We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Malmaison Aberdeen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malmaison Aberdeen
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Booked Malmaison online after checking the online menu, arriving at restaurant found steak with baked potatoes were not an option, only chips! Forgot to change the menu online. Ordered salmon instead which was full of bones, complaint completely ignored. Nice soup and coffee but would only rate 5 out of 10

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    284
    153
    83
    46
See reviews for
101
427
59
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed here on Boxing Day to celebrate our Anniversary. Initially i had booked a table in the Brasserie but when the hotel to confirmed my booking they offered me a room for £25 - yes please!

The decor of the hotel is very 'modern Scottish' - quite dark, lots of stone, and a touch of tartan - extremely smart but not too minimalist. The reception staff were very friendly and our room was fantastic. Very generous size and a HUGE bathroom with wonderful drench shower. Lots of lovely little extras to make it feel very special indeed.

Dinner was wonderful, we both had lovely starters and then steaks for main course. The staff were friendly and attentive, the bread was fresh out of the oven which our server apologised for keeping us waiting for, and it was a very enjoyable experience. The bar is very smart too though not huge, but a very pleasant surrounding for an after dinner drink

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. It was my first trip there but i will definately be back, even if 'just' for dinner

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DFAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed here for one Saturday night very recently in a suite. The hotel is pleasant, clean, stylish and generally presentable. The staff were very pleasant and the food in the Brasserie of a good standard. HOWEVER, what let the hotel down badly for us was the incessant noise emanating from the brasserie and bar directly beneath our room. The brasserie has funky lounge music booming out and the entrance ( yards off the busy Queen's Road) was directly beneath our room. The music was clearly audible, together with the sound of revellers coming and going until very late in to the night. I would strongly recommend anyone considering the hotel to ask for rooms at the back, as otherwise, if it is a relaxing night you are looking forwards to, you may well be disappointed. Definitely a flawed gem as far as we were concerned.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Boltonwanderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
315 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

The hotel design is unsual. It's not my cup of tea for a business hotel. The room is dark and not much space for work inside the room. The bathroom is excellent although it's quite oversize even for american standard.

The restaurant and breakfast are not that good compared to the hype. But again, it's Aberdeen. Nothing is good in the city in term of food.

Overall, for Aberdeen standard, I would still recommend it. I don't think you would find any better hotel in Aberdeen. But 175 pound hotel bill perhaps is too much if you want to stay here on your own.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeoLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

What can I say, wow! My fiancée and I are enjoying trying out all the branches of Malmaison one by one as an occasional treat to ourselves and the Aberdeen Mal has to be one of the best. Good first impressions with very friendly front desk. We had a "superior" room which was lovely and sumptious, even coming with a balcony (which incidentally we couldn't open the door to get onto - not that we really needed to in January though). Also I'm not sure whether it was just this branch or if it's a company-wide change but I noticed the bedroom "hard sell" aspect of wine/nuts/lotions etc has been toned down a bit which is a welcome change.

We were impressed that the bar was so full. The Mal is probably the furthest out from the city centre of any we've been to so far (about 10-15 mins by taxi) so it seems a popular destination in it's own right. Unfortunately as is often the case with Malmaison the restaurant let the side down a bit - at breakfast we asked for toast three times and it never arrived (doesn't sound much but very annoying when you're hungry!), and we were nearly charged for a second day's breakfast which we never had when checking out. Veggie options were again very few in number: this really needs to be looked at by the wider chain as, if not part of the Sunday night deal, it really puts us off eating in the brasseries. However what was on the local menu was really nice, luckily.

Overall it's a lovely hotel - really nicely designed and a great atmosphere. We'd definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

stayed here a few months ago and booked to go again. the double luxury room was fab and spacious with a luxurious bathroom too. the food is wondeful here. the restaurant feels like the place to be. would highly recommend. in a very nice part of Aberdeen and not too far from shops although not on doorstep.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dophinUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

This is now the third time I've been with a friend for the Girl Friday at the Malmaison. Would recommend this for the ladies. Enjoyed one night stay with a friend, treated ourselves to a facial, was fantastic. Would say the best facial I've had so would highly recommend if staying ladies do treat yourselves to a treatment. Staff in the Le Petit spa are very nice. Although the spa could be done with a sauna room and a jacuzzi. Room was a double and was very clean / spacious. Breakfast is also good, definetly be back again soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
2.8 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#19 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
1.4 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Aberdeen

Property: Malmaison Aberdeen
Address: 49-53 Queens Road, Aberdeen AB15 4YP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#13 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Aberdeen 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malmaison Aberdeen is the latest luxury hotel to join the Malmaison family. This boutique hotel used to be the famous Queen’s Hotel and truly is fit for a Queen. Retreat from daily life in the spa or enjoy a work out at the gym. Look no further than Malmaison Aberdeen for the perfect venue for business trips or leisure breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
Malmaison Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing