premier Inn. There you get 30 minutes (sometimes) then they charge you. There is no fridge, toiletries or telephone in the room. You can borrow an iron and ironing board. We had a hired car so town is close enough. Parking at the hotel is plentiful. It is nice and quiet so you get a good sleep until the seagulls waken you up. Would we come back again ? Probably as it is close to our daughter. It is good for either a quick stop en route or like in our case just a base for bed and breakfast.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Irov1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen (Anderson Drive) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear IROV1

Thank you for leaving us feedback.

I am delighted to hear you found the team friendly during your stay. I am sorry you did not find the room to your standards if you would like to call the site direct I would be happy to discuss any issues with you.

I will pass on your comments regarding the restaurant to the manager.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to see you daughter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We booked to stay here for 3 nights during a recent visit to Aberdeen, When we arrived on the Friday the weather was very hot as was the bedroom. Yes there was a fan in the room (lets just say I have never seen such a small fan, I would say this was for use on a desk not to try and cool down a bedroom). Apart from that the room was clean, tidy and had everything we needed, Bathroom was okay but the over bath shower was rather deep to climb out of. Apart from that our say was very good. Found the staff to be very friendly and felt that nothing would be too much trouble. Housekeeping staff were fantastic. All in we will choose to stay here on our next visit to Aberdeen

Room Tip: Ask for either ground of first floor room as the second floor rooms are rather warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ukguyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen (Anderson Drive) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear UKGUYZ

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback.

I am delighted to hear that you found all the team friendly and the room was to Premier Inn standard.

I am sorry you found the room too hot if you find this in the future please contact reception who will be happy to provide another fan.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen Airport (Dyce) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Aberdeen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel
2.8 mi away
Village Hotel Aberdeen
Village Hotel Aberdeen
#23 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Aberdeen (Anderson Drive) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Aberdeen (Anderson Drive) Hotel

Address: North Anderson Drive, Aberdeen AB15 6DW, Scotland (Formerly Premier Inn Aberdeen Central West)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £44 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Aberdeen (Anderson Drive) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note - this hotel is undergoing refurbishment work from 09/10/17 - 21/11/17 to bring you a brand new breakfast room. If you're spending time in Aberdeen, the Premier Inn Aberdeen (Anderson Drive) Hotel puts you right at the heart of things. We're extremely handy for all the city centre attractions, while our position on Anderson Drive means you're well placed for getting out and exploring Grampian, North East of Scotland as well as the Aberdeen Royal Infirmary Hospital. Clock some of Scotland's best-known landmarks as you stroll the granite-clad streets of Aberdeen or tick off a Munro or two as you venture into Grampian and beyond. There's still time to watch the dancers amongst the art deco splendour of the Beach Ballroom before coming back to your hotel for a lovely night's sleep in our comfy beds. Please note all reviews for the Toby Carvery should be placed on their TripAdvisor page directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Aberdeen (Anderson Drive) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Aberdeen Central West Hotel Aberdeen
Premier Inn Aberdeen (Anderson Drive) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing