We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday Lunch”
Review of Malmaison Aberdeen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Aberdeen
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Went yesterday for Sunday lunch,which was excellent value for money, food was superb,great selection of starters, then had roast beef which was tender, followed by creme brûlée, service very good. Will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

thank you very much for your lovely comments, the team are delighted you enjoyed your Brunch, we hope to see you again soon too

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

834 - 840 of 1,254 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

I organised a lovely Hen Day for a friend with 23 girls meeting for dinner at Malmaison. Month's pior to the Hen Day i paid everyone's deposits and gave menu choices. 2 weeks before the Hen Day, i was told twice that the booking had been cancelled! And the week of the Hen Day i was told that the menu's they sent me was wrong, and that the staff didn't receive the pre order sheet, which was sent 5 times to the events team!
On the evening of the dinner, it was a shambles, everything went wrong and it was due to lack of communication through staff. It was so stressful and i am so, so disappointed in Malmaison. I will not be going back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very impressed with the overall look and feel of The Malmaison in Aberdeen it's a great looking place and the decor and set out is great. It's in a good location which is not far from anywhere.
My only complaints would be the service level is average at best and the beds are rock hard.

Room Tip: Ask for a softer bed unless you like very firm. The rooms down the back have a pretty awful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

thank you for your feedback, we are in the process of changing our mattresses so hopefully you will enjoy a new bed on your next stay. I am sorry you found the service levels to be average, we invest in our teams and ensure they get continuous coaching and development on the job and we will look into how we can improve this for your next stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed overnight last Sunday having booked on an Internet hotel booking site for a very good price. The staff were pleasant and welcoming, there was plenty of room at the rear of the hotel to park. The room was elegant and comfortable, so was the bathroom.

Be careful, by the time we ate in the hotel brasserie, added the cost of pre- dinner drinks and nibbles, had a continental breakfast the next morning, the overall cost had rocketed.

We asked for a later checkout at 13.00 (normally quite late at 12 noon) and the hotel were happy to accommodate us free of charge.

We'd be happy to go back there when next in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weirdavenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

thank you for your time and feedback, we appreciate your comments and we look forward to see you again soon in Aberdeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

a typical Malmaison. Excellent food, great bedrooms and attentive staff. From reception to restaurant its worth a visit. The bedrooms are an excellent size and bathrooms very well equiped. The restaurant is excellent from breakfast to dinner. The bar is small and very busy. The only down side is sometimes getting a parking space near the hotel. There is a small carpark both front and back of the hotel. You can park on the road outside if stuck though.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mintlawman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

thank you very much for your lovely feedback, we appreciate your time and comments and we look forward to have you stay with us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times over the past 5 years, the last time because we had to, rather than wanting to, as our original booking elsewhere was messed up. We still vow not to stay at Malmaison again as the beds are so hard sleeping on the floor would be pretty much the same. Many other things are so badly designed in these rooms. The first room we were given on this visit was on the LG floor. It was dreadful, mega dark inside, could not open curtains as full floor to ceiling glass looked out onto a narrow pathway than runs outside down side of the room! The desk lamp did not work and the only one small ceiling light directly over the bed is very small but too bright to have on whilst in bed as it shines into your eyes. There are two bedside lights which are ok for evening pre bedtime use. However in the morning when you need light to get dressed, see where personal items are etc the lighting is just totally inadequate. There are only two small bedside table drawers on ONE side of the bed -NO other drawers to put any clothing items. We were staying 3 nights so had items we needed to unpack but not hang up. Undergarments, sweaters etc all stayed in our suitcase, crazy as the rooms are not small, having plenty of room for more lighting and some drawers to be placed. The worse thing, apart from the very hard bed, is the bathroom. The only mirror above the handbasin was approx. one metre from standing point.. It was impossible to shave or put make up on from this distance, you could not lean forward over the basin to get close to it. There was no shaving/magnifying mirror but there was space on the wall to install one. Extremely annoying and ridiculous. Also tiny amount of space to place any wash up items, make up, wash bag etc, even for one person, let alone two! Again there was space available for something to be installed in this bathroom. Parking is not allowed at front of hotel for residents and when we tried to park in rear car park it was full so we ended up having to park on the main road, be warned of this! The walk to our first room was also a bit of a trek. We did complain about this room but were told hotel was fully booked. Next morning the manager was consulted and we were moved to a first floor room which did have an easier to use bathroom, but it still had very little space to place items again. The bed was exactly as hard and still no drawers in this room for clothing items. Again the room was large enough to accommodate a set of drawers. Also we now had a new problem, this room was now very noisy at night as directly above the bar/restaurant area, boom/boom base noise and singing clearly heard in our room so at 11pm my husband called down to complain and it was immediately turn off.(I am sure they had this request often from guests) The same thing happened the following last night. I did try the restaurant and it was very nice, service pretty good, food good, buzzy atmosphere, but I was charged for bread, butter and olives (approx. 10.00gbp total for the 3 items) which I wasn't told about. My son had one olive, we had one piece of bread each and didn't touch the butter, so also be warned about that. On previous stays the bath was positioned in the middle of the bedroom, on another our room had an open shower in the middle of the bathroom, unenclosed, so water everywhere making it pretty dangerous/slippy actually. Just bad/inpractical designs thoughout the rooms. Buzzy to visit for a meal, sit outside on a good day, if you don't have a car, but wouldn't stay the night.

Room Tip: Only stay here if you like hard beds, don't have a car and retire late to bed after quite a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spangle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

thank you for your feedback, we will put forward your recommendations at the next hotel refurbishment plans. we appreciate your time and comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Just spent a night in hotel in superior room with dinner and cocktails. First impressions, very nice, Scottish feel throughout but cosy feeling. Room lovely to look at but lighting so subdued that even in daytime room had a dark feel to it. Also found it impossible to use mirrors to get ready as none had adequate lighting to apply makeup or do hair. Had free cocktail in bar as part of our package which was nice but very busy on Fridays, so had to sit in foyer. Dinner consisted of a three course set menu with four choices. Soup lovely for starters, but after that meal was bad. Choice of mains consisted of vegetarian risotto, meat free pasta, cod or chicken. My husband chose the cod and I the chicken. Chicken was half a fillet chargrilled on bed of greens which was very dry and tasteless. My husband had cod which he was told came with mash and veg, recommended by the waiter. When it came it was a small portion on bed of greens and no mash. When this was pointed out to waiter he checked with another member of staff and was told as set menu did not come with mash! Were given free fries as an apology but was astonished as set menu seems to mean reduced portions and basic ingredients, not good for a supposedly top restaurant. Would recommend anyone on our package taking the option of £20 each credit and eating from a-la-carte menu. I have never left a restaurant hungry after three courses before (definitely not big eater), so this was a first. When checking out next day found we had been charged £18 for 'free' cocktail and had to point this out to receptionist (we handed card with details at bar when ordering so no reason for this to happen. Overall the Malmaison was a nice hotel with staff who were friendly and attentive. The experience in the restaurant was a different matter and because of this we would not be hurrying back.

Room Tip: Superior room on second floor at back, nice spot except when loud music playing in restaurant which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcvicar184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we have taken your comments on board, and we will ensure our set menus are more accommodating in the future. we hope you will be back soon to try out our new summer set menus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
2.8 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
0 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#18 of 65 in Aberdeen
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
901 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jurys Inn
Jurys Inn
#8 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Aberdeen

Address: 49-53 Queens Road, Aberdeen AB15 4YP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#13 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £75 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Aberdeen 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malmaison Aberdeen is the latest luxury hotel to join the Malmaison family. This boutique hotel used to be the famous Queen’s Hotel and truly is fit for a Queen. Retreat from daily life in the spa or enjoy a work out at the gym. Look no further than Malmaison Aberdeen for the perfect venue for business trips or leisure breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
Malmaison Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing