We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parking the biggest issue of an otherwise great stay”
Review of Malmaison Aberdeen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Malmaison Aberdeen
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We booked this hotel online but didn't know much about area or hotel . My first look at hotel was that it looked lovely , cosy boutique hotel . Parking was an issue only around 12 spaces for an 80 bedroom hotel . We were greeted at reception by friendly staff who booked us into room 211 very nice room not greatest view of rooftops but we didn't care . We decided to go to bar for a drink but found it very busy with no tables or seats free at 4 pm but we found a sofa out in the hallway after about 20 mins barman said a table had freed up in the bar if we wanted to move into bar which was very good of him . We didn't eat in hotel for evening meal but after having a lovely breakfast we wish we has . Food was lovely , staff very friendly and attentive .

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to get a chance of any kind of view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bilsland5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

thank you for your feedback, I will share it with the team. for any future visits the parking at the front is also complimented with parking at the back of the hotel, both spaces are on a first come first serve, otherwise weekend parking on the street is free of charge on Saturdays and Sunday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

844 - 850 of 1,255 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here twice now, both times in room 101, we loved the room the 1st time and asked for it again. The room is lovely decorated, great size, lovely front facing and not noisy. We had a meal and it was also lovely. Will definately be back, maybe chance a different room next time for a change.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mandythomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for your time and feedback, we do have similar sized rooms across the hotel, so if you feel adventurous on your next stay let us know we will offer you a different room to try out. thanks again for your comments , we will surely share them with the teams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed on the Sunday night deal that if you spend £75 in the hotel the room is £25 this is a good deal as the restaurant is very good. the room was small but adequate with a drench shower and a bath. Bed was good sized, down side there was no complimentary water in the room only in the mini bar at £2 a bottle also only 1 tea bag per flavour in a twin room bottles of house red in the room were £17.50 so not bad. My daughter tried to upgrade us as a surprise, but the hotel wouldn't accept a payment over the phone, this is a strange policy. The hotel is situated a bit out of the town centre, so you will need to get a taxi to the night spots

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanaholic_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your deal, unfortunately PCI compliance laws require the card holder to fill in and sign a 3rd party form and send this information to us in order to confirm that the transaction is legal and the card owner too. We apologise for the inconvenience this had caused you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

this is a very busy hotel, the bar is always full and the restaurant busy but they cope with it well and service remains friendly and efficient
we like the rooms here, they are modern and very comfortable. the restaurant is the place to come for steaks and the small gym well maintained

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilalexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are delighted you had a good time and we look forward to welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We've stayed at Malmaison a few times now but latest visit didn't leave any lasting impressions.
We booked an upgraded room and also booked restaurant for meal at 6.15 which we received our confirmation for. Upon checking in we were told that the email confirmation was not exactly that, but just a request and that we would have to eat at 5.30 or 9.30 neither of which were practical, seems that there is absolutely no point in booking online as its just ignored. The room was in the basement and was really cold and dark with very little daylight getting in. Bathroom was also freezing cold and the heated towel rail didn't work either. The meal at the restaurant however was really good and would definitely return to eat but would stay somewhere else. The general decor throughout is looking shabby with scuffs and stains on furniture and mould in shower etc.
The atmosphere in the bar was great cocktails were around £10 each and when I asked for top up of tonic they had the nerve to charge for this to the room any excuse to make money it seems. We were asked if we would like a newspaper on Sunday morning however this never appeared no surprise really. Overall average stay, nothing special, hardly worth writing about.

Room Tip: Not the basement !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosmogirlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback, I would really appreciate if you could email me direct on rsamaha@malmaison.com to discuss your concerns in more details. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Celebrating a friend's special birthday we booked the Girlie Pamper Night on Friday 2nd May 2014. What a fabulous time we had! The room was large and with the pull down sofa bed all made up when we arrived all three of us had plenty room to spread out and get comfortable. The whole experience was excellent. Couldn't fault a thing. We all got taken together in the Spa for our facials which added to the shared occasion. Lovely cocktails brought to the room by the barman and the Mal Munchies were superb. Really can't fault anything about our stay. Great breakfast choice in the morning in the interestingly styled Brasserie. I have to give a special mention to all of the staff at Mal Aberdeen - every single member of staff that we came into contact with was friendly and helpful. If you are looking to give a special treat to a friend, sister, mother, or indeed just have a fab get together with friends, book the Girlie Pamper Night at Malmaison. Great fun and excellent value for money! Can't wait for my next visit!

Room Tip: We were in a suite type of room 221. Because there were three of us the sofa bed was made up. Love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

We are delighted you enjoyed your pampering night in, the Girls night in spa package is all about getting it all right, and I am pleased that you had a great experience, thank you for your feedback, I will ensure it is shared with the teams at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

First time staying in the Malmaison Hotel. A very pleasant one.
Things I look for in a hotel room is cleanliness, staffs friendliness, sizeable room , amenities and design. This hotel have it all. Unfortunately I only stayed here a single night so I haven't got the chance to explore a bit more namely the restaurant menus. Definitely returning here if I return to Aberdeen. Hopefully next time for a longer stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank IsRazak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

we look forward to your next visit, and we hope you get the chance to experience the best steaks in town served chargrilled on the Josper grill. thank you for your lovely comments, we will share your feedback with the teams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
2.8 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
0 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#20 of 65 in Aberdeen
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
902 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jurys Inn
Jurys Inn
#8 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Aberdeen

Address: 49-53 Queens Road, Aberdeen AB15 4YP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#13 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £76 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Aberdeen 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malmaison Aberdeen is the latest luxury hotel to join the Malmaison family. This boutique hotel used to be the famous Queen’s Hotel and truly is fit for a Queen. Retreat from daily life in the spa or enjoy a work out at the gym. Look no further than Malmaison Aberdeen for the perfect venue for business trips or leisure breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Malmaison Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
Malmaison Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing