We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beds Very Hard, Rooms Dark with No Thought to Practicalities” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malmaison Aberdeen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Aberdeen
Ranked #14 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Houston Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Beds Very Hard, Rooms Dark with No Thought to Practicalities”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times over the past 5 years, the last time because we had to, rather than wanting to, as our original booking elsewhere was messed up. We still vow not to stay at Malmaison again as the beds are so hard sleeping on the floor would be pretty much the same. Many other things are so badly designed in these rooms. The first room we were given on this visit was on the LG floor. It was dreadful, mega dark inside, could not open curtains as full floor to ceiling glass looked out onto a narrow pathway than runs outside down side of the room! The desk lamp did not work and the only one small ceiling light directly over the bed is very small but too bright to have on whilst in bed as it shines into your eyes. There are two bedside lights which are ok for evening pre bedtime use. However in the morning when you need light to get dressed, see where personal items are etc the lighting is just totally inadequate. There are only two small bedside table drawers on ONE side of the bed -NO other drawers to put any clothing items. We were staying 3 nights so had items we needed to unpack but not hang up. Undergarments, sweaters etc all stayed in our suitcase, crazy as the rooms are not small, having plenty of room for more lighting and some drawers to be placed. The worse thing, apart from the very hard bed, is the bathroom. The only mirror above the handbasin was approx. one metre from standing point.. It was impossible to shave or put make up on from this distance, you could not lean forward over the basin to get close to it. There was no shaving/magnifying mirror but there was space on the wall to install one. Extremely annoying and ridiculous. Also tiny amount of space to place any wash up items, make up, wash bag etc, even for one person, let alone two! Again there was space available for something to be installed in this bathroom. Parking is not allowed at front of hotel for residents and when we tried to park in rear car park it was full so we ended up having to park on the main road, be warned of this! The walk to our first room was also a bit of a trek. We did complain about this room but were told hotel was fully booked. Next morning the manager was consulted and we were moved to a first floor room which did have an easier to use bathroom, but it still had very little space to place items again. The bed was exactly as hard and still no drawers in this room for clothing items. Again the room was large enough to accommodate a set of drawers. Also we now had a new problem, this room was now very noisy at night as directly above the bar/restaurant area, boom/boom base noise and singing clearly heard in our room so at 11pm my husband called down to complain and it was immediately turn off.(I am sure they had this request often from guests) The same thing happened the following last night. I did try the restaurant and it was very nice, service pretty good, food good, buzzy atmosphere, but I was charged for bread, butter and olives (approx. 10.00gbp total for the 3 items) which I wasn't told about. My son had one olive, we had one piece of bread each and didn't touch the butter, so also be warned about that. On previous stays the bath was positioned in the middle of the bedroom, on another our room had an open shower in the middle of the bathroom, unenclosed, so water everywhere making it pretty dangerous/slippy actually. Just bad/inpractical designs thoughout the rooms. Buzzy to visit for a meal, sit outside on a good day, if you don't have a car, but wouldn't stay the night.

Room Tip: Only stay here if you like hard beds, don't have a car and retire late to bed after quite a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spangle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
thank you for your feedback, we will put forward your recommendations at the next hotel refurbishment plans. we appreciate your time and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    282
    152
    83
    45
See reviews for
92
420
54
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Just spent a night in hotel in superior room with dinner and cocktails. First impressions, very nice, Scottish feel throughout but cosy feeling. Room lovely to look at but lighting so subdued that even in daytime room had a dark feel to it. Also found it impossible to use mirrors to get ready as none had adequate lighting to apply makeup or do hair. Had free cocktail in bar as part of our package which was nice but very busy on Fridays, so had to sit in foyer. Dinner consisted of a three course set menu with four choices. Soup lovely for starters, but after that meal was bad. Choice of mains consisted of vegetarian risotto, meat free pasta, cod or chicken. My husband chose the cod and I the chicken. Chicken was half a fillet chargrilled on bed of greens which was very dry and tasteless. My husband had cod which he was told came with mash and veg, recommended by the waiter. When it came it was a small portion on bed of greens and no mash. When this was pointed out to waiter he checked with another member of staff and was told as set menu did not come with mash! Were given free fries as an apology but was astonished as set menu seems to mean reduced portions and basic ingredients, not good for a supposedly top restaurant. Would recommend anyone on our package taking the option of £20 each credit and eating from a-la-carte menu. I have never left a restaurant hungry after three courses before (definitely not big eater), so this was a first. When checking out next day found we had been charged £18 for 'free' cocktail and had to point this out to receptionist (we handed card with details at bar when ordering so no reason for this to happen. Overall the Malmaison was a nice hotel with staff who were friendly and attentive. The experience in the restaurant was a different matter and because of this we would not be hurrying back.

Room Tip: Superior room on second floor at back, nice spot except when loud music playing in restaurant which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcvicar184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we have taken your comments on board, and we will ensure our set menus are more accommodating in the future. we hope you will be back soon to try out our new summer set menus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We have visited the hotel on numerous occasions for food and drinks but this was our first overnight stay. I decided to upgrade our room for our 1 night stay, and although the room was clean and very nice, I hadn't understood that the room would be on the ground floor, which I wasn't keen on because of the walkway from the car park to the hotel and feeling I had to keep my curtains closed throughout our stay for privacy. As it was a Saturday night and we were in a rush to get out to meet friends for dinner, I didn't think it was worth asking to move rooms, however I would check the location of the room next time we stay. We also had issues parking, which we have never had in the past and had to park in a near by street, which wasn't a problem.
The breakfast was very good and the staff were helpful and friendly. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: We booked a superior room and were on ground level - with huge windows resulting in us having to clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
thank you for your feedback , we appreciate your comments and will ensure we look into some of the points you have raised, parking is on a first come first serve option and can be limited at times. Please let us know your room preference on your next visit and we will ensure you this is allocated to you in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I booked a good room for my 3 night stay but think my suite, Slaines, was an upgrade. Lovely room, huge and superbly comfortable bed with some lovely quirky touches. Clearly, table football is essential in an hotel room! The terrace was great, made more so by some fine weather.

The bar was buzzy and fun. Slightly nit picking and showing my age, I do think whoever selects the furniture should spend an hour or so using it! It all looked amazing but some of the chairs and sofas were not the most comfortable.

The food in the restaurant was delicious. I was there on a busy night (the restaurant was full and I later learnt there was a large party in the hotel too) and service was a bit slow initially - although, to be fair we were entirely happy drinking cocktails and sampling wine. The restaurant manager on that evening, David, dealt with this incredibly well and I ended up being more impressed by his resolution than I might have been if food had been served too quickly!

Breakfast in the room is done in a really fun way and well worth trying.

Although the restaurant manager excelled, all staff were friendly, helpful and service was good.

I've not scored 5/5 simply because there were a few things about the hotel that were not to my taste and this is entirely personal.. For example, the lighting in some areas is a bit dim for me and some of the "catchy" ways of drafting signs and flyers don't necessarily appeal to me. I loved some of the toiletries especially the fig body oil and would have liked it to be re-filled (I got through it quite quickly!) but actually I'm sure if I'd asked that would have been dealt with immediately.

All in all, a lovely, welcoming, friendly and fun place.

Room Tip: I had one with a terrace which was fab and suspect any with a terrace would all be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shreeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
thank you for your lovely feedback, we will surely share this with the teams, David is particularly pleased that he was mentioned in your review. we look forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We booked this hotel online but didn't know much about area or hotel . My first look at hotel was that it looked lovely , cosy boutique hotel . Parking was an issue only around 12 spaces for an 80 bedroom hotel . We were greeted at reception by friendly staff who booked us into room 211 very nice room not greatest view of rooftops but we didn't care . We decided to go to bar for a drink but found it very busy with no tables or seats free at 4 pm but we found a sofa out in the hallway after about 20 mins barman said a table had freed up in the bar if we wanted to move into bar which was very good of him . We didn't eat in hotel for evening meal but after having a lovely breakfast we wish we has . Food was lovely , staff very friendly and attentive .

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to get a chance of any kind of view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bilsland5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
thank you for your feedback, I will share it with the team. for any future visits the parking at the front is also complimented with parking at the back of the hotel, both spaces are on a first come first serve, otherwise weekend parking on the street is free of charge on Saturdays and Sunday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here twice now, both times in room 101, we loved the room the 1st time and asked for it again. The room is lovely decorated, great size, lovely front facing and not noisy. We had a meal and it was also lovely. Will definately be back, maybe chance a different room next time for a change.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mandythomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for your time and feedback, we do have similar sized rooms across the hotel, so if you feel adventurous on your next stay let us know we will offer you a different room to try out. thanks again for your comments , we will surely share them with the teams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed on the Sunday night deal that if you spend £75 in the hotel the room is £25 this is a good deal as the restaurant is very good. the room was small but adequate with a drench shower and a bath. Bed was good sized, down side there was no complimentary water in the room only in the mini bar at £2 a bottle also only 1 tea bag per flavour in a twin room bottles of house red in the room were £17.50 so not bad. My daughter tried to upgrade us as a surprise, but the hotel wouldn't accept a payment over the phone, this is a strange policy. The hotel is situated a bit out of the town centre, so you will need to get a taxi to the night spots

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tanaholic_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your deal, unfortunately PCI compliance laws require the card holder to fill in and sign a 3rd party form and send this information to us in order to confirm that the transaction is legal and the card owner too. We apologise for the inconvenience this had caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
2.8 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#15 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
1.4 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Aberdeen

Property: Malmaison Aberdeen
Address: 49-53 Queens Road, Aberdeen AB15 4YP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#13 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Aberdeen 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malmaison Aberdeen is the latest luxury hotel to join the Malmaison family. This boutique hotel used to be the famous Queen’s Hotel and truly is fit for a Queen. Retreat from daily life in the spa or enjoy a work out at the gym. Look no further than Malmaison Aberdeen for the perfect venue for business trips or leisure breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, Ebookers, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Malmaison Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
Malmaison Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing