We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Malmaison Aberdeen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malmaison Aberdeen
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

One of the best Mals... Really great service... and great breakfasts

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    284
    154
    83
    46
See reviews for
101
428
59
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

I spent two days here in mid December. Nice room; good size; good amenities with both tub and double shower. One room criticism ...one that is becoming more and more prevalent. Very poor lighting. Unless you are in bed or sitting directly at your desk it is impossible to see at night. One other comment that I noticed both in the restaurant and at front desk. The staff is very difficult to engage. They would not make eye contact to get their attention. If they were going by, it was almost impossible to hail them. Very nice once they waited on you but it got almost humorous.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fandangophil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

Myself and my partner have stayed at this establishment three times now and found our recent visit extremely disappointing.
 
We arrived on Friday evening and were checked in without any problem, I did notice that the girl at reception was extremely helpful. After we got settled in we noticed that there was very loud music coming from the room beside us (Room 129).
 
As it was only 7pm we decided it wouldn’t be right to complain about this as we thought it was too early. We were going to stay in but as the night went on we noise from Room 129 got louder and there was a lot of screaming and banging on doors/walls etc. By this time we had decided to go out to the cinema for a late showing, and on our return the room beside us was silent.
 
The second night we stayed, we booked a table in the restaurant at 5pm for 9:30pm. As we got ready for dinner we noticed a lot of thumping in our room. We finally worked out that this was coming from the bar and restaurant..
The room was in an inconvenient situation but the room was well soundproofed as we couldn’t hear any music. However we could just hear and feel the thumping of, what we felt was an excessive amount of bass.
 
If it was a night club, I could understand the reason for a lot of bass, but especially as it is a hotel, they should be taking into consideration that they have guests in the same establishment who might be trying to have a nice night in.
 
We went down for dinner promptly and were told our table wasn’t ready, and were referred to the bar.
As it was 9:30pm on a Saturday night the bar was what can only be described as heaving, and as we were on time for our table we thought it might have been polite if the serving staff had offered to get us drinks instead of us trying to literally fight our way to the bar.
 
We decided to take a seat on the couches beside the fire at the Maître D. We waited and watched 3 other couples arrive after us and get seated straight away. We couldn’t understand why weren’t being seated. After waiting 15 minutes for our table, we got seated at a small table beside the servers station, so there was constantly waiters rushing past our table which made it quite unpleasant.
 
Our meal was to a great standard as always which I’m glad to report.
 
After we returned to our room the thumping continued, but felt it would be more of an inconvenience to us to complain as we were settled in and it was our last night.

This recent stay has really changed my view of malmasion as I know how good their quality of service they are capable of giving. 
 Definitely not value for money with the service we received.

Also wrote an email of complaint but no reply. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banchory
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

This was the first time we had stayed here, although we'd used the restaurant a few times before. The food was very good - dinner (great steak!) and breakfast (lovely eggs benedict), so was the service and we found the staff very friendly and efficient. We had booked a Junior Suite and the room was very comfortable and a good size. However, it was on the lower ground floor which meant that it overlooked the car park - and when I say overlooked, I mean that there were cars parked right outside. It was well sound proofed but we had to keep the curtains drawn so it was a bit dark and gloomy. Also, the room was freezing - I nearly dropped the review to a 3* for this, but the staff did try to sort out the heating and eventually gave us a separate heater. They also gave us a small (10%) discount. With hindsight we should have changed rooms, although this wasn't offered.
Overall, I would recommend it, but next time I would be more careful about which room I booked.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmartieBanchory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

MalMaison being in the same family as Hotel Du Vin has a level of expectation when you visit. This met the expectation however didn't exceed.

Check in is easy although only one, rather small lift to get to the rooms!

The bar area is slightly macabre and insists upon itself but its fine. Its nice that there are complimentary olives and nuts and staff are attentive but not intrusive. The resturant is nice enough and there is a display of meat available which, it you're a vegan, go to the otherside of the room. The food is very good although my steak was slightly over done, it was still to a good enough quality that decided not to send it back. The wine was very good but expect accompanying prices.

The rooms are very nice and generous toiletries. A little on the dark side and the view was slightly limited by a wall just outside the window. The room was fine overall, pillows are in desperate need of replacement but there was a boiler of some discription in the ceiling that came on at 4am which was slightly annoying.

Its a very nice hotel, ideal for business trips but for personal travel, don't expect more than being paid for which isn't overtly expensive but its not cheap either

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Stayed here in July 2011 after our wedding for one night prior to departing on honeymoon.

The room was quite dark and I wasn't too keen on the number of items left as additional purchases but overall, it was very comfortably furnished and very well sound proofed - there was a party in a private function room at the end of the corridor which we weren't disturbed by at all.

We ate in the restaurant which was overall a very good experience. I was unable to eat much due to illness, but my husband found his starter of pig's cheek and venison main the best food he's eaten which takes some doing! We also enjoyed a very nice bottle of wine with our meal, chosen from an extensive wine list. The service was friendly and efficient.

We would stay here if in Aberdeen for a special occasion, as the rates are rather high for a regular visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eight7eleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Had a girlie night with my sister and a sleepover.....wow....treated sooo well. We had the Crathes suite which we did not want to leave as had a stunning view over the south of the city and a balcony with room for a dozen people or so. The deal includes a treatment in the spa and great nibbles and wine in your room. The bed was so comfy and large. Breakfast was lovely and plenty of choice. Ladies treat yourself as it's fantastic and we will do this again. Thanks to all the staff who were fab.

Room Tip: The suites are to die for with the stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dennisrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
2.8 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#21 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
1.4 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Aberdeen

Property: Malmaison Aberdeen
Address: 49-53 Queens Road, Aberdeen AB15 4YP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#13 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Aberdeen 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malmaison Aberdeen is the latest luxury hotel to join the Malmaison family. This boutique hotel used to be the famous Queen’s Hotel and truly is fit for a Queen. Retreat from daily life in the spa or enjoy a work out at the gym. Look no further than Malmaison Aberdeen for the perfect venue for business trips or leisure breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
Malmaison Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing